Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Barnsdale
I have read a number of recent publications on Robin Hood and David Baldwin's book is certainly one of the best. Baldwin's book is history, not literary criticism, and the author's lucid written style makes this an enjoyable book to read. Throughout the author is concerned to place the Robin Hood story into its proper historical context and, indeed, it is a failure to do...
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by Plantagenet

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History Lessens
I would have liked to have seen more about Robin Hood in this book. The hardback seems quite short, stopping at page 176, not counting bibliography, illustrations, appendices , notes and references which pad it out rather a lot. The illustrations are very nice, and the photography is splendid.

The book starts well, beginning with an interesting read about Robin...
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by Paul from Coventry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Barnsdale, 9 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read a number of recent publications on Robin Hood and David Baldwin's book is certainly one of the best. Baldwin's book is history, not literary criticism, and the author's lucid written style makes this an enjoyable book to read. Throughout the author is concerned to place the Robin Hood story into its proper historical context and, indeed, it is a failure to do precisely this which mars most of the recent publications on Robin Hood. Baldwin provides his reader with an empathy for the period during which the Robin Hood stories developed thus allowing the evolution of the myth to be placed in the context of real history. Baldwin offers the reader his personal view on who the original Robin was though his choice inevitably boils down to little more than speculation on his part.

David Baldwin's book is well worth buying and makes an excellent foil to Jim Bradbury's book on the same subject. Indeed, purchase these two books and, unless you are really keen, you probably won't need to bother with any of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 May 2010
It might reasonably be said that the legend of Robin Hood suffers from a glut of ill-informed if entertaining 'popular' renderings of the tale. To remedy this Baldwin's book sets out to discover whether there is a discernable historical character or number of characters upon whom the story of Robin Hood as we now know it is based.

To say that this book does so well is an understatement. It is clearly well researched (this will not suprise readers of other books from Baldwin's stable!) and in contrast to many historical treatments of popular topics held my interest throughout. I would strongly encourage anyone interested in this historical character, or even in Medieval society at large to give this excellent work a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Interesting Detective Work, 22 Mar 2013
This review is from: Robin Hood: The English Outlaw Unmasked (Paperback)
I began this book expecting to encounter a theory based largely on speculation, but I was pleasantly surprised. The author has identified so many similarities between Roger Godberd and the Robin Hood of the earliest ballads that there must surely be a connection - even if the stories have been embellished over the centuries. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood finally found by more than one avenue, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: The English Outlaw Unmasked (Paperback)
This book is a gem as it touches on on many aspects of the legend, with avenues and angles that have never been explored. Until now. Having distant relatives both alive and deceased helped with searching out many of the leads and clues that have been overlooked in many other published books. Highly recommended for not only the scepticts'?, but also the well read questors and avids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scholarly and readable, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: The English Outlaw Unmasked (Paperback)
A very interesting examination of the historical evidence about Robin Hood and the general political and social background or the era in which those events were alleged to have taken place. It's scholarly but readable. I learnt a lot about a period of English and European history that I didn't know very much about, ranging from the Crusades to the number of rebellions and problems with the English monarchy over around 100 year period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History Lessens, 12 Aug 2010
I would have liked to have seen more about Robin Hood in this book. The hardback seems quite short, stopping at page 176, not counting bibliography, illustrations, appendices , notes and references which pad it out rather a lot. The illustrations are very nice, and the photography is splendid.

The book starts well, beginning with an interesting read about Robin Hood and his gang. Sadly, between page 83 and page 166 the book barely mentions Robin and Co at all. The first or last paragraph of a chapter might mention Robin Hood in passing, but this half of the book predominantly read like a dull history lesson about medieval politics, barons, kings and wars.

If you are looking for a book on medieval history then this half of the book will appeal to you. The author appears to know the subject inside out, although I did feel he was putting forth his judgements about historic figures at times. After having read through this large section I was bored, it reminded me of tedious history lessons at school when we were forced to memorise dates of battles etc.

In summary, this book felt like a text on medieval history had been sandwiched inside a few chapters about Robin Hood. I wondered if a marketing gimmick about unmasking Robin Hood was used as a way of selling the book to the masses. I was glad to get to the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DULL, DULL, DULL!!, 28 Dec 2011
By 
Scott Jarvis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood: The English Outlaw Unmasked (Paperback)
I think that i was expecting more than i actually got from this book. I was incredibly dissapointed and therefore failed to complete it. I think i may have just got to half way.

Absolutly nothing to do with Robin Hood. Dull and boring!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood: The English Outlaw Unmasked
Robin Hood: The English Outlaw Unmasked by David Baldwin (Paperback - 15 Feb 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews