Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars143
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2014
Rachel Kelly's searing honesty and limpid prose combine to make a powerful memoir which doubtless will bring emotional succour and practical help to many fellow sufferers of the black dog and insight to those who care for those so suffering
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Rachel Kelly writes in an honest, clear and compelling way about two episodes of severe depression. Her prose style is clear, unsentimental and extremely lucid. I was struck by the descriptions of the awful, painful physicality of severe depressive episodes. The lucid recollections assist in the understanding of how paralysing and debilitating depression can be. This book makes it very clear that depression is not only a mental but also a severely debilitating physical illness. An important book that provides a detailed taxonomy of the stages of depression. It provides a rare account of the emotional history of depressive episodes with unflinching honesty. Most importantly it also provides real hope for sufferers and concrete strategies for recovery. AF
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
I was attracted to this book because close family members have suffered depression. I found it insightful, moving and gripping from beginning to end. Thank you, Rachel, for putting your story out there. You did a good and useful thing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
I'm not sure where to start, except this is my one true turnaround book! You have to read it, it is honestly and sensitively written, and anyone who has had episodes such as this in their life or whose lives have been touched by depression knows how hard it is to even get up in the morning and face the day. As women I feel we put ourselves under immense pressure to expect so much from ourselves- my biggest lesson learnt from reading this book was that it's ok to say no to friends and by trying to be a people pleaser constantly it takes it's toll. And finding the right therapist - absolutely- it's so important to be just who you truly are. I loved this book and from the heart I say 'buy it now!' Thank you Rachel for sharing your journey x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
This is a beautifully written account of Rachel's experiences of serious depression. It is a must read for anyone with even as passing interest in mental health, as it gives a brilliantly honest description of how a depressive illness can be experienced and recovered from, as well as providing very well researched advice for managing this illness. I am sure it will give hope to anyone suffering from depression, or with friends and family in this position. It is also a great read for women who are trying to juggle the demands of work and family life, and to manage the often unrealistic expectations placed upon them by themselves and others. Overall, a superb book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
If you thought depression was a sad fog that crept up on you slowly, this book will disabuse you. Rachel Kelly explains how her world was knocked off its orbit one Sunday evening, when she was suddenly felled by this terrible disease. She brings the drama and horror of what happened to her to life with the breathtaking immediacy and painful precision of her account; yet her feeling for poetry, and the comfort and insight it brought her leave the reader uplifted by the end of the book. For the millions who have suffered from depression, and the many millions more who care for somebody who does, this book is a must. And the author really knows how to write: there's not a wasted word, not a slack sentence, not a cliche in sight
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I've suffered depression for many years & have felt inspired to use some of Rachel's ideas. This is a very moving book and to anyone who has never experienced depression but has a loved one who is suffering this is must read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Not as helpful as I thought it would be to understand the illness.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2016
Black Rainbow is such a compelling and insightful read. I couldn’t put it down. It is also full of useful information not only for people who experience anxiety, and their carers, but for those who lead a blissfully mood-swing-free life too. Rachel is very brave to have been so honest about what happened to her and this integrity makes the subject matter so much more real and the coping strategies she employs utterly obtainable. In other words - there really is a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, as long as you have an open mind and are prepared to work at reaching it. And that pot of gold has a currency beyond the precious metal - a happy and fulfilling life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I was lucky enough to meet Rachel at a Poetry workshop that she runs and this made reading the book so much more real. Whether you have experienced the depths of depresssion or not, please read this book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.