Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright and good fun
Good quality children's book with loads of big bright pictures that younger kids will love as Hugless Douglas goes to a sleepover party. The plot is, as you would expect, fairly basic stuff but there's enough charm here to keep youngsters entertained even after a dozen readings. Whether mums and dads will still be entertained is another matter. Plenty of pages too so...
Published 20 months ago by J.R.Hartley

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical toddler book all about the illustrations not the story.
The best way to describe Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep is charming illustrations running alongside a basic story with minimal word count. This is a typical toddler book, nothing wrong with that, but it doesn't stand out against anything else my grandchildren already have and doesn't hold my attention enough to make me want to read it very often. If you don't already...
Published 20 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical toddler book all about the illustrations not the story., 21 Jan 2013
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The best way to describe Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep is charming illustrations running alongside a basic story with minimal word count. This is a typical toddler book, nothing wrong with that, but it doesn't stand out against anything else my grandchildren already have and doesn't hold my attention enough to make me want to read it very often. If you don't already have a collection of toddler books this is a nice place to start but, if you do, this is a book you could probably ignore.

Hugless Douglas is a big, silly, slightly clumsy bear and The Big Sleep is just one of a series:-

Don't Worry Hugless Douglas
Hugless Douglas
Hugless Douglas Finds a Hug

Melling has a lot of books available and, personally, I don't think the Hugless series is his best work by a long way.

The Three Wishes
The Scallywags

I've left a 3* review for Hugless which might seem mean because the book's so cute but; my grandchildren aren't interested enough in the character, or the story, to want me to read the book again. We've read the story three times and that's enough for them. There's no interaction, nothing to grab their attention, and The Big Sleep is typical of the books they already have. Nice to read at bedtime perhaps when the children are half asleep but Hugless won't keep them occupied in the middle of the afternoon when they're full of energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bright and good fun, 2 Jan 2013
By 
J.R.Hartley (NW England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Good quality children's book with loads of big bright pictures that younger kids will love as Hugless Douglas goes to a sleepover party. The plot is, as you would expect, fairly basic stuff but there's enough charm here to keep youngsters entertained even after a dozen readings. Whether mums and dads will still be entertained is another matter. Plenty of pages too so it's not over with in 30 seconds like some books seem to be and the fine detailed drawings will keep them finding new things for quite a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The big squeeze..., 3 Feb 2013
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep is a big square book about a big hairy bear who gets invited to a sleepover at Rabbit's burrow. Needless to say, being such a big bear, Douglas finds it's a bit of a squeeze to fit into Rabbit's home - especially when a small flock of baby sheep invite themselves along too. Somehow they all manage to squeeze into the burrow, ready for their bedtime story...

Although the story is short David Melling manages to squeeze in a few giggle-inducing jokes along the way, nicely illustrated in bold, colourful drawings. The text is sparse, so it would be easy for young readers, and leaves plenty of room for parents to fill in some comic asides inspired by the pictures. There are some cute details to discover in the pictures too, especially the antics of the lamb troupe, so you can make the story last longer than the few pages might suggest. With the sleepover theme it's obviously meant as a bedtime story and after the story there's a two-page spread of bedtime-themed things to identify -- like dressing gown, slippers, toothbrush and cuddly-toy -- all helpfully modelled by the lambs. My only minor complaint would be the inside-cover advert for other books in the series and the associated iPhone app - such commercialism always seem a bit out of place in a children's book, but that's the world we live in. Maybe one of the other books explains why Douglas is hugless because this book doesn't - he seemed quite huggable to me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely children's book, 26 Jan 2013
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I believe it is important to get children interested in books at a young age and that it is therefore essential to have access to good quality books and interesting stories. Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep is an engaging read that will entertain the little ones. The story is lovely and the characters are ones that your child will become fond of, will relate to and will want to visit time and again. This is one that will be popular at bedtime and might be good to read if your child is about to embark on their first sleepover at a friend's house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winnie The Pooh meets Shaun The Sheep, 24 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A very sweet, funny little book.

The sense of humour is a blend of "Winnie the Pooh" and "Shaun the Sheep". This story is a simple bit of slapstick, but it's the artwork that really make it. The bold cartoon style is cute and funny, especially the flock of sheep. There's a panel where the sheep have all been sneezed up in the air and then land on the ground, and every sheep is pulling its own comedy pose. I laughed out loud at that bit, and I'm supposed to be a grown-up adult.

Incidentally this is the third (I think) book in the series, so if you were just to read this one and wonder why Douglas is called "Hugless Douglas", there's no explanation of that here- it ends up seeming like an inappropriate name, as he's a bear with friends. Not particularly important unless your child is a stickler for such details.

It's not particularly inspired or original, nor will it withstand too many repeat readings, but it's very endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story - Tick. Wonderful illustrations - Tick, 22 Jan 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep is a top notch children's book that ticks all the boxes. It's a nice story with plenty going on as the story unfolds and It's big pages are wonderfully illustrated.

The scenery and characters are really cute and full of personality, having been brought wonderfully to life by the man who penned the tale, David Melling.

Illustration is clearly David's strength (as opposed to words) as some of the writing is a little clunky in places - but this doesn't take away from the enjoyment at all and I doubt your kid will notice.

Overall Hugless Dougless is an extremely likeable character, as are his friends. The story is very nice too - but as with any kids' book worth its salt - it's the pictures take centre stage and fire up the imagination; and here the illustrations are amongst the best I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep, 22 Jan 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the third picture book featuring Hugless Douglas, following on from Hugless Douglas and Don't Worry Hugless Douglas. In this story, Hugless Douglas is going to Rabbit's for a sleepover, but gets lost on the way. Little Sheep offers to show him where it is and Hugless Douglas invites him along - "there's plenty of room at Rabbit's". What he doesn't realise is that he has picked up a few more sheep along the way. Will they all fit into Rabbit's home? Will Hugless Douglas get his bedtime story? This is a feel good story, with vibrant and humorous illustrations and lots to talk about (and count) with young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's plenty of room at Rabbit's!, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mark R. Bannister (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A nice story that my 3 and a half year old son loves to read, or to have read to him, and one which his Daddy has fun reading too. Hugless Douglas is off for a sleep-over at Rabbit's, and THERE'S PLENTY OF ROOM AT RABBIT'S! The story builds up to a nice ending, and has some engaging action along the way. My son especially likes it when the bear sneezes and all the sheep coming popping "B-doing!" out of the rabbit holes. We'd never come across Hugless Douglas before, but now we have this book, we've discovered another Hugless Douglas at the local library which we are also immediately enjoying. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep, 7 Jan 2013
By 
G. Archer (Bangor, NI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A bright, colourful and beautifully illustrated childrens book about a hapless bear, Hugless Douglas, who has been invited to a sleepover at Rabbit's House. Douglas is so excited and the story tells of his preparations,all the people he meets on his way and the experience at Rabbit's. It is a delightful, amusing story which is fun to read to my grand-daughter now, but will also be a book that she will be able to read herself when she is a bit older. I am pleased to note that there are many other Hugless Douglas stories - this is a lovely character for a young child to hear about (and for this adult too!).
One word of caution, you will receive a massive package when the postman brings your order - I wondered what on earth size the book was and was concerned that it would be too big for my grand-daughter to hold! The book is actually just under half the size of the padded envelope and, as Amazon ask for comments on packaging, I would suggest that,on this occasion, the package was both excessive and unnecessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big & Beautiful, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is a biggish book. I don't know if Amazon only have a certain size box for this size item, but the box it came in was HUGE! About the size of a small coffee table top. I'm not joking.
Anyway, the book is very nice. Full colour illustrations (watercolour I think or maybe gouache?)with a simple story of not too many words each page.
A very nice item that because of it's quickish page turner style will get quite a few reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep
Hugless Douglas and the Big Sleep by David Melling (Paperback - 4 Oct 2012)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews