Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous idea
brilliantly executed. You will always have a good time with Jeffrey Deaver, guaranteed! The master of the surprise ending here gives us a story told in reverse (just stop a minute to really think about that - this is a thriller novel, not some pretentious 500-page yawn of navel-gazing. This actually has a proper story and to write it in reverse and have everything work...
Published 8 months ago by johnnyrockets

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars this book defies the rules of story telling
I am a HUGE fan of Deaver. I pre-ordered this book. I saved it for a flight. And I left it on the plane. But that's just me. I think some people MIGHT like this- but you have to face the giant hurdle of starting afresh with each chapter. In a word- it messes with the basic idea of a story- 'what comes next?'. When it's changed into 'what came before' we're in a different...
Published 10 months ago by R. Twigger


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
I am enjoying the different style to this book. I had no idea about the format, but it is working so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
This is a fantastic book with a really unusal concept - the time line runs backwards however there is not just one but three twists at the end. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars October List, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
I was just a little disappointed with this book, have read all Jefferey Deaver books and really enjoyed them but this one was just a little bit disappointing, but still ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tour de force..., 6 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
Writing a mystery backwards is a stunt, in one sense. But in the hands of a master like Deaver, it becomes a new way of getting the reader to turn pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Boldly Going Backwards., 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
I was a bit dubious about this book at first. The beginning is really the end and the reader is basically going back in time. The further I got though, the more I liked it. It has all the plot twists and turns that are Jeffrey Deaver's signature. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The October List, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
Dreadful. to have to plough through such a laboured plot with boring characters backwards chronologically is a read too far. bring back Lincoln Rhyme. this is not the Geoffrey Deaver I so enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame, 19 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. M. C. Walker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
I am normally a big fan of Jeffery Deaver's books but this one just did not work, at least for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What went wrong?, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Ken Fyfe (North Shields, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
I have read and enjoyed all of Jeffery Deaver's previous books and can only hope he recovers from whatever he was suffering when he wrote this dreadful book. If I could ask for my money back I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Irritating, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
I gave up on this about one third in as underwritten backwards and totally irritating. I usually like this author but I will not be buying any more as this was a total waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawned ring storyline with no thread., 15 Oct 2013
By 
Robert Samuel (Haines City, Florida, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The October List (Kindle Edition)
Very poor by Deavers standards. No real storyline anfpd got boring very quickly. Gave it up about half way through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The October List
The October List by Jeffery Deaver (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews