Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I grew up with the Famous five, and I still love them. Whatever anyone says about them being racist and homophobic, I think that was just attitudes at the time. This book is a particually good example of her excellent work, drawing you into the story and leaving you completely spellbound. You can really associate with the characters, whether you're 9 or 90. A must-have...
Published on 18 Aug 2001

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for young children.
My wife and I thought we'd buy a few Enid Blyton books to read to our young children at bedtime. It was a bad idea as our children have now expressed a dislike of gypsies and people of other ethnic minorities. My 5 year old son was sent home from school for claiming that one of the other children in his class was gyspy and was hiding treasure in a cave. I will stick to...
Published on 23 Jun 2012 by n o i r


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
I grew up with the Famous five, and I still love them. Whatever anyone says about them being racist and homophobic, I think that was just attitudes at the time. This book is a particually good example of her excellent work, drawing you into the story and leaving you completely spellbound. You can really associate with the characters, whether you're 9 or 90. A must-have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Go Off In A Caravan, 27 Oct 2010
I absolutely love the famous five books and this is one of my favourites. Its a real page turner and i read it in one day. Would definately recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars longing the past, 23 April 2003
By A Customer
This book is typical of the famous five series. I grew up with translated (to french) Blyton's books, starting from Noddy to the Five and the twins. In this episode you'll find no TV, no gameboy, but daring and independant kids. I just hope mine will be a little bit like them. My son will start his reading with these books !
George is as reckless as ever, thanks to the others she will keep out of trouble at the end : that's what teamwork does !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars epic, 20 Jan 2014
this book is so so cool. Amazon is the best of them all. so cool i am buying them all. thanks Enid Blyton i will buy every single book you have written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Osama Bakkoush "Aisha" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is really good it made think that if I was on a adventure don't get scared just trust your heart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased for the wife as I bought her a Kindle a couple of Christmas and she likes to read a lot. She prefers the ones that are free to Kindle though. Will be purchasing as and when. Wife is a very big fan of childhood memory books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 19 May 2013
This is the fifth famous five book with Jillian ,Dick ,Anne,Georgina and Timmy the dog . This is a very good book . I would recommend this book to any famous five lover . Overall this is a 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 20 April 2013
This book is when the famous five borrow a caravan from Annes mums friend and follows a Circus holiday. They meet a boy called Ned aand his fake uncle who was the chief clown of the Circus called Tiger Dan.He and his friend Lewis Alburg the acrobat was not very pleasant.Both men were ugly and bad tempered also they were burgerls.This is all I can tell you for now.Why not buy this book and find out the rest you self and help find the very most expensive stolen goods in this book.Hope you enjoy the book.BYE!

Most faithfully

Bimansa Porter xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Golly Gosh and Lashings of Ginger Beer, 16 Jun 2012
Helen for Big Book Little Book

I devoured the Famous Five books when I was a child, so when I spotted this in Oxfam I felt a trip down memory lane was in order. It was very much how I remembered it and I still enjoyed it. Of course my adult eyes do read things a little differently it's not all as perfect as I used to think, I mean who would let four kids (at least if they are supposed to be between 10 and 14 years old) go off alone in a caravan these days?!

In this story the Five go off on hols in modern horse drawn caravans. They set up home in some hills above a lake next to which a circus camp is having its summer break. They befriend Nobby, a boy and Pongo, a chimpanzee. It transpires the Five have accidentally parked their caravan on top of the entrance to some caves in which the rogues from the circus, one of which is Nobby's uncle, are using to store stolen goods. Lots of exciting adventures ensue as the mystery is discovered and subsequently solved.

I had forgotten that in these stories some pretty horrible things happen, the baddies are pretty bad; Nobby is badly beaten by his Uncle on a couple of occasions, the Uncle also throws a stone at Pongo and tries to poison Timmy and he and his partner in crime enclose the children in the caves and keep them prisoner. None of this is particularly graphic and I don't remember being put off by it as a child, I think it must have washed over me as I was too busy wondering what was going to happen next!

The other thing that really stood out for me reading it now was the language. It was great to read all those Famous Five phrases `Golly', `Super', Top speed' `good sort'. When I was younger I also didn't notice how patronising they could be to other people. There is a lot of mention of how Nobby's manners are not as good as theirs but he is good in his own way! However I think that you don't expect Enid Blyton to be politically correct. The books are very much of their time and none the worse for that.

The best things about the story were that I still enjoyed reading about the children, the pace of the book is good and the story draws you in. I still wanted to know what was going to happen! It also made me remember the copious amounts of tongue sandwiches and ginger beer that were consumed. I still think that growing up as one of the Five would have been Super!!

Verdict: Still great, I will definitely be passing these on to my girls later on, and like me they might well need a square of chocolate and some water fresh from the crystal clear stream to sup as they read it ;-)

NB Since writing this I have just read another that I got at the same time, soooo sexist!! Might have some discussion about that with my girls when I let
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book as always from Enid Blyton, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Enid Blyton, and as with all her books, as a child you feel as if you are experiencing the adventures with the children. Ok, of course not everybody speaks 'the queens English' nowadays, but it doesn't matter, still great stories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews