Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last.....some clarity and sense.
Thank goodness for Jodi Bassett - and that is an understatement!! This is, without doubt, the clearest, most eye opening, factually supported book on ME anyone will ever need. Allied to the constantly updated website and you have the whole package for anyone suffering from ME and their families and friends. The amount of underpinning referenced medical facts allied with...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by Caroline

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars misleading
To me, it's shocking that almost no mainstream doctors and so few "experts", much less writers of books like this, are aware that M.E./CFS symptoms are all symptoms of low thyroid (hypothyroid), often adrenal fatigue (linked with sometimes hidden copper toxicity), magnesium deficiency and sometimes also B12 deficiency. Shocking.

There are no lab tests for many...
Published 4 months ago by D&D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last.....some clarity and sense., 11 Jan 2012
By 
Caroline (Newtown, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
Thank goodness for Jodi Bassett - and that is an understatement!! This is, without doubt, the clearest, most eye opening, factually supported book on ME anyone will ever need. Allied to the constantly updated website and you have the whole package for anyone suffering from ME and their families and friends. The amount of underpinning referenced medical facts allied with practical advice on managing the disease is second to none for patients, carers and any one who needs more knowledge and understanding about what this disease means in the medical and allied health professions. The ability scales are particularly useful for taking to doctor's appointments so they can actually 'see' what level of functioning the person is currently experiencing. It can also prove a useful tool for ongoing monitoring, especially when a patient is coming to terms with having this dreadful illness and needs to learn how to pace themselves. It is certainly a book that you can dip in and out of. Jodi has some good tips in the front of the book for different categories of readers (i.e. patient, partner, family, carer or health professional) to point them to certain parts of the book that are particularly useful initially for them to read, to dip their toe in so to speak and have an overview of the unique problems facing patients with ME daily. This will become the ME 'Bible'. Thank you Jodi...your balanced, knowledgeable and well researched contribution to the field of ME advocacy and understanding cannot be too highly praised and supported.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing but vital, 18 May 2012
By 
V. Armstrong-MacDonnell "revvivi" (Exeter, Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
Here at last in clear and concise form are the facts to support what all genuine ME sufferers know from experience: that ME is a life-shattering physical illness, that the treatments most often offered for it don't do any good (Cognitive Behavioural Therapy) or worse, positively do harm (Graded Exercise Therapy), and that there is properly tested scientific evidence to support and explain these disturbing facts. For the sake of ME sufferers and their families everywhere please read this book, and get the truth out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book essential for m.e. patient and carers, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
Really well researched book full of invaluable information for M.E. sufferers and the people who care for them. If you suspect you have M.E. I recommend you get this book it might make all the difference to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I've read on the subject., 11 Jun 2012
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
"So you're tired then?", "You're looking well, you must be feeling better!", "If you'd just think positively you'd be better by now", "Have you tried treatment XYZ/Such-and-such a diet/seeing a psychiatrist?" These and other equally condescending remarks are put bang to rights by Jodi Bassett in her fabulously informative book which shares with the world what life is really like when living with the cataclysmic neurological disease, M.E. Put simply this is a must for anyone who has or knows a person with M.E. Jodi and her work are an invaluable source of information and support for people dealing with this devastating illness.

Jodi Bassett is an amazing, inspirational woman who has already helped countess victims of this horrendous disease, myself included, despite living with M.E. herself. In this long awaited book she presents the essential facts about the disease and learning to live with it in the form of papers taken from the website of her charity, Hummingbirds Foundation for M.E. (HFME). It is by far the best book about Myalgic Encephalomyelitis available. The fact that Dr Byron Hyde has written the foreword in itself speaks volumes as he is one of the (if not THE) leading experts on the subject.

This is essential reading for anyone who suffers from or knows a sufferer of M.E. I already have one copy and am currently considering buying another as there is so much conflicting 'advice' out there which can be incredibly damaging to those with M.E. that I want to be able to share the information contained within this book with everyone I know. Although the papers are also available from HFME's website I think having them all in a book format makes it easier to absorb as you can put it down and come back to it easily (which M.E. sufferers will know is essential when trying to take in new information). It also seems to make it more likely that others will read it if you present them with a book rather than directing them to a website.

Jodi: I bow down to your strength, determination and huge knowledge about our disease. The way you fight for others while coping with such a ruinous illness is inspiring to say the least. Thank you for being there for all of us MEites around the world. xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All U.K GPs should be made to read this book!, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
What an excellent book. I have M.E. and place myself in the mild/moderate category of sufferers. It wasn't until I saw an informed neurologist, whom I demanded to see following many futile visits to ignorant and uninformed GPs, that my tests were reviewed and an immediate diagnosis given. I have always detested the term CFS/ME because I am not chronically tired 24/7' 365 days a year,but cope with other life changing, debilitating symptoms which have robbed me of the life style I used to,have, pre M.E,. Generally speaking people trivialise M.E. Some still think of "yuppie flu" when M.E. Is mentioned and UK general practitioners give M.E. Sufferers many horrendous and insulting labels, never hearing, or listening to the patients history of symptoms and not taking on board how those symptoms are impacting lives! Jodi's words resonate with all of us who have tried to attain a diagnosis and seek help and advice. We are marginalised by the NHS and ignored by the Government. Little funding is spent in the UK on M.E. (except to push CBT and GET...both of which are NO use to us who have been properly diagnosed with the neurological illness of M.E. Every UK GP should read this book. Every Newspaper or Chat Show should promote it and every newly diagnosed patient, buy it. There is little/no help for M.E. sufferers...we are left by all agencies in the UK to "get on with it"... At least you will be informed about the illness and have concrete evidence to present, if needed, that your illness is REAL and countless thousands suffer the same symptoms as yourself....and share a similar medical history. Highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great author, 18 Dec 2011
A long awaited book.This book talks about ME as it actually is and not as part of CFS/ME. There are some very useful guides and tips to understand this illness. It is a very good book to read and the author has put a lot of time effort and research into this book. It has really helped me and my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommended author! do not miss this., 29 April 2013
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
I would very much only recommend two authors, Jodi Bassett and Dr Byron Hyde. Please know they write the scientific truth, and are very clear that M.E. is not in any way the same as Cfs or M.E./Cfs. All others i have seen or read include incorrect things about Cfs or harmful concepts such as M.E./Cfs. Hyde is one of the only physicians who has done research knowing the differences. And Jodi Bassett's books include the best bits from books, research and such. She is amazing! See her site hfme. She covers all the actual medical facts, symptoms, history, etc, in a clear concise way, and helps fellow sufferers endlessly.
Alison Bell
Of 'The Tinkerbelle and Hummingbird M.E. Blog
God bless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have ME or you are a carer of someone with ME it's a must have, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
This is not just for those who care for someone with ME.

It is full of extremely valuable and essential information.

Written in a manner that is easy to read (essential for someone with a foggy brain), with points reiterated and laid out in a way that enables you to follow without getting bogged down in medical mumbo jumbo.

Indispensable advice and how-tos for long-term sufferers but a life-saver for those who have been newly diagnosed. The information in it is not widely circulated (apart from by the author, a lot of it also given on her excellent Hummingbirds website) due to the long-running myth that Chronic Fatigue is the same as ME. IT IS NOT.

So please if you or someone you know has been diagnosed with ME buy this book. The information on Adrenaline surges alone will make a huge difference.

Wish this had been around 10 years ago when the slew of Chronic Fatigue books hit the shelves. With this information thousands of long-term ME sufferers might have stood a chance at recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must buy' for people with M.E., 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
I have read lots of books, websites and research papers on M.E. Of all the books I have read on M.E. this is the most informative, scientifically accurate and useful.
This book is essential reading for all G.P.s, nurses, patients with M.E and relatives of those affected by M.E. I cannot recommend this book highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars misleading, 28 Jun 2014
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Caring for the M.E. Patient (Paperback)
To me, it's shocking that almost no mainstream doctors and so few "experts", much less writers of books like this, are aware that M.E./CFS symptoms are all symptoms of low thyroid (hypothyroid), often adrenal fatigue (linked with sometimes hidden copper toxicity), magnesium deficiency and sometimes also B12 deficiency. Shocking.

There are no lab tests for many causes of low thyroid, so at least 80% of us are mis-diagnosed, because your doctor will only treat lab tests, not you. More than 50% of us have low thyroid yet mainstream medicine claims only 5% of us are hypothyroid.

Of course I don't expect you to believe me, see for yourself with a very simple home self-test: the FREE basal (at rest) temperature self-test is THE gold standard for low thyroid problems and - with your symptoms - means more than any lab test (although most conventional doctors, including endos, won't agree but then they're not trained to understand thyroid problems - thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk offers a list of the very few thyroid sympathetic doctors in this country).

[note: not ONE mention of the basal temperature in this book!]

"Fibromyalgia" and "ME/CFS" are just names, not diagnoses. A real diagnosis means there is a cure (something that has been brushed away since medicine has so few cures - just synthetic drugs that oppose symptoms, all of which have "side" effects, meaning damage they don't want you to think about). Physicians have little or no way to heal or cure chronic health problems, or to provide adequate pain management. This failure means they are becoming obsolete.

The basal temperature home self-test will pick up conditions that current lab tests don't, such as thyroid resistance. Most digital thermometers are not accurate so find a good basal digital thermometer, the kind used by women to identify their fertile days.

The stopthethyroidmadness (STTM) website has excellent instructions for this self-test, as well as several for adrenal fatigue, which often goes hand-in-hand with low thyroid. The two most common health problems worldwide, they're rarely diagnosed or treated by clueless doctors, including endos. The STTM book puts most doctors to shame.

(I'd always suspected a thyroid problem but it was not until, after 20 years of being told all my lab tests were "normal", that Dr Durrant-Peatfield, the only Broda Barnes trained doctor now in the UK, finally put me on the road to recovery. A year after I insisted my cousin also see this doctor, she said I'd saved her life.)

I also suggest:

- `Hypothyroidism Type 2' by Mark Starr ("type 2" meaning the thyroid problems for which there are no lab tests and therefore they don't get diagnosed) explains how all chronic pain is linked to low thyroid, including those involved with fibromyalgia, diabetes, heart problems, both bleeding & blood clots (including strokes) and some cancers. If you have any kind of chronic pain, you need to know that some are calling low thyroid the silent epidemic (silent because officially denied);

- "Hypothyroidism, Health & Happiness: The Riddle of Illness Revealed" by Steven F. Hotze a good introduction;

- As there is rarely more than a brief mention of the benefits of iodine in thyroid books, I also suggest "Iodine, Why You Need It and Why You Can't Live Without It" by David Brownstein MD. The latest edition is available as an ebook from drbrownstein[dot]directfrompublisher[dot]com

- Platt has some interesting comments and suggestions about fibromyalgia in his book "The Miracle of Bio-identical Hormones: How I Lost My Fatigue, Hot Flashes, ADHD, ADD, Fibromyalgia, PMS, Osteoporosis..."

- "Could it be B12?: An Epidemic of Misdiagnoses" by Pacholok and Stuart. Also, many with health problems also have high homocysteine levels in the body (a sign of high toxicity - but the NHS apparently will only test for homocysteine after a heart attack!) and one of the best supplements for that is HomocysteX Plus, which includes high doses of both B9 and B12 in the right forms(B9 and B12 must be supplemented together as they are partners and supplementing just one can mask a deficiency of the other, creating further problems). B12 lab tests are inaccurate and the best way to identify a deficiency is to take high dose B12 and B9 for a month.

- Why Am I Always So Tired by Gittleman: the many reasons most of us have too much copper in our bodies and how this causes adrenal burnout and fatigue.

- "The Calcium Lie II" is an intriguing book claiming to explain the root cause of most illnesses.

- any book by Sircus, including "Transdermal Magnesium Therapy" which explains that everyone with a chronic health problem has a magnesium deficiency.

Also, those with fibromyalgia type symptoms experience a significant reduction in their symptoms when taking a melatonin supplement and melatonin can reduce some symptoms of IBS, such as abdominal pain. Melatonin increases the conversion of precursor thyroid hormone T4 to the active T3 form. It can reactivate the important but much-ignored thymus gland, which degenerates almost completely over the years. It also improves zinc absorption, which in turn boosts several immune functions. Melatonin therapy also helps spleen recovery, another immune-system component which declines with age. Its ability to improve sleep and dreaming is a tremendous boon to memory. It is one of the most powerful antioxidants made by the body. Melatonin has been made illegal to sell in this country (only!) and NHS doctors are only allowed to prescribe a maximum of 2mg because it's been made so expensive (just like T3). Yet it is freely sold everywhere else in the EU and also in the US (try Amazon.com although there will be a customs charge when it arrives here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caring for the M.E. Patient
Caring for the M.E. Patient by Jodi Bassett (Paperback - 19 Sep 2011)
£10.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews