Customer Reviews


458 Reviews
5 star:
 (393)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class read by A First Class Lady and artist x
Wow! I do not know where to begin.....As a Palliative Care Nurse - worked for Marie Curie CC for many years....Also I am a Mother, Sister, Auntie etc....I can see Bernie's book from so many sides! I have followed the Nolan's since I was a little girl - singing and copying every dance move to my vinyls in my bedroom @ my parents home - my Mam became a big fan cos I played...
Published 14 months ago by B. Fitzgerald

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Same story
Because had read most of it in The previous book only last few pages were up to date god bless her
Published 4 months ago by kml


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first class read by A First Class Lady and artist x, 10 May 2013
By 
B. Fitzgerald "Belle" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
Wow! I do not know where to begin.....As a Palliative Care Nurse - worked for Marie Curie CC for many years....Also I am a Mother, Sister, Auntie etc....I can see Bernie's book from so many sides! I have followed the Nolan's since I was a little girl - singing and copying every dance move to my vinyls in my bedroom @ my parents home - my Mam became a big fan cos I played their music so much! From seeing the girls in concert in 1981, having the pleasure of meeting them then and many times after...including their 2009 reunion tour.... I have felt they were part of my everyday life!
I have followed ALL their career paths, individually and collectively and I have cried...and laughed...with every event...good and bad...life has thrown at them. However, Bernie's journey has touched me the most....if ever anyone deserved a miracle it is Bernie....her zest for life and her sadness that she will not see Erin grow older is heartbreaking! Her love and devotion for Steve and Erin shines like a beacon throughout her book and her unconditional love for ALL her siblings is crystal clear. I am very very sad that Bernie's cancer could not be treated this time and her journey in this life is coming to an end :-( I salute you for you courageous, dignified battle to live....you are an inspiration and role model to us ALL....thank you for all the years we have been lucky and privileged to have had you in our lives...thank you for the music...but most of all...thank you for being YOU!
God Bless you Bernie, when God finally calls you home...we will miss you...but you will be one of the nicest, most beautiful Angels in Heaven.... xxxx
Please God give Erin, Steve, her sisters and ALL her family the strength they will need....xxxx
God Bless you all....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read in one sitting today, 9 May 2013
This review is from: Now and Forever (Hardcover)
I have followed Bernie journey first as part of the Nolans, then in Brookside and especially the last few years fighting like a trouper so publicly against the evil cancer that seems so determined to take her from her loving family and the world she so clearly enjoys being such a vibrant part of - I was truly gutted for her when I read in the papers that she was losing her war but my god she certainly has won many a battles with it, never have I been so moved as I have been by a book clearly written by Bernie (and her husband towards the end) herself - unlike many of these 'celebrity' titles - this one really does come from the heart. She has shown and especially in this book that she truly is a one of lifes troupers - you will laugh, smile and you will certainly cry when you read this book - I read it in one go and couldn't put it down, I've now given it to my friend - try it you wont regret it AND you might just feel differently about what really matters to us all because her will to live despite all the odds stacked against her are awe inspiring - Bernie if you ever read this - or your family do - I salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now and forever, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
Laughed, cried and cried again.....such a wonderful insight into the life of Bernie and her family, one in which the love for each other shines through. Thank you Bernie and Steve for sharing this with the public....and thank you for the music x

Sadly I have just heard the news that Bernie lost her battle for life on 4th July 2013. RIP Bernie and thanks for the memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Hardcover)
Such an excellent read from start to finish.Would recommend to anyone.Very moving and sad to think she is dying early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 22 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs. Julie Holt "Julie Haigh" (West Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful.

What a wonderful woman Bernie was. I used to be a fan of the Nolan sisters- I even had their album of greatest hits with 'I'm In The Mood For Dancing', and 'Who's Gonna Rock You' etc. on. It's been nice to see the various sisters pop up on TV in recent years, eg. Coleen on Loose Women, This Morning and Dancing On Ice and Bernie in The Bill. I was very sad to hear about Bernie's fight with breast cancer a few years ago, also of her sisters Anne and Linda already having fought this dreadful disease. I decided to leave reading this book a few months after Bernie had passed away rather than reading straight away. I'm so glad Bernie decided to write this and what a remarkable job she did. It's very cleverly written-it feels like she's just sat there having a conversation with you, telling you about her life. It's so honest, she tells everything just like it was.This book is not all doom and gloom, it's a real celebration of all her life and tells of her early life, the beginnings of the sisters' singing career, where they've gigged and who they've met celebrity-wise over the years. So many achievements yet told with no boasting at all, just a genuine joy for life and love for all she's been able to achieve with her music and acting. The writing is so easy to read without any exhaustive descripions/scene setting etc, no unnecessary stuff. She just starts telling her life story and you just want to listen and read and read in one sitting. Bernie's husband Steve has written a final chapter to finish off her book and this is also very well done. The book includes numerous photos of Bernie and all her family. So glad I read this and it left me speechless when I had finished it. What a wonderful momento for Bernie to have left her family and everyone who reads this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
What a special lady you are..... once I started reading your book I couldn't put it down. Felt like your voice was reading this to me. What a fabulous life you have had with wonderful family and friends. Everybody should read this book and realise how precious life is.... much love Bernie Nolan xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and achingly sad., 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
Having been diagnosed with breast cancer myself last May, I was a tad reluctant to read this, but I'm glad I did. Bernie has always been my favourite Nolan, I was devastated when I read that her cancer was back and incurable. This book is not just about that, it's funny, ballsy, honest and I loved her reaction to the cancer, to fight it with every fibre of her being, which was, and is, my response. I hope and pray with every ounce of my being, that she IS the miracle girl who recovers and can continue to be with her lovely husband and daughter, for many more years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saddest book I have ever read, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
The saddest book I have ever read.

For anyone to write an autobiography, knowing they have such a short time to live, must be heart breaking. Bernie is so brave and to put down in words, the pain and emotions she is experiencing, and what her husband and daughter are also going through is horrendous.

I bought this book at 7pm and couldn't go to bed until I had finished it. But it is a truly sad story x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and entertaining., 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
Emotional, entertaining and thought provoking. Follows her early years in show business, the success of the group and her battle with cancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now and Forever (Kindle Edition)
What a truly amazing life , you have shared so much in this with so many , no doubt inspiring so many as well . Thank you for making me laugh cry and hiccup !! A truly lovely family , a daughter to be proud of and a husband who is worth a million , yourself someone who has given so much to everything A true lovely genuine lady and its been a pleasure and honour to read a truly remarkable life keep fighting and always look for the sunflower at the end of the rainbow xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now and Forever
Now and Forever by Bernie Nolan (Paperback - 12 Sep 2013)
7.03
Usually dispatched within 7 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews