Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a required college text.
The Velominati have compiled in one handy and humorous volume the entire anthropology of the dedicated club rider.

When today's club ride started our group was joined by a youngish woman I had not met before. I could see that she was properly kitted out in black bibs and a leZyne pump peeking out of her jersey pocket. No European posterior man satchel was to be...
Published 20 months ago by Harry Neuwirth (hneuwirth@mari...

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rule #1 Kindle books should be compatible with Kindles
A good book, works fine on my iPad but NOT my Kindle. Apparently this Kindle book, bought from the Amazon Kindle store isn't compatible with my Kindle. What's that all about then?
Published 9 months ago by Isetta Windsor


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be a required college text., 23 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
The Velominati have compiled in one handy and humorous volume the entire anthropology of the dedicated club rider.

When today's club ride started our group was joined by a youngish woman I had not met before. I could see that she was properly kitted out in black bibs and a leZyne pump peeking out of her jersey pocket. No European posterior man satchel was to be found on her clean and silent steed. Her tires were properly aligned over the wheels. Her barely padded saddle was slammed back, level, and 8 cm above her bar tops. The appointed hour of departure arrived and she, sitting casually deliberate on her top tube, suggested we delay not even a second. No sooner had we rolled out than my worst fears were realized. Despite her modesty ("Oh, I only ride once a week and I'm not comfortable in groups"), she quickly served large helpings of the V; Dropping us like bad habits on the first inclines, swooping down off camber switchbacks and taking her turns in the wind with nary a thought.

Having just read "The Rules" I recognized her for what she was, The Woman with the Hammer and a true Velominata Rule Fundamentalist.

THIS is anthropology. Leave the kinship rituals of long forgotten aboriginals to others and take a couple of hours to learn about your neighbors. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOL in the real sense, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
Just try not to laugh at this book. If you're a hard core cyclist you'll realise that every word is shamefully (or joyously) true. If you're not then what are you doing with your life?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new bible, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
Brilliant book which explains lots of cycling history and etiquette.... A copy should be sent to every cyclist in the UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a book that cyclists must read, 5 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
I have a collection of cycling books that now dominates my bookshelves with topics ranging from biographies to race histories to cycling humour.
This book is without a doubt a definite keeper, it will be referred to on a regular basis and it will always be with a wry smile on my face.
"The Rules" can be seen by some as tongue in cheek commentary on aspects of cycling but behind every rule thought has been put into it
Rule #28 discusses socks and what colour they should be. A bit anal I thought but was then told by a good friend that when he used to ride time-trials you HAD to wear white socks, ride without socks or not ride.
The rules aren't in chronological order but are grouped by category - The Disciple, The Ride, The Bike and so on - and make for a very entertaining and thought provoking read. Some rules are aesthetically based some are psychologically based
My favourite rule is rule# 5. Since applying this rule to my own cycling, I have done better times and enjoyed the ride more.
Some people will no doubt see this book as merely a cycling parody and something to be flicked through in a book shop and then put down as it for someone else. However there's plenty in this book for any cyclist to get their teeth into and have a laugh at themselves when they think "Oh my god....I do that".... But there's also the flip side of "Yeah...maybe I SHOULD do that"
Definitely a recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obey the Rules, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
With tongue very firmly planted in several different cheeks, the rules offer guidance for a cycling devotee.
Funny, factual (sort of!) & well worth the price of admission. The Keepers have managed to take the website & rolled it into a fantastic looking book.
Highly recommended & should be added to your list of books that must be read before you die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rule #1 Kindle books should be compatible with Kindles, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book, works fine on my iPad but NOT my Kindle. Apparently this Kindle book, bought from the Amazon Kindle store isn't compatible with my Kindle. What's that all about then?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cyclist? Read this book., 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
A most valuable addition to a cycling library. No, the most valuable book on road cycling. Except for maybe "Tomorrow, We Ride" by
Jean Bobet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have been told about this book then you need to read it., 27 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
If you are a neophyte in the ways of the Velominati this book is THE required reading. You may have heard of The Rules before, particularly #5 which is the most important. Did you realise that there are a further 90 rules you must master before you become a true Cyclist? Not rules in the trivial manner of the Highway Code (e.g. Rule #67: 'Be aware of traffic coming up behind you' - doh!) but far more salient matters such as Rule #3, which I am adhering to here (look it up).

You will be surprised to find, as you advance your studies, that you already knew some of The Rules without knowing they were Rules. For example, who hasn't heard of Rule #12, or Rule #10?

This compilation of The Rules will not only enlighten and educate, it will also amuse. I have laughed out loud many times whilst enriching my immersion in the way of the Velominati.

It'll also look damn good on your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Merckx We Trust, 21 Jun. 2013
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
If you are interested in cycling, and want to read from those with a passion for the sport, and the way of life, then this is the book for you. If you seek knowledge of excellence, history, heritage, culture, dedication, and anything else, related to dishing out hurt from your legs as you peddle just that bit harder, then this is the book for you. If you want to be amused, amazed, entertained, and suprised then this is the book for you.

It is a beautifully bound, sacred text, handed down from Mount Velomis. Buy it, read it, treasure it.

Vive la Vie Velominatus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We are Cyclists - the rest of the world merely ride their bikes, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple (Hardcover)
If you are a 'roadie', or 'carbon fairy' as opposed to a 'mud monkey' - you'll soon find yourself quoting the rules and finding yourself hooked by the (heretofore) unsaid rules of road cycling.

The book illustrates "The Rules" of Road Cycling - not the rules of racing, they are far less philosophically interesting - that have evolved over years and miles in the saddles. The illustrations are funny, full of 'in' cycling references, and very well observed.

The Rules are empirical - they are The Rules because the *are* the rules. There is no central body overseeing - the Velominati are merely collecting and curating the way things are in Road Cycling - and what a hoot. You'll be quoting "Rule 5!" to people within days.

A fantastic book to dip into again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple
The Rules: The Way of the Cycling Disciple by The Velominati (Hardcover - 20 Jun. 2013)
Used & New from: £3.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews