Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easily accessible guidebook
The book is a very light read and the spacious layout resembles a cookbook more than a book on real estate. Short hints are presented mixed with plenty of (irrelevant) pictures - half of them showing Allsopp and Spencer.
The strength of the book is that it has collected *all* the fundamentals in an easily accessible format. It is definitely not for the more...
Published on 15 Feb 2006

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best leave this book on your coffee table
If you like the idea of buying a house and want to have a colourful and attractive book to let your friends know that you are 'thinking of buying a house' then this is a must. If you are a first time buyer and serious about buying a house, then don't bother.

It's mostly style over substance filled with nice photos and a really annoying magazine-style layout...
Published on 8 Oct 2006 by Q. PHAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easily accessible guidebook, 15 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
The book is a very light read and the spacious layout resembles a cookbook more than a book on real estate. Short hints are presented mixed with plenty of (irrelevant) pictures - half of them showing Allsopp and Spencer.
The strength of the book is that it has collected *all* the fundamentals in an easily accessible format. It is definitely not for the more experienced house-buyer, but for an infrequent reader about to buy a first home it could prove extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical Advice for Property Novices, 28 July 2005
By 
Lulu (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
This isn't a book about making a killing in the property market - it's just a supremely practical and easy-to-read guide to buying your own home. Unlike other reviewers, I'm impressed with it precisely because it has appeared at a time when the property market seems to be falling: it helps the reader focus on exactly what she or he wants from a house which might have to be home for five years or more before the market picks up again. I wish I'd read it before I bought my first house - it would have saved me so much worry, expense and dissatisfaction. It's worth the money for the advice on dealing with estate agents and solicitors alone. Though it's true that the proportion of photographs to text is high, for me this helped keep my attention through the tedious but necessary technical bits (and even these are set out in a clear and comprehensible way). If you are an experienced property developer then obviously you won't need this book; but for those of us whose home is the biggest investment we will ever make, it's well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best leave this book on your coffee table, 8 Oct 2006
By 
Q. PHAN (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
If you like the idea of buying a house and want to have a colourful and attractive book to let your friends know that you are 'thinking of buying a house' then this is a must. If you are a first time buyer and serious about buying a house, then don't bother.

It's mostly style over substance filled with nice photos and a really annoying magazine-style layout with bits of text scattered across the page in random segments. There's also some really garbage tips like 'Kirstie says, 'don't forget estate agents are human too, why not get them coffee on the way to your viewings from the nearest Starbucks...' or some such. Which she immediately admits is a stupid idea, as if everyone followed it, all estate agents would be bloated and caffeine crazed.

To be fair there are some useful bits and pieces, but a lot of it is either common sense or common courtesy. Lots of things are glossed over so it's unclear what happens between different stages.

I think you're better off getting the Adam Walker book of the same name. It's much better laid out with clear headings and practical advice that you can follow. This one is definitly best kept on the coffee table of your Clapham flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good advice, 22 Nov 2012
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
I have to admit I haven't bought this book, I got it from my local library after reading mixed reviews on here.

I won't be buying it as I got through it in one night and after making a few notes didn't actually get that much from it. It covers the basics and is great if you know nothing about the process of buying a house. But after you've read it and have this knowledge I think you need further detail so I'll be searching the internet for more detailed guides.

I also got Phil Spencer's 'How to Buy your First Home' and this was loads better- lots of in-depth advice about the process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is really useful, 14 Jan 2006
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
This book is probably best for a first time buyer. A lot of the advice is common sense, but as a first time buyer it's reasuring to know that you have all of your bases covered. There are also a good few golden nuggets too, which could easily save several thousand pounds compared to the cover price.
It's true that the book makes no warning that house prices can go both up, and down, but I think that they were correct to ommit it. The book is about buying a house, not the housing market in general. Over a year after it was published the book is very relevant, but any discussion of the housing market would be completely out of date.
It's true that the information could easily be condensed into fewer pages, but the design and layout is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kirsty and Phil talk it up and up., 8 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
Kirsty and Phil have put all their familiar Location Location Location advice into one handy and stylish book. If you've ever wondered what a house is and where you can buy one, then no doubt this book will help you out.
This book is very much a product of housing boom Britain. As you might expect it gives little mention of the very real possibility of a serious downturn in the housing market and the consequences of living with negative equity.
This is a good coffee table book that is snappily written and will no doubt help some people to take the plunge into property. However, if you are seriously considering buying a house I suggest you also get a more balanced view of the currently precarious housing market by doing your own research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but not as good as their programs, 6 Feb 2007
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
This book was bought because I wanted to buy my first property and as it was my first i wanted to get it right.

The book isn't as good as what i expected - I thought it would be loaded with tips, advice and many unknown things about properties.

Basically, all it covers are the things you should know. If you know absolutely nothing about properties buy it.

If not you'll know it all already so save your money it would be better put elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable!, 8 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
Most of the other reviewers here have completely missed the point. This is not for the very experienced house buyer who is only interested in property development and return on investment etc - it is for the first-time buyer or someone who has bought a property before but is not an expert. For anyone who wants a bit of advice about the house-buying process, it is completely invaluable. It talks you through all the different stages of buying a house and Phil and Kirsty share their past experience to give you tips on how to be sure you won't make the mistakes that other people have made. I'm going out to get myself a house-hunting notebook and deliver some estate agent calling cards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Simple, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good simple advice for the house buying process - from deciding what you're looking for to keeping your new house standing after you've bought it. It not only explains exactly what happens at each step, but how to minimise the chance of your purchase falling through and how to pick yourself up again if that happens.
Just to reiterate what others have said, this is focused on the residential buyer, not professional investors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
Just right for our daughter who is looking to buy her own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Buy a House
How to Buy a House by Phil Spencer (Paperback - 22 May 2014)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews