Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars acute tale, wonderfully illustrated
I assume this is the first book in what's to be a series of tales about an unlikely couple of friends called Spot and Henry. Henry is a charming young man who wants a new pet dog but ends up with a pet duck called spot.

'Wanted: The Perfect Pet' is an endearing tale which is humorous to read and wonderfully illustrated. The pages are big and make the perfect...
Published 18 months ago by The Truth

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Duck or Dog .... A tale of new friendship
All Henry wants is a pet .....
To be honest all he wants is a Dog ....
The simple story follows Henry's adventure to find the perfect pet and follows the Duck With No Names' adventure to find a new home and how they get together and get on even though the Duck is not a Dog which surprises Henry .
My only criticism is that the pictures are quite monochrome...
Published 20 months ago by BusyReader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful little tale, 24 Sep 2012
By 
zombielover "perpetual student" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fabulous large-sized book for younger readers from Hodder and Stoughton.

"Wanted: The Perfect Pet" is Henry's search for his perfect pet (as you might have gained from the title!)

The text is bold and bright and the illustrations are small and help the child follow the story neatly. It should help engage reader and child as well, if you decide to make the sound effects of the dog / duck. It certainly worked for me, I had a 4 year old giggling and hand-clapping with (albeit short-lived) delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we loved it, 5 Sep 2012
By 
E. Ramshaw - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
i was unsure at first as the illustrations seemed a little simple but you soon realise its all part of the charm of this gorgeous book. the illustrations more than fit the story and style and we loved it, everyone who has read this to our three year old adored the characters and the relationship that builds between a little boy desperate for a dog who ends up with a duck !!! we have read this over and over and its already a firm favourite. highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written, nicely illustrated!, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Tnis is a lovely book about a boy who wants a dog but ends up with a pet duck. The illustrations are simple, quirky enough and cool enough to appeal to adults as well as children. My 4 year old loved the story and it's a favourite for reading together. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book - lovely illustrations, 19 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. N. C. Kelly "nicolakelly" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a wonderful book, with beautiful illustrations and a lovely simple message of friendship. Great bedtime reADING for all young children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a refreshingly quirky story, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Colliesaluki "Gub" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
a nicely sized book for reading out loud which enables kids to clearly see the pictures, which are bright, cheerful and amusing.

a twist on the usual theme, i thought this book was entertaining, funny and invites children to take time to think about how they may make others feel.

a refreshingly quirky story which went down really well, the only negative being the constant requests to read it again, and again, and again....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun, 6 Aug 2012
By 
Peter J. Hewitt "history fan!" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A really good childrens story about friendship and wanting a pet, nicely illustrated and easy for a child to read, a good bedtime book and a good book for a family wanting a pet, and wanting to show what it involves being responsable for another creature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice Little Book, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Richard Allen (Wellington, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well written little book, ideal for young children. The story is both funny and touching and will give a lot of pleasure. The illustrations are simple but cute. All in all, a very nice book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woof!, 14 Aug 2012
By 
A. Taylor (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A charming tale of a boy who would love a dog for a pet and a duck who just wants a friend. We've been reading 'Wanted: The Perfect Pet' to our four year old at bedtime and he likes it so much he's asked for 'The Perfect Present' to go with it.

The drawings in the book are simple, nicely laid out and easy to follow. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a reader, 26 July 2012
By 
Consumer A "ReaderAAA" (England. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I asked my 6 year old grand-daughter Amélie to write what she thought of this book. "It is very funny. Good for every age. I liked it because the duck pretended he was a dog". She read this book herself quite comfortably. I thought the illustrations were wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Delightful, 25 Aug 2012
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Camborne, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Such a delightful book, even though what you think you want isn't what you eventually get - hey presto, it really is!

So imaginative, well illustrated, lots and lots to talk about.

A lovely story about friendship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5bd3ee8)

This product

Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry)
Wanted: The Perfect Pet (Spot & Henry) by Fiona Roberton (Paperback - 5 July 2012)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews