Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Book of Flight
What a fantastic book.
I am astonished at the level of detail and subject matter covered in this book.
The authors Ludwig Konemann (Editor) and Andreas Fecker should be justly proud of this superb work.
The Title, 'The Complete Book of Flight' 'Facts, Figures and the Story of Airports, Airlines and Aircraft' gives the reader a flavor of this book but it's...
Published on 21 Dec 2010 by Mrs

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Cherry Picked" Incomplete Version of History.?
At first glance this appears to be a comprehensive book on "Commercial Aviation" History.?
However the author appear to have Cherry Picked over several important milestones.,

(No mention of "Sir George Cayley" an early English "Glider pioneer" and experimenter?) and also significantly little or no mention of the "B.O.A.C."(Later "British Airways")"De...
Published 18 months ago by SilverBack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Book of Flight, 21 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Complete Book of Flight (Hardcover)
What a fantastic book.
I am astonished at the level of detail and subject matter covered in this book.
The authors Ludwig Konemann (Editor) and Andreas Fecker should be justly proud of this superb work.
The Title, 'The Complete Book of Flight' 'Facts, Figures and the Story of Airports, Airlines and Aircraft' gives the reader a flavor of this book but it's not until you actually start to read it that you realize just how in-depth and diverse the subject matter actually is.
At 304 pages including indexes this is a heavy book. There are 296 picture credits which reflect the sumptuous pictorial content and all these supported by comprehensive text.

The book starts by reviewing the historical story of flight with an interesting 'time line' approach, noting aviation milestones such as the first flight and various record breaking events. The book continues to record the effects of the oil crisis and subsequent insolvencies in the 1970s & 80s.
The genealogy of an airline is covered with a fascinating focus on British Airways and a two page spread listing airline companies (selection) dating back to 1909 with information on Chapter 11 (safe haven for US companies) candidates over the years.
There is a 32 page chapter on the commercial airliner which follows it's development over the years. There are sections on all the major manufacturers and a beautiful two page spread on the Airbus A380 cockpit.
There is also a Chronology of the world's most important airliners with pie charts and bar graphs to illustrate the development over time.
There is a 58 page chapter on the worlds Commercial Airports, their call signs, designations, origin of names, routes serviced etc... all supported by lavish maps, photographs, diagrams and statistics.
There is a 66 page chapter on the major airlines of the world presented in a style of picture card for each airline detailing name, flag, branding, history and areas of the world covered and all this supported by pages of statistics and fascinating information.
The last chapter is titled 'About Flying' and covers pretty much everything else related to flight and flying including but not limited to air-miles schemes, airline catering, airport facilities for passengers, aircraft provisioning, flying conditions, how an aircraft works and a very interesting piece on the journey your baggage takes. There are also a couple of pages on cabin announcements and aviation anecdotes.
The book ends with a section on accidents and emergencies with an interesting chronology of accidents.

I have a large collection of aviation books and I place this volume in my top 5. It really is the most comprehensive book on flight, airports and airlines I have read and my thanks go to the authors for creating it.

I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Flight (Hardcover)
I had seen this book at a local shop and was impressed. It has lots of detail and a book that you can grow with. I bought and sent this directly to my 10 year old godson for his birthday. He's very much into planes and loved this. Very pleased with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good photos and good redactions.........., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked because is a beautiful book about flight and explined lots of things about this. I like know more things about flight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars omg, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Flight (Hardcover)
packed the the covers with all sorts of info, a defo for all u plane enthusiasts so grab a copy today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Buy, 17 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Flight (Hardcover)
Bought this for my Dad's birthday, after searching for a reasonably priced book about planes/airports.
Surprised at the depth of the information (but still not too overwhelming) for the price I paid.
I would say that it's a pretty good book for any age, as it is one that you can pick up and have a look at without having to read the whole thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Cherry Picked" Incomplete Version of History.?, 17 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Complete Book of Flight (Hardcover)
At first glance this appears to be a comprehensive book on "Commercial Aviation" History.?
However the author appear to have Cherry Picked over several important milestones.,

(No mention of "Sir George Cayley" an early English "Glider pioneer" and experimenter?) and also significantly little or no mention of the "B.O.A.C."(Later "British Airways")"De Havilland. D.H.106 Comet" the first turbojet engined commercial aircraft flown in 1952.,

The Author perhaps due to his service as an "Airline Captain/Pilot" seem to have biased this book heavily towards the German "Lufthansa" view of aviation history.? A mention could also have been made of the "German invention and testing of the Turbojet engine in August.1939 also an important and historic moment.?

From my point of view. a slightly misleading title.? "The Complete Book of Flight".?

I would recommend the Book by "R.G. Grant"Flight: 100 Years of Aviationas an alternative viewpoint to readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Book of Flight
The Complete Book of Flight by Andreas Fecker (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews