Customer Reviews


688 Reviews
5 star:
 (499)
4 star:
 (138)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are all made of stars
I almost didn't read this book. Something about the blurb put me off, 'So when, aged seventeen, Alex is stopped at Dover customs with 113 grams of marijuana, an urn full of ashes on the passenger seat, and an entire nation in uproar, he's fairly sure he's done the right thing . . .' It sounded a bit too clever for it own good, a novel that would be all style with little...
Published 18 months ago by Quicksilver

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A better second half
I found the first half of this book laborious. However the second half was touching, warm and discussed a major ethical issue in an intelligent sensitive manner.
Published 11 months ago by vee


‹ Previous | 161 62 6369 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this!, 11 April 2013
This is a gem of a book. It has wonderful characters and is superbly written, very serious and yet very funny as we share Alex's experiences, thoughts and feelings. The ending is very sensitively handled. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story and characters stay with you after you're finished..., 5 April 2013
By 
K. J. Noyes "Katy Noyes" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It starts at the end, with 17 year old Alex being stopped by the police. Then he rewinds the narrative to explain his life up to this point.
I got totally sucked into Alex's story. His life as a series of chance events (being only the second person ever to be hit by a meteor, developing epilepsy), all leading him towards the friendship of Mr Peterson and to his maturation into a young man with incredibly adult and difficult choices to make.

The book is all about chance and choice - what happens to us affects who we are. Our choices stay with us forever and have to be thought through.

By the end I had a deep respect for Alex and the adult he had made himself become.

A touching story, one I couldn't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptionally original, 25 Mar 2013
By 
G. L. Haggett "glynlhaggett" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
An exceptionally original take on the life of the outsider. A child with an absent father and a clairvoyant mother is struck by a meteorite. Add in his epilepsy and an unlikely but essentially credible relationship with a wise elderly neighbour and you have the makings of a fine story.

On one level, this is a pretty standard rites of passage tale; on another level, it is a substantial work of imagination which requires a significant suspension of disbelief. However, it goes to the very heart of the human condition and does not shy away from the big questions about the quality of life and whether or not life is worth preserving under any circumstances. It deals with the need for support, a sense of belonging, love and kindness, and decries material preoccupations. In that sense, I felt the book might be providing a catharsis for the author. There is nothing wrong with that, of course; however, I did find the faux naif voice a little distracting. While Alex is clearly intended to give the impression of being wise beyond his years in some things while being immature in others, the breadth of understanding he develops over the course of the book is unconvincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual but first class read, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A good mixture of tragedy and comedy and very well written. The characters were very well presented and came across as genuine people. I liked the idea of starting at the end and then working the story through from beginning. It worked well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, easy to read, sensitive and carefully written. Funny, sad and brilliant - great for anyone of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking read, 3 Mar 2013
By 
K. Willis (norwich norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
Reminiscent of Mark Haddon but intelligently asking whether or not we get to decide when to die. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and thought provoking read, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Beds United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book and could not put it down. I found all the characters very intriguing and believable and the plot absorbing. The story picks up on a whole range of issues from epilepsy, bullying, death, bereavement and friendship in a very down to earth way. It is an emotional rollercoaster - at times very funny and also very moving.

I look forward to reading more of Gavin's work in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read. Witty, sad and empathetic. You have every sympathy for Alex as the situation progresses. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 2 Mar 2013
An inspiring, life-affirming read that reminds us of the good that humans can do... Heart-warming, true to life and wonderfully written...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS BOOK!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I never give five star reviews, never! That is ... Oh bugger, just read this book. it is life affirming and wonderful and Alex is a great invention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 161 62 6369 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Universe Versus Alex Woods
The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extence (Hardcover - 9 May 2013)
8.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews