Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great kick-ass intro for young readers into the world of the viking gods
Valkyrie is written very much for young readers but it still resonates with the inner child in adults as it recalls moments of childhood and the turbulent years of being a teenager and trying to find our own identity as well as learning that the world isn't as innocent and nice as we thought it was.
The mythological world Kate creates for her Valkyries is rich in...
Published 7 months ago by valkyrie1008

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really is a children's book
I'm sure it gets better but the truth is I just couldn't be bothered to find out. It's written so very simply with almost no depth.
Published 12 months ago by itsjess


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good easy read, 24 Dec 2013
This review is from: Valkyrie: 1: Valkyrie (Paperback)
I had read all the Pegasus books, so was intrigued with this. The book itself was written very similar making it a nice easy read. Worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great kick-ass intro for young readers into the world of the viking gods, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valkyrie: 1: Valkyrie (Paperback)
Valkyrie is written very much for young readers but it still resonates with the inner child in adults as it recalls moments of childhood and the turbulent years of being a teenager and trying to find our own identity as well as learning that the world isn't as innocent and nice as we thought it was.
The mythological world Kate creates for her Valkyries is rich in it's own culture with a great social structure and I am very impressed with the orginality and uniqueness she has brought to the Valkryies themselves as beings in their own right but also through to the way they do their job of collectings warriors for Odin's army.
It is a great, pacey, action packed and thrilling story which speaks about the truth of of fighting for and defending what's right such as friendship, love, family. Even when the whole world may be set against you and even if you may suffer because of it.
All is shown through the great cast of characters demonstrating some of the failings in ourselves as humans but also as part of the society we live in. Such as a drunk disappearing mother, a bully who refuses to say sorry or stop going to the extreme for the sake of cruelty, a kid who is homeless, a boy who still dreams of becoming a hair-dresser even though his home situation pulls him back. But it shows the goodness in us all like the windowcleaner who is prepared to adopt threatened children, the female lawyer prepared to take on big corrupt development firms, the police who are prepared to take on drug gangs, the friends who will risk their lives for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valkyrie, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valkyrie (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book, very well written and did everything a book is supposed to do. It got me hooked within the first few pages, it made me think, laugh, cry, get angry and happy. Is was also sad when it was over. It was truly captivating and this is from a 43 year old woman.
Thank so much for a magnificent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valkyrie (Kindle Edition)
bought for my daughter to read....she has the paperback but re reads all of kate ohearn's stuff so much she wanted to buy it on kindle as well...shes eagerly awaiting the next installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book!!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valkyrie (Kindle Edition)
You will love it and read it every wear you go!!!
I loved it and I think you will to!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valkyrie (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing book if you love reading the pegasus books by Kate O'Hearn then you will love this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Valkyrie as a Fish Out of Water at a Chicago High School, 3 Dec 2013
By 
R. Selby (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Valkyrie: 1: Valkyrie (Paperback)
I'm a parent and I really enjoyed this book. I bought it to read with my 9 year old son at bedtime, 10 or so pages at a time. But by 100 pages in, I 'stole' it from him, to read on the train to work, because I couldn't wait to see what happened. That's never happened with one of our bedtime story books before.

The main plot follows Freya, a teenage valkyrie who comes to earth and ends up trying to blend in at a High School in Chicago, whilst trying to prevent the geeky kids in the school falling prey to the school bully. Let me tell you, JP, the main bully, is someone you will love to hate. The author should be congratulated for coming up with a truly loathsome villain.

The author deftly weaves many story strands into a coherent whole. On the supernatural side we have Norse god soap opera in Asgard, not to mention a territorial wrangle between the Nordic Valkyries (i.e. Freya and her sister) and the more familiar Judeo-Christian-Islamic Angels of Death in downtown Chicago. Meanwhile back down-to-earth, the book touches on military intervention in Afghanistan, school bullying, Batman style vigilante-ism, rapacious property developers, alcoholic/absent mother, being orphaned, as well as the usual teen hang-ups of fitting in and finding friends.

My only criticism is there is too much going on. I would have liked to have seen more scenes with Freya, the valkyrie, trying to fit in at school, such as the one where she drove her history teacher mad by correcting him on the details of various historic battles. Perhaps if the author had jettisoned one of the weighty subthemes, we could have spent more time developing the main story of Freya at school.

But this is nit-picking. I am happy to recommend this book to kids, teens and their parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gripping and fantastic!!!, 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: Valkyrie (Kindle Edition)
this story is about a girl who wonders what tge human world is like.
she wonderS off into the human workd with the help of loki the trouble maker
she meets a boy called joel (i think) and saves his life.
will freya make odin angry and make loki son to be released to the world.

Hope you found this useful if not please write about me for your review while you are doing your own. i hope kate makes more!! :-) thanks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!!, 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: Valkyrie (Kindle Edition)
This book is by far the best book I've ever read. I'm 14 and I absolutely loved it, literally couldn't put it down! I would highly recommend it to any teenager who likes fantasy. A MUST READ :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Valkyrie (Kindle Edition)
Nice story good against evil good old fashioned story with a modern twist easy reading good characters suitable for all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Valkyrie: 1: Valkyrie
Valkyrie: 1: Valkyrie by Kate O'Hearn (Paperback - 2 May 2013)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews