Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lincoln Rhyme Novels Continue Improving.....
Jeffrey Deaver has done it again..... I am a huge fan of the Lincoln Rhyme series and this one I believe to be the pick of the bunch. There are so many twists and turns and the final chapters truely have you sat on the edge of your seat!
This is one book that once picked up you will be unable to put down - truely remarkable.
Published on 30 April 2003

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Unspectacular Stuff
Deaver made a huge impact on me with the Bone Collector and subsequently I have purchased all his offerings - including his previous novel which were wrapped up in new covers to fool the unsuspecting - his style of faint romance between Sachs and Rhyme, a cruel and ruthless villain and a sudden twist is beginning to wear thin. While I enjoyed the book it is all a bit...
Published on 15 July 2002


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Unspectacular Stuff, 15 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stone Monkey (Hardcover)
Deaver made a huge impact on me with the Bone Collector and subsequently I have purchased all his offerings - including his previous novel which were wrapped up in new covers to fool the unsuspecting - his style of faint romance between Sachs and Rhyme, a cruel and ruthless villain and a sudden twist is beginning to wear thin. While I enjoyed the book it is all a bit "thriller-by-numbers" as opposed to the genuine attention holders he produced for a while. Like James Patterson the one-book-a-year author production line tends to diminish the final product. Read on a plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lincoln Rhyme Novels Continue Improving....., 30 April 2003
By A Customer
Jeffrey Deaver has done it again..... I am a huge fan of the Lincoln Rhyme series and this one I believe to be the pick of the bunch. There are so many twists and turns and the final chapters truely have you sat on the edge of your seat!
This is one book that once picked up you will be unable to put down - truely remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEAVER DOESN'T "MONKEY" AROUND WITH THIS ONE, 14 April 2003
By 
TheReader23 (Pennsylvania (orig. NY)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stone Monkey (Hardcover)
This is the fourth book in the Lincoln Rhyme/Amelia Sachs' series featuring Lincoln as the quadriplegic consultant to the NYPD with Amelia acting as his eyes and legs by walking the crime scenes for him, while reporting back everything she sees and feels. While one might think that having someone heading up an investigation, who's confined to a wheelchair, might be a little far-fetched, then you haven't made the acquaintance of Lincoln Rhyme. Deaver makes this series so interesting by putting top notch technology at Lincoln's fingertips (just a figure of speech as Lincoln only has feeling in his left ring finger).
As the story opens, Lincoln has tracked down a cargo ship, the Fuzhou Dragon, said to be bringing in illegal Chinese immigrants. The smuggler is a man known as "The Ghost" -- aptly named as there are no known photographs of him in existance. Not only is The Ghost a smuggler of illegal aliens, he is also a killer and Lincoln has been asked by the FBI and the INS to help them capture this murderer before he strikes again on Lincoln's turf.
A good part of this story takes place in New York's Chinatown as The Ghost tries to track down two of the families he has smuggled into this country. At the same time, Lincoln and Amelia are trying to reach these families first before The Ghost gets to them. This is the real mystery.....why is The Ghost after immigrants he, himself, has smuggled into this country?
Deaver's descriptions of this area and its Chinese cultures are well researched and make for some very interesting reading. It's actually one of the best fictional trips into Chinatown that I've yet to come upon. I especially liked the story Deaver tells of the "Ten Judges of Hell" who keep a book called "The Register of the Living and the Dead" -- which is actually the balance sheet of life and death for the Chinese people.
Comparing this book to the other three in the series (The Bone Collector, The Coffin Dancer, The Empty Chair), I'd have to say it's right at the top of the list for me because Deaver weaves a tale that has a number of twists and turns, some of which totally caught me by surprise. He also introduces a wily policeman from China, Sonny Li, who will grow on the reader as much as he is growing on Lincoln (which isn't an easy feat). I know the next book in the series, The Vanished Man, has just come out and I look forward, with great anticipation, to another adventure with Lincoln and Amelia. I hear it's a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Topical, intelligent and good reading, 14 Jun 2005
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stone Monkey (Hardcover)
Jeffery Deaver's popular duo of Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are back again in the fifth in their series, one that was preceded by The Bone Collector, The Coffin Dancer, The Devil's Teardrop (cameo for Rhyme only) and The Empty Chair . They are all good, and Deaver has created an enigmatic character in the immobile Lincoln Rhyme who, grumpy though he is, always displays such a lucidity of mind and exceptional talent for forensics that all other characters in the book pale into insignificance. He's human though, he has failings, but we always forgive him because we know that despite his intense frustrations (brought about by his almost absolute physical disability) he is a man of integrity and sound judgement.

In The Stone Monkey he is on the trail of a 'Snakehead', a Chinese man who exploits the desperations of those in his home country and who seek a better life in The Beautiful Country (is New York beautiful?). The Snakehead, aka Ghost, is a pretty nasty piece of work and his identity is cleverly hidden throughout most of this story although I have to confess that, for once, I got it right quite early on. It didn't spoil a thing though, the book gave me new insights into the pain and politics behind human trafficking, and once again I can give a Deaver novel the thumbs-up and a strong recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whens the next one out?!, 12 May 2002
This review is from: The Stone Monkey (Hardcover)
As an avid fan of Jeffrey Deaver and a follower of the Lincoln Rhyme series, I eagerly awaited for the fourth installment.
The Stone Monkey is another great story and well written addition. However, I found that this novel certainly isn't best of the four and my least favorite. I think this is mainly because there is less character development, particularly of Rhyme (the ex. head of forensics quadriplegic) and his partner Sachs (a crime scene officer).
Apart from the aforementioned, I must say once I started reading the book I couldn't put it down. Deaver's portrayal of the human smuggling underworld was grim as ever! and that of the chinese society brilliant. Deaver really delves into these subjects providing the story with intricate details. Add this with a chilling plot, unexpected turns, lovable and detestable characters - you end up with another outstanding Deaver thriller...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let's twist again!, 6 Feb 2004
By A Customer
The fourth title in the Lincoln Rhyme (and Amelia Sachs) series is a fast paced enjoyable read with Deaver again proving he is one of the most enjoyable of psychological thriller writers currently working.
Anyone new to the Rhyme books will be able to have as much fun as seasoned readers in trying to guess the plot twists. But take a tip from me - I bet you won't be able to guess correctly. That is the fun part. I thought I had this one sussed but when the major twist was revealed I realised that Deaver had tricked me again.
A couple of minor quibbles - the story does seem a bit leaden when trying to develop certain characters relevant only to this book when the main characters still aren't given enough time. Also some of the plot developments gained from the crime scene evidence are a little bit convenient.
'The Stone Monkey' was overall a worthy addition to the Rhyme/Sachs series. Not as good as my favourite 'The Coffin Dancer' which had a plot twist which I could only liken to the movie 'The Sixth Sense'. It made me want to re-read it again to make sure the twist worked.
Now the plot for 'The Vanished Man' really does look interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Detective Novel, 14 Feb 2008
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
In this novel, the duo of Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs are on the case of an evil people trafficer, known only as the 'ghost'. The 'ghost' has just deliberately scuttled a cargo ship carrying his illegal immigrants, after locking them in the hold. However, a couple of families have escaped, and now he is ruthlessly on their trail, in the city of New York.

I found this novel a good read, if not quite a page turner. The combination of Rhyme and Sachs is always interesting, although, I feel, the large cast of characters, around them, from the different law enforcement agencies, can sometimes be a bit unwieldy, and on few occasions I had to think as to which character, belonged to which agency.

I thought there were a couple of small drawbacks to the book. Firstly, there seemed to be an awful lot of action/events going on in the space of just a few days, and, secondly, I felt some of the Chinese characters in the novel, were a bit too stereotyped. All in all, though, a fairly good book. Three and half to four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deaver does it yet again, 1 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This is another brilliant book by Jeffrey Deaver, although it is slow to get going by the end it is a real page turner, which is impossible to put down. Another excellent Lincoln Rhyme epic with the usual unexpected twists and turns! There is also the brilliant character development of Sachs, which definately adds alot to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Knockout, 18 May 2003
By A Customer
By far the best Lincoln Rhyme crime thriller (and that includes the new book, The Vanished Man) and for so many reasons: the story is complex and detailed; the characters and relationships are far better developed in this book that in any of the others and the complex relationship between Rhyme and Sachs is more, and better, developed than before, laying the foundations for interesting future developments. If you are a fan, you will not be disappointed, if you are new to the series, you could not choose a better book for your initiation! The only fault? Mr Deaver cannot write these books quick enough for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Stone Monkey (Hardcover)
Deaver's books just keep on getting better and better. This one is no exception.
All the usual characterrs are back in full force, as well as some new excellent subsidiary characters. John Sung, Sony Li, Sam Chang, and the captain of the Fuzhou Dragon, who, even though he only features in the first couple of chapters, is an incredibly strong presence.
Deaver packs it all again, knowing exactly what his readers want. Quirky characters, a quick, tense, suspenseful and original plot, which has complex and interesting twists. (It is a good thing that here he has cut down on his twists...he still has some (really good ones) but just not quite as many. sometimes he can go over the top.) The relationship between is Rhyme and Sachs is moving along nicely. I like the fact that Deaver is not rushing their relationship. It tells us a couple of things. First, the he plans at least several more Rhyme books, during which their relationship will progress. Second, he is a talented writer who thinks ahead. Some writers who write series characters develop their characters really well early on in a series, but in the later novels there is nothing left to develop, so the characters begin to seem wooden and very two dimensional. (james Patterson, this is you im talking about.) Wise writers choose to develop their characters more slowly, giving room for a series to seem fully developed. It is the mark of a really good writer that even though the characters are still being developed, they do seem fully fleshed out in all the novels, even though they are not fully devloped. Deaver manages to do this so well. There are still things we have yet to know about Rhyme and Sachs, but still their characters are wonderfully vivid.
there is less interaction in this novel between the two leads, because interaction is not always needed any more. Sachs KNOWS what Rhyme will say, she doesnt need to hear him say it. It shows how far their relationship has gone, and is a reflection of it. It also gives us an opportunity to see how both characters work almost on their own. When the two characters do interact, it really gives the reader a kick. This time round, Deaver concentrates a little more on his other stock characters (Dellray, Sellito, etc) and it gives the book a really good, well rounded feel. (Although i have always felt that Deaver sometimes gives Thom unnaceptably short shrift.)
Deaver does his research wonderfully, and his little tidbits about Chinese culture (and other things) which he feeds to the reader really are wonderful.
The beginning of the book is great. It begins with a scene of incredible suspense and does not let up all the way through. (It was almost as if i had stepped into the book right at the exciting climax.) I was amazed at how he built the suspense up so well over just a couple of pages.
Deaver's books always have essneitally very bad crimes in them, and wonderfully chilling villains. THis one is no exception. Justice is meted out in the end, as always.
A brilliant book. Possibly his best yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stone Monkey: Lincoln Rhyme Book 4
The Stone Monkey: Lincoln Rhyme Book 4 by Jeffery Deaver (Paperback - 13 Mar 2014)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews