Customer Reviews


742 Reviews
5 star:
 (540)
4 star:
 (145)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are all made of stars
I almost didn't read this book. Something about the blurb put me off, 'So when, aged seventeen, Alex is stopped at Dover customs with 113 grams of marijuana, an urn full of ashes on the passenger seat, and an entire nation in uproar, he's fairly sure he's done the right thing . . .' It sounded a bit too clever for it own good, a novel that would be all style with little...
Published 22 months ago by Quicksilver

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A better second half
I found the first half of this book laborious. However the second half was touching, warm and discussed a major ethical issue in an intelligent sensitive manner.
Published 15 months ago by vee


‹ Previous | 168 69 7075 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great read, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe Versus Alex Woods (Paperback)
This was another of our book club choices and initially I was put off by the cover and the title, which looked to me more like a book for teenagers.
How wrong I was! Beautifully written, all the characters are completely convincing and the story so unusual and almost surreal. I was gripped from the first page by Alex's life experiences, both funny and heartbreaking. His description of school life and bullying rang horribly true. The ending had me reaching for the tissues, but it was uplifting and perfectly judged. All the book club members (about 15) enjoyed it immensely - something which very rarely happens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wide appeal, 10 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Universe Versus Alex Woods (Paperback)
A good book, easy read with interesting characters. Not sure what genre you would put this into but it would appeal to most readers who just like a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the wifes, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
order these for the wife's kindle as she is always reading easy to take several of these on holiday saves space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GAVIN Extence, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never read this author before but after reading this brilliant book I will certainly read more if I come across any.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Loud revisited, 7 Aug 2013
If you have read "Extremely Loud, Incredibly Close" (and I mean read the novel and not just watched the dreadful film) you will find much of this novel very familiar, and you may therefore find it uncomfortably close to plagiarism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innocent, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the innocence and purity of Alex. A book that makes and you think about doing what is right and what matters. A delightful refreshing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny !, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Something different! I really enjoyed this book from Page 1. The author and I must have met in another life because he exactly knows how to make me laugh. The theme, whilst black, is treated factually and one cannot be offended in the least. The characters all have depth and I had to roll my eyes and say 'spot on ,mate' at the descriptions of the adolescents in particular. My heart went out to Alex when he lost the book..could it get any worse? But in the end all was well. The book had a decent conclusion instead of one of the nefarious 'end it how you like ' jobs. In all, a well-constructed book which moved at a decent pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cracking read, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book-very thought provoking. Quite off beat in approach and will appeal to a great number of people of all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a heartwarming read, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautifully written story that grows in emotion, humour and content. I loved the main character, but also fell in love with all the others to, by the end of the novel! I would highly recommend this read to anyone, young or old, it is very thought provoking and would make for a great book club discussion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youngster to Adult, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe Versus Alex Woods (Paperback)
A Very interesting and unusual story, however the result was sad which spoilt the whole book. Also the quality of the paper was not what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 168 69 7075 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Universe Versus Alex Woods
The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
£4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews