Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good read
The first thing I have to say about this book is that it's too long, and that should have been dealt with by some decent editing. I love a bit of good descriptive writing, but sometimes one can have just too many adjectives, too carefully detailed a reaction, too much introspection and too deep an insight into characters' feelings. I suppose one of the biggest problems...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by Deborah

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strong novel bu rather long............
For what it's worth, I thought that Brethren, the first in this yet-to-be-completed trilogy, was very good - the characters had depth, the storyline had credibility, it was a page-turner (never a bad thing if one has had to endure the hideous gloom of Thomas Hardy in one's youth) and the lovely Miss Young writes excellent and well-constructed English. It was a fine effort...
Published on 5 May 2008 by Mr. Thomas Thatcher


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Feeling the history of the Holy Land in the twelve hundreds, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crusade (The Brethren Trilogy) (Paperback)
Great storyline interwoven with real historical facts -- terrific interaction that gives the reader a clear insight into the period and especially the crusades and the involvement of the Knights Templar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FM Buffs, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Robert Garrett (Osnabruck, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book for all FM Buffs with an interesting insight into secret Masonic Preceptories during the Crusades. Highly recommended reading for one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Long Knight's Tale, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Those Crusades went on for a bit didn't they? If you read `Crusade' by Robyn Young, you may just think that she has done a minute by minute reconstruction of events, as this is one slow and long book. Will Campbell is a Templar Knight who is part of a secret group to maintain peace in the troubled Holy Lands. However, over the next decade or so several factions will do their best to break the peace and cause a war that will kills thousands.

Balancing authenticity and entertainment is a difficult task and masters like Cornwell and Iggulden have spent years making it look easy. `Crusade' is an example of how you can be a slave to fact and create a bland fiction. Many of the events in `Crusade' actually happened and Young is at pains to include them in the book. It is set during a time of false peace were people from both sides talked of peace, but planned for war. The fact is that all-out war did not happen for a long time and `Crusade' reflects this. Instead you get a lot of politics about an era I don't know enough about. Reading about men in dusty rooms talking about conspiracies eventually wears very thin.

With strong characterisation the book could have actually worked; real people caught in a deadly situation. However, there were problems with the way that Young writes. For one, there are too many characters. We are told about the conflict from both religious sides, but also from factions within both sides. Too many people, with too many differing ideals - unfortunately, many of their names were too similar! Will's story is the strongest in the book and thankfully is the most prominent. However, this is far too swamped in the politics of others that you grow distant from him. `Crusade' is split into three parts, perhaps it would have been better in 3 separate books, each ending on a high? Instead, it feels like Young had to put all of it in one novel as that is the only way enough things can happen to justify the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crusade, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author has written this book in a way that makes it difficult to put down as it keeps you interested in what happens next·Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wouldbe templar, 17 April 2012
By 
CLCAULFIELD (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although it is difficult to appreciate the policies and mode of living as a templar, the Brethren Trilogy makes it easier to understand what is was like to "take up the cross". Will Campbell becomes very real but you share his frustration in not beconmming a Templar quickly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crusade (The second book of the Brethren Trilogy), 26 July 2010
By 
Mr. O. F. Samaan "SamS" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This second book of the Crusade trilogy carries on perfectly from the first book. As the first book, this one is very good - the characters have depth, the storyline has credibility, and it was a page-turner from beginning to end. It is clear Robyn Young has done a lot of research into this time period, as you become immersed into the story and really feel that you are there.

If you are a fan of the first book, you will really enjoy this one. This is a great story with great characters, and overall this is well written, gripping, and a great read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 May 2008
I have to say, this is much better than the first book. While the focus was more on the Christian side in Brethren, Crusade was much more balanced on both sides. Readers (myself included) are taken into the political chaos that was the Temple and the inner circle of the Mamluk bigwigs. I am myself quite familiar historically with the fall of Acre and it was pleasant to see Robyn weaving fact and fiction beautifully such that the story plot flows without any problems. Bring on Requiem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars crusade, 26 Sep 2009
By 
Gordon A. Campbell (Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The stuffs good . A knight who struggles with chastity and growing up angst.
The superiority of the religious classes fighting for God.
Realising adults are vulnerable. Pedestals falling.
Shame Will didnt come from Argyll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crusade - Not as good as it sounds, 7 Mar 2010
By 
L. Hampson "Les" (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Crusade (Brethren Trilogy)

I was given the third book of the series as a Christmas present, so bought the first two myself. Brethren, the first of the trilogy, was probably a 4/5, but I found this book harder going as it kept referring back to things that had happened in Brethren. In my opinion, this made the book lose some of its fast moving action, all so that somebody can read the book as a stand alone novel - you wouldn't read 'Lord of the Rings - Two Towers' that way though! The other thing that I found quite strange was the huge leaps in time, years in some cases - what happened in that time?

I'll have to read the 3rd book now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifient Crusade, 9 Mar 2009
wonderful ...i would recommend this to anyone!

Young writes a enthrilling tale which keeps you hooked right up to the last word. Definately lives up to expectation and is fitting in this trilogy!

MUST BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crusade (The Brethren Trilogy)
Crusade (The Brethren Trilogy) by Robyn Young (Paperback - 25 April 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews