Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars24
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2014
Ok I firstly appreciate what the others are saying about the cost of the book and the length of the book but if downloaded to your kindle at £1.99 it is worth the cost.

However this aside, call me a soppy old mare :) .... having my own devoted black and white springer spaniel it hit home hard... but cry omg tears were streaming down my face by the end of the book. This is a short story about war, loyalty, trust, friendship and loss.

Yes the book only took 15 to 20 minutes to read but it is a children's book when all said and done and for me it was just right for the market it is aimed at - to get children and young adults who may be reluctant to read interested in reading and confident readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
I wasn't gripped at the start. Try 'The Child and other Animal Stories'. Those really do grip straightaway. I see what other people say, the writing is a little bit like a trailer for the real event. The narrative voice is very one dimensional. However the ending was hard hitting, informative and tear jerking which I imagine is what the author wanted to portray .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
This story must be based on a true scenario it is exactly what a dog of this breed will do with a person who it spends its life 24/7 in the same company. A very gripping story unfortunately all to short.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
'War Dog' is about a dog that gets his leg blown off in Afghanistan. I would recommend it to age 10+, boys or girls. If you like dogs, you will love this book. Emily (10), Millbrook School
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
i enjoyed reading about a different aspect of the ongoing conflicts, and have now passed the book to my grandchildren. However, I thought it was fairly expensive for its size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Very limited stories. Poor value even for short stories.It was like reading a trailer for a movie. So much more could have been developed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
A really great short story from Chris Ryan featuring Charlie a bomb sniffing dog. I just love these quick reads
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
Quick and easy service, will use again. Book is a birthday present for my wife, so I am impressed with service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
The book and content was good. It was so short though. I read it in ten minutes and to be frank it was not worth the money. It is advertised as a short story but this is too short.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2014
Great story but very short, unimpressed as only took 10mins to read .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.