Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 24 brightly coloured pages delivering a fun rhyming story about dinosaur poo
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:45 Mins
Written by Andrew Weale with accompanying illustrations by Joelle Dreidemy, 'Dinosaur Doo' is a colourful fully-illustrated children's story that's aimed at young kids from around 3 - 6 years old.

The story is written with rhyming sentences that are so often used in books for this age range. In a nutshell, the short tale is about a...
Published 15 months ago by Chris Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not pants, poo!
It's a well told little tale with a interesting poo(sic) off at the end. Pretty well illustrated especially in devising a sewerage system that Isambard Kingdom Brunel would have been proud off.

Didn't make the kids chuckle, but they did want it to be read again over two nights, which is a bit of an endorsement, and it's always nice to have a new book to...
Published 17 months ago by ArrGee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 24 brightly coloured pages delivering a fun rhyming story about dinosaur poo, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 1:45 Mins

Written by Andrew Weale with accompanying illustrations by Joelle Dreidemy, 'Dinosaur Doo' is a colourful fully-illustrated children's story that's aimed at young kids from around 3 - 6 years old.

The story is written with rhyming sentences that are so often used in books for this age range. In a nutshell, the short tale is about a tribe of young cavemen children who find themselves in the company of quite a number of dinosaurs up on their hill. And with dinosaurs invariably comes dinosaur poo. And mountains of it! It's not long before they're literally up to their ears in the poo, but luckily our hero 'Spark' invents a huge dinosaur loo for the dinos to use. And then everyone's happy...until the dinosaur birds arrive!

So as you can see from the story overview, it's pretty much a poo-orientated tale. And, as all those who have young kids of this age know, for some reason they always seem to be fascinated by poo. It's just par of the course for kids of this age for some unknown reason.

We got the book for our three-and-a-half year old boy. And he loves it. The rhyming story bounces along, the brightly coloured illustrations on each page keep his attention, and the story itself has him laughing each time we read it to him.

It's also nice to have some different dinosaur names included in the book, which the parents will undoubtedly have to learn how to pronounce (although they're all pretty easy). Sadly, our son's favourite dinosaur (the tyrannosaurus) doesn't make an appearance in the book. Although it's nice to see some different dinosaurs used (such as the iguanodon), it's nevertheless a bit of a shame that the dino that's usually most kids favourite (and not just ours) is not included.

However, all in all our son loves the book, which makes it a success in our eyes.

The story runs for a total of 24 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yabba dabba dinosaur doo, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
R. C. McGinlay (Ilford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Contrary to the events depicted in this short rhyming story, archaeological evidence shows that human beings did not co-exist with dinosaurs - or keep cute baby mammoths as pets, for that matter. Nor were pterodactyls prehistoric birds - they were flying reptiles. It is also unlikely that iguanodons used to ping out their poo like a mini pea-shooter, or that stegosauruses fired their plop up into the sky like a cannonball, as described here! Such quibbles are hardly relevant, though, as I'm sure young readers will be delighted by all the scatological fun and comical human and dinosaur characters in this large-format illustrated book.

More commendably, from an educational point of view, a double-page spread at either end of the book provide a simple pronunciation guide to several popular types of dinosaur, including brachiosaurus (BRAK-ee-oh-sore-us) and triceratops (tri-SERRA-tops). The story also explains the basics of how toilets and sewerage systems work, as the process is invented here by a pioneering cave-boy called Spark, not forgetting the importance of washing your hands after using the loo. I can't help thinking, though, that some of that herbivore manure could have been put to use as fertiliser - but that's just me being scientific and factual!

The world created by author Andrew Weale (winner of the Red House Children's Book Award 2013) and illustrator Joelle Dreidemy (who deserves a lot of the credit for bringing this tale to life) is clearly inspired by "The Flinstones", in terms of its prehistoric setting, Spark's inventions (which include stone appliances and wood-and-bone wheeled vehicles) and even the zigzag hemlines of the cave-people's garments. Hmmm... perhaps this book is actually a prequel to "The Flinstones", with Spark's innovations paving the way toward the society seen in the animated show... but there I go again, taking it all far too seriously!

Yabba dabba doo indeed - this book is great fun. Job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We have a new favourite bedtime book!, 10 Dec. 2013
By 
Clare Mccann (Chichester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Prior to this book arriving, my two year-old son was only interested in books about tractors or cars, but now he has a new obsession... dinosaur poo! Yes, this book really is all about dinosaur poo. As an adult I'm trying desperately not to hate it, but the unavoidable truth is it is a massive hit with small boys! The writing is pretty average, the rhymes are often slightly suspect and the ending is a bit limp, but when you're two who cares about any of those things? Third night reading this in a row at bedtime and no sign of getting bored of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dinosaur Doo, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
Matt (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is extremely childish but then again, it is a children's book so I think the author can be forgiven. My daughter is not far off two-and-a-half and we're trying to find some books more appropriate for her age as currently she gravitates towards books with thick cardboard pages (as she was used to as a baby). I saw this on offer and thought I'd try it out.

The first thing that struck me was how good the rhymes are. A lot of the time in books for children, the rhymes don't scan properly with either too many or too few syllables in a sentence. Secondly, the book is well written and funny. While not historically accurate (as humans and dinosaurs live side by side...and the humans invent plumbing!) it is good fun to read and after only a few times through, my daughter can "read" the book herself, explaining the story to me from looking at the pictures.

The illustrations are good quality and very colourful and you can also teach your child some of the dinosaur names as they all did exist (iguanadon, stegosaurus, triceratops etc).

Great for children and perhaps a break from the norm for parents as well as it certainly does provide a giggle, however childish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny in a doo-doo kind of way, 22 Oct. 2013
By 
P Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you like poo-plops and all things toilety, then you will love this as in essence it's all about messy dinosaur poo and how it irks and irritates everyone. Spark, the caveboy comes to the rescue with one of his inventions and the dinosaurs seem impressed, except that isn't the end of it! Full of humour and superb illustrations, a great book to entertain and amuse.

Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not pants, poo!, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
ArrGee (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's a well told little tale with a interesting poo(sic) off at the end. Pretty well illustrated especially in devising a sewerage system that Isambard Kingdom Brunel would have been proud off.

Didn't make the kids chuckle, but they did want it to be read again over two nights, which is a bit of an endorsement, and it's always nice to have a new book to read.

Being critical, Dinosaurs Love Pants was a lot better and along the likes of The Gruffalo, Five Minute's Peace and Whatever Next somehow bears repeated reading. Aside from the whole poo thing, there isn't really much more to it. I suspect Dinosaur Doo will not be of much interest and gathering dust by the end of the week.

PS - I have never really liked the Flintstone-esque idea of cavemen and dinosaurs co-existing especially in children's books, but then again I suppose families of bears and elephants along with talking mice aren't exactly realistic either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful or horrid depending on your point of view, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
Archbold Jake "Archie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Any child who has read and liked "Father Christmas needs a wee" will love this book. They will see it as rude, which for early ages it will be.

The title does actually explain the book and unless you are somewhat po faced (a poor pun!) this is likely to appear fairly high on Santa's wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dinosaur Doo, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is a firm hit in our house with our son laughing and giggling out loud whilst I read it to him at bedtime. Even as young as he is he knows what poo is and without being sterotypical he's a definite little boy. The book is written in a rhyming style which almost always seems to be a hit in books for our son and coupled with the really bright and colourful pictures this is set to be a firm bedtime favourite. I liked that near the back cover there is also a little page which tells your little one how to pronounce phonetically the dinosaurs names that are featured in the book and I thought this was a nice touch. A definite hit in our household and if you have a little boy or little girl who is fascinated with poo as most kids seem to be at that age then it's sure to be a hit in your household too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dino-soils, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
Adam "Say something about yourself!" (Dunton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Carrying on the surprising and engaging genre of loo themed children's books (e.g. 'Who's in the loo?' and 'The Mole who knew it was none of his business' being other examples, this item was enthusiastically received by my 3 year old daughter and 8 year old son. I found it fun to read aloud as well. It's also similar in style and tone to the 'Dinosaurs love underpants' series.

It has entertaining rhymes and fun illustrations and scatological humour writ large. It tells the story of the invention of the first loo by Spark, a cave-boy inventor driven to this innovation by frantically crapping dino's.

So colourful fun your children will love. And they are already taken with the hilarious potential of the word 'poo' aren't they?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 24 Oct. 2013
By 
Sheila Camp "Sheila" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dinosaur Doo (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you have a small child/grandchild who loves dinosaurs and thinks it's great to talk about poo, then this is THE book for them.

The front cover is lovely and bright with the pictures inside being just as colourful. The story is in rhyme and we meet Spark who is so sick of the dinosaurs having a poo on the hill that he decides to invent the loo.

Grown-ups will snigger at the dinosaurs and the way they have a poo - the baby iguanodon doesn't use a nappy or potty and the way he poo's is like a mini pea-shooter!

If, like me, you struggle with the pronunciation of dinosaur names the front and back pages explain how to pronounce them (iguanodon is ig-wha-noh-don).

An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dinosaur Doo
Dinosaur Doo by Andrew Weale (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews