Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for young children - not quite so much fun for the adults
Having read Kipper many times to my children when they were younger I was eager to see what Wibbly Pig had to offer.

As expected the illustrations are charming with Wibbly Pig starting his day with ten novelty balloons which he is kind hearted enough to give to his friends. With so much to point out on each page there is plenty to keep a small child...
Published on 25 Dec. 2012 by C. Bannister

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong message for children
I've never submitted a review but was compelled to do so after I read this book to my 2 and a half year old daughter. Wibbly pig gives his balloons away to various people who ask for one - including a rude little girl who demands a balloon and stamps her feet until she gets it. What sort of message is that? I know I don't want my daughter thinking that she can behave that...
Published 8 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for young children - not quite so much fun for the adults, 25 Dec. 2012
By 
C. Bannister (Jersey, CI) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having read Kipper many times to my children when they were younger I was eager to see what Wibbly Pig had to offer.

As expected the illustrations are charming with Wibbly Pig starting his day with ten novelty balloons which he is kind hearted enough to give to his friends. With so much to point out on each page there is plenty to keep a small child entertained although I'm not sure this is a book I would want to read every night. Although the narrative has a nice rhythm it doesn't rhyme all the way through.

This book is quite large and quite large for little hands but it does mean you can read it to more than one child and they can both see the pictures easily.

As an aside I don't understand why we teach our children to count backwards before they've really mastered going forwards although since so many books are written with this concept I'm sure it doesn't confuse them too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book..........., 28 Mar. 2013
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautifully illustrated book from the Wibbly Pig series. It is ideal for small children and teaches them to count as Wibbly Pig gives away his balloons. My Granddaughter loves the story and is learning the names of the colours. It is charming, entertaining and a useful educational tool for small children.
A lovely little gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Mick Inkpen - a great addition to our kids' book collection, 13 Jan. 2013
By 
NeilC (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've always been a fan of Mick Inkpen. His Wibbly Pig and Kipper stories are favourites with our kids (Aged 4.5 and 2.5) due to their clear storylines and simple colourful pictures. This latest book is no exception. Featuring Wibbly Pig, this nicely rhymed story tells of how Wibbly gives away his ten balloons to his friends. Being based around a countdown from 10 to zero it introduces the numbers nicely and it has some nice moral elements (such as the girl who is rude and demands her balloon) that can be used to reinforce a few behavioural lessons.

Overall very satisfying, a great title and another reason to include Mick Inkpen with Julia Donaldson as one of Britain's best children's authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Cute!, 27 Nov. 2012
By 
Sam M (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This lovely book is filled with the delightful Mick Inkpen illustrations that make all his stories such a pleasure to share with children. The story is a good length and is written in rhyme. The book introduces numbers in a subtle way and there are many traits the pigs display that can be discussed with your child (kindness, greed, meanness etc). It has been a great hit with my 3 year old who has requested it time after time. She loves the story and all the lovely pictures. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent Wibbly Pig story, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Wibbly Pig has 10 Ballons in another in the series of Wibbly Pig books by Mick Inkpen. The book is a large square paperback with bright and colourfull illustrations. The story about Wibbly Pig and his 10 ballons. The story is nice and educational and helps children learn to count as Wibbly gives away his ballons. The book is fun to read as either a bedtime story (as I have done several times) or during the day to help your child develop their numeracy skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Counting Book For Little Ones, 11 Dec. 2012
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Anyone familiar with Mick Inkpen's series of Wibbly Pig or Kipper books will know what to expect here; a nicely illustrated, easy to read story that promotes learning in small children without being too obvious about it.

Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons is a fun way to introduce or reinforce basic counting skills. It also offers some nice lessons about sharing and looking after your belongings.

Like a lot of children's books its written in verse, but don't expect rhyming on Gruffalo/Julia Donaldson levels. Whilst Mick Inkpen is a talented illustrator and his stories are entertaining, verse is not his strong suit. Half way through this book for example, he seems to give up on it entirely before returning to it at the end.

Then again this is a book that is very much aimed at small children. Its not one of those books that will 'entertain child and parent alike'. I enjoy reading it with my son because he enjoys it; not because it works on multiple levels that appeal to both of us.

So overall Wibbly Pig Has 10 Balloons is a nicely illustrated children's book that entertains and educates, but not much more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inkpen and Wibbly Pig do it again!!, 28 Nov. 2012
By 
S. A. Broadhurst "SBroadhurst" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mick Inkpen has been writing books for a long time and Wibbly pig is a very popular character. A lovely pig who has lots of friends and together they go on many fantastic adventures. With all of Inkpen's books there is a message behind the story and this one is all about sharing - who will Wibbly Pig share his 10 bright balloons with?

Inkpen writes his stories in beautiful rhymes, which children can pick up easily and will love to help tell the story. There are great illustrations throughout the book too which will attract children's attention and maintain it throughout the story.

This would be a great book to give as a gift this festive period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars childrens fiction, 29 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love looking at childrens books, and as I read through this one it was just what I wanted to see. I love a colourful childrens book, plenty for them to look at whilst you read to them, or them to you depending on the age, but I also like there to be something for them to learn along the way. In this book we have counting, and also the invaluable lesson on how to share. Children at this age love to be read to, and soak in the knowledge that you are providing and teaching them. A delightful book and a wonderful stocking filler for children. I will certainly be looking out for the other Wibbly Pig books. He's so cute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be a firm favourite, 5 Jan. 2013
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A large format book with bright, cheerful illustrations and a story that educates in subtracting numbers and teaches and an important moral too, this book has much to recommend it. But does it pass the test of the test of the real target audience?

My very young grandson is a discerning book lover, some books he takes to immediately, some he warms to over time, while yet others he consistently and disdainfully discards. Wibbly Pigs Has 10 Balloons he took to straight away and it is now one of the first books he selects from his ever growing library, it looks destined to become a firm favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a counting book, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Eric Baker (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mick Inkpen has come up trumps with a lovely rhyming story about Wibbly Pig and his 10 balloons which will get children doing some painless maths - counting, adding and subtracting, predicting - as they work out how many balloons are left and what will happen next. There is lots of fun to be had with little details to notice on each page: where is Little Pig going? The pigs are all given names and individual characters, my grand daughter of 3 enjoyed the pun in Pig Ears and loved the hysterics with which Big Pig's sister got her own way. Another great book from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons
Wibbly Pig has 10 Balloons by Mick Inkpen (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2012)
£5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews