Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a required college text.
The Velominati have compiled in one handy and humorous volume the entire anthropology of the dedicated club rider.

When today's club ride started our group was joined by a youngish woman I had not met before. I could see that she was properly kitted out in black bibs and a leZyne pump peeking out of her jersey pocket. No European posterior man satchel was to be...
Published 18 months ago by Harry Neuwirth (hneuwirth@mari...

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rule #1 Kindle books should be compatible with Kindles
A good book, works fine on my iPad but NOT my Kindle. Apparently this Kindle book, bought from the Amazon Kindle store isn't compatible with my Kindle. What's that all about then?
Published 6 months ago by Isetta Windsor


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a required college text., 23 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
The Velominati have compiled in one handy and humorous volume the entire anthropology of the dedicated club rider.

When today's club ride started our group was joined by a youngish woman I had not met before. I could see that she was properly kitted out in black bibs and a leZyne pump peeking out of her jersey pocket. No European posterior man satchel was to be found on her clean and silent steed. Her tires were properly aligned over the wheels. Her barely padded saddle was slammed back, level, and 8 cm above her bar tops. The appointed hour of departure arrived and she, sitting casually deliberate on her top tube, suggested we delay not even a second. No sooner had we rolled out than my worst fears were realized. Despite her modesty ("Oh, I only ride once a week and I'm not comfortable in groups"), she quickly served large helpings of the V; Dropping us like bad habits on the first inclines, swooping down off camber switchbacks and taking her turns in the wind with nary a thought.

Having just read "The Rules" I recognized her for what she was, The Woman with the Hammer and a true Velominata Rule Fundamentalist.

THIS is anthropology. Leave the kinship rituals of long forgotten aboriginals to others and take a couple of hours to learn about your neighbors. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL in the real sense, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
Just try not to laugh at this book. If you're a hard core cyclist you'll realise that every word is shamefully (or joyously) true. If you're not then what are you doing with your life?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new bible, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
Brilliant book which explains lots of cycling history and etiquette.... A copy should be sent to every cyclist in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Merckx We Trust, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
If you are interested in cycling, and want to read from those with a passion for the sport, and the way of life, then this is the book for you. If you seek knowledge of excellence, history, heritage, culture, dedication, and anything else, related to dishing out hurt from your legs as you peddle just that bit harder, then this is the book for you. If you want to be amused, amazed, entertained, and suprised then this is the book for you.

It is a beautifully bound, sacred text, handed down from Mount Velomis. Buy it, read it, treasure it.

Vive la Vie Velominatus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obey the Rules, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
With tongue very firmly planted in several different cheeks, the rules offer guidance for a cycling devotee.
Funny, factual (sort of!) & well worth the price of admission. The Keepers have managed to take the website & rolled it into a fantastic looking book.
Highly recommended & should be added to your list of books that must be read before you die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyclist? Read this book., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
A most valuable addition to a cycling library. No, the most valuable book on road cycling. Except for maybe "Tomorrow, We Ride" by
Jean Bobet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rule #1 Kindle books should be compatible with Kindles, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book, works fine on my iPad but NOT my Kindle. Apparently this Kindle book, bought from the Amazon Kindle store isn't compatible with my Kindle. What's that all about then?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rules, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
New to cycling I had a desire to do things right. To tread lightly with all due respect to tradition and to those well versed in this wonderful sport. The Rules gave me the framework with which I could confidently move forward.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny book, because it's true!!!, 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great read! A tongue in cheek look at the world of cycling and us cyclists, maybe, or is every word completely true that it states the facts that actually separate us cyclists from people who ride bikes. I have been a cyclist for 30 years and I on reading this vastly entertaining book I must admit to my toes curling a little bit on reading some of the rules! It's a beautiful looking book and a great tea break read, also if left on your coffee table it will show people how hardcore you really are 😉
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He is an avid cyclist and i thought this sounded like a nice humorous approach to the sport, 7 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
After reading a lot about this online I decided to buy this book for my dad for Christmas. He is an avid cyclist and i thought this sounded like a nice humorous approach to the sport.

He loved it and insisted on repeating all of the best rules to me on a regular basis.

If you like cycling or know someone who does then this is the book for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple
The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple by The Velominati (Hardcover - 20 Jun 2013)
Used & New from: £24.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews