Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a required college text.
The Velominati have compiled in one handy and humorous volume the entire anthropology of the dedicated club rider.

When today's club ride started our group was joined by a youngish woman I had not met before. I could see that she was properly kitted out in black bibs and a leZyne pump peeking out of her jersey pocket. No European posterior man satchel was to be...
Published 18 months ago by Harry Neuwirth (hneuwirth@mari...

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rule #1 Kindle books should be compatible with Kindles
A good book, works fine on my iPad but NOT my Kindle. Apparently this Kindle book, bought from the Amazon Kindle store isn't compatible with my Kindle. What's that all about then?
Published 6 months ago by Isetta Windsor


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant., 14 Sep 2014
By 
Matt the moaner (Southport, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
An excellent read and a book every road cyclist should own. We are the Velominati!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
By 
G. Morgan "gayle_london" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beautiful book - excellent quality. Every cyclist should own this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
Essential reading for anyone who dons the Lycra. Rule #5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny in places but did waffle on , some boring bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superbly thought out idea., 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very witty, clever piece of writing. So much of it was just like the mindset of people I know.
You just can't read it without relating the rules to each of your cycling buddies! I've already given a copy to one of my mates. The rest will get one for xmas. The best bit is that they won't know if I'm serious or just taking the mick!
"Baz"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful content - poor Kindle formatting, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For content, this book would get five stars. It's a very entertaining take on the unspoken rules of road riding. But the Kindle version is almost impossible to read. Each page is an image and you cannot scale the text. Given the font in the printed edition is very fine, on a Kindle it's really hard to read. I've tried on a Paperwhite, iPad mini kindle app and worst of all, the iPhone kindle app. So I'd suggest you buy the great content as a proper book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'd need to be a Velominazi to believe that the rules should be strictly adhered to., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
In the prologue to the book, it states that cycling is a mighty sport with a rich and complex history, that behind every racer, company, component or kit, there is a history, a legend - a reason to be passionate for its existence.That this is a sport steeped in tradition and yet fiercely modern, seeking advancement through science & technology.

Velominati is centred on the notion that this passion is the foundation for the enjoyment not only cycling, but life itself and that a sense of humour is a wonderful mechanism for developing and sustaining such a passion.

Although this is a book of rules it's through the rules that the humour really shines & as it states, you'd need to be a Velominazi to believe that the rules should be strictly adhered to. The rules are there as guidelines, points of discussion, style hints and traditions that have been merely formulated into words & then explained, reasoned and passionately argued, but with humour at the core.

Rule #12 - The correct number of bikes to own is n+1, where n is the number of bikes currently owned - this equation can also be written as s-1, where s is the number of bikes owned that would result in separation from your partner.

Rule #50 - Facial hair is to be carefully regulated. No full beards, no moustaches. Goatees are permitted only if your name starts with Marco and ends with Pantani, or if your head is intentionally or unintentionally bald. Also one may never shave on the morning of an important race, as it saps your virility, and you need that to kick @£$%.

Rule #24 - Speeds and distances shall be referred to in Kilometres, apart from allowing you to reference professional races in the proper context, it has the added bonus of making you appear to race faster & longer.

The ninety-one rules that feature in the published book, have evolved over the years on the website and are not in order of importance. Because of this when the book was put together it was decided to group them according to a theme creating five sections: The Disciple, The Ride, The Bike, The Aesthete, & The Hardmen. This gives the rules a heading to loosely follow allowing the velominati's philosophy to be expanded on, and for their knowledge and passion for what is not merely a sport, or a means of transport - but a way of life, that can be defined by their five principal aspects;

1) The best way to become a better cyclist is to ride your bike, as often & as serious as is possible

2) Its history is held in reverence, and the current culture is to be treated with the same humility as of those whose shoulders we stand upon.

3) Approach the sport with the wisdom that evolution is key to survival, that the way things were done, need not be how we do them. love the tradition, embrace the future.

4) We believe aesthetics play a key role in building motivation. In practising to become the best rider you can, you ride your bike through all the seasons & if you look the part, you will feel it, if you look good, you'll feel good.

5) This, the most important, is the believe that in order to best achieve the first four, you need a healthy and possibly sinister sense of humour.

The last one is also key to enjoying this book, I know this is an extremely niche book, but if you like cycling, with its style and heritage, its authenticity and wisdom you'll absolutely get and love this book.

This will improve your cycling better than any performance enhancing chemist's set, or any of the latest titanium/carbon fibre/latest wonder frame material and for a lot less cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY ON A KINDLE! Otherwise, a good book, 14 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. Simon Paddon "Simon" (Barnstaple, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good book, and lots of fun, but heed a warning- DO NOT BUY ON A KINDLE! The light and small writing simply do not work, and spoil it massively. I ended up squinting and really struggling to read anything on it; like I say, it is a good book, just don't get it for the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super book with great irony to cyclingrules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great sense of humour, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good advice throughout but good humour too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple
The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple by The Velominati (Hardcover - 20 Jun 2013)
Used & New from: £24.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews