Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically rich with information and great value for money.
I have found the Titanic story interesting since reading about it when the James Cameron film came out and have recently had this interest reawakened by the various events planned to coincide with the centenary so bought this.
This has two of the best known accounts from Archibald Gracie and Lawrence Beesley (unfortunately I already had these but if this is the only...
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by Fernanda Wright

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you have trouble sleelping - this is the book for you
I always like to finish a book even if I don't like it but I didn't get past page 20 of this book - boring, boring, boring!
Published 22 months ago by The Queen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically rich with information and great value for money., 23 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories (Hardcover)
I have found the Titanic story interesting since reading about it when the James Cameron film came out and have recently had this interest reawakened by the various events planned to coincide with the centenary so bought this.
This has two of the best known accounts from Archibald Gracie and Lawrence Beesley (unfortunately I already had these but if this is the only collection you own you will want these) and Harold Bride the wireless operator but also quite a lot of things I haven't seen before especially third class passengers and women. There are 3 or 4 for each lifeboats with an introduction so you know who the various people are.
Some of the crews recollections were the best for example the `stokers' who shovelled coal into the engines or people like the ships barber. There was one recollection that reminded me of Jack from the Titanic film - an irish immigrant travelling with a group of friends
There is testimony from the US and UK inquiries which can be hard to read but is sometimes fantastic stuff recorded within a month or so of the sinking.
One of the most useful things in this book is the deck plan which clarifies where the lifeboats were launched from on deck. I kept looking back at this for reference and to try and explain some of the discrepancies between what the survivors tended to recall e.g. they all seemed to say they were in the last lifeboat to leave.
There is a big photo section with detailed captions and it's a big book so in terms of value for money I think it compares well to some other similar books that only have a few survivors viewpoints or lots of thirdhand descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, honest read, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an incredible thing to read the story direct from those who experienced and survived such a historic event. This is a well researched, cogent, enlightening book; and one I enjoyed enormously. It's easy to dip into and the voices jump off the page. The book does not discriminate, placing first class, steerage and crew's experiences alongside one another. It's easy to form opinions on the individual voices, they are as individual and clear as any person's on the street. I recommend it as a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating eye witness accounts, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories (Hardcover)
I liked the idea of a book containing straight eye witness accounts from the Titanic rather than second hand versions and chose this one as it seemed to have more different survivors accounts than the other books available.

There's some great detail - people clinging onto lifeboats, lots of bickering, class prejudice etc. One man describes shovelling coal in the engine rooms when he describes seeing the side tearing, water starting to gush in and having to run for his life.

Criticism - it's a long book and because of the way it is structured (by order of when survivors get away from the ship) some of the best stuff is towards the back. If you are short of time maybe start with the lifeboat 6, Archibald Gracie and Olaus Abelseth chapters.

Lots more pictures than I expected - which was nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic Voices, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories (Hardcover)
This is an excellent compilation of testimoies of Titanic survivors. Iwould recommend it to anyone who is interested in this history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 17 April 2012
By 
Caryl Metcalfe "Caryl" (Isle of Skye) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories (Hardcover)
Bought for my husband who is thoroughly enjoying the stories - of course very relevant at the moment. Just one of the books 'cashing in' on the anniversary. Very worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sad stories, but I enjoyed reading individual stories from the Titanic and how they survived the tragedy- RIP to all lost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book telling the True Stories of Survivor Accounts of the Titanic Disaster, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories (Hardcover)
A must read for anyone interested in the Story of the Survivor accounts of The Titanic. 63 Survivor Accounts of the events on board the Greatest Ship of their time, the luxury cabins, the details of passengers, and their lives and dreams of a new life for many in America. Sadly so many of the passengers as we know never survived. This book takes you on board this great ship along with the 63 survivors and their stories of survival to get aboard the lifeboats. "Women and Children First," were the shouts. Many wives being ushered to the lifeboats by their brave husbands. This book is one of the best read about the Titanic and I have read many. It also bought tears to my eyes knowing this is a disaster that cruelly took so many lives. The witness accounts are described as if you are there. A must read for anyone interested in Titanic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories (Hardcover)
Very interesting to read different perspectives. Does not draw any conclusions. Merely a compilation of original evidence. Also lots of good pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very varied and detailed narratives., 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book contains the actual testimony of the passengers and crew who managed to survive the distaster. It gives a much more personal account of the tragedy, dealing primarily with the collision, getting into the lifeboats etc. Some accounts are brief and to the point, others are lengthy and very eloquent. I have a few books about the Titanic and this is a welcome addition that I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Titanic Voices, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Found this book very rewarding as an insight into individual accounts of the happenings aboard Titanic that fateful night, only downside was the repetition from the different passengers accounts. Particularly enjoyed the board of enquiry accounts for the Titanic crew members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories
Titanic Voices: 63 Survivors Tell Their Extraordinary Stories by Hannah Holman (Hardcover - 28 Oct 2011)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews