Customer Reviews


1,563 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,006)
4 star:
 (390)
3 star:
 (101)
2 star:
 (43)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
What a book. It is some time since I have read a John Grisham, Mainly because I had pretty much read them all. When I fell across this one in the library I grabbed it and read it as soon as I got home. Now I started it on Saturday night and spent ally day Sunday reading it. I was actually planning on working on my website rather than reading, so that will show you how...
Published 3 months ago by Wendy Jones

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Well, the book’s poor enough – being slow and unmemorable – but I have a major beef with his publishers or, more specifically, with whichever moron publicist decided to give away the novel’s only surprise … on the front cover and in the blurb on the back cover. I kid you not.

Sycamore Row is a follow-up (of sorts) to A Time to...
Published 2 months ago by Ms P. E. Vernon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jake Brigance returns, 16 July 2014
By 
Steve (worcs, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Grisham at his best.....well he is going back to one of his early novels for a follow up story for this novel. It is a couple years down the line from 'A Time To Kill', and still suffering the after effects of that episode Jake Brigance gets drawn into a battle over a Will left by an eccentric old millionaire. The old man has left nearly all of his estate to the housekeeper and cut out his family before committing suicide.
It's a simple story line, that opens a can of worms that keeps getting more intriguing. At times the court room stuff drags on a little but to be fair to Grisham he keeps it as short as possible as am sure a book true lily representing a court case would be veeeeery long and dull!
Grisham is a great author and this was a pleasant return to a character that was intriguing the first time round.....perhaps he should do it for a couple more of his previous best sellers. Grisham doing what he does best...courtroom thrillers that keeps you guessing just when you think you know it.....despite knowing the ending will be a fairly happy one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage Grisham but still a good read, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read many of John Grisham's early publications and enjoyed them all immensely. But his more recent offerings have been, in my humble opinion, fairly mediocre. So I was hoping that his return to Clanton, Mississippi and the charming character of Jake Brigance, who was first introduced in A Time to Kill, would re-capture the drama and suspense that made those early books so enjoyable.

Unfortunately that didn't quite happen. I found the book very slow in the beginning and I was about 100 pages in before I found myself beginning to really engage with the story. However I really admire that Grisham does not shy away from controversial issues such as racism. He confronts it head on, highlighting its prevalence thus challenging the reader to acknowledge its existence.

Certainly not my favourite John Grisham novel but once it gets going, it's a decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars that old formula, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got bored half way through and had to jump to the last few chapters as it was all very predictable unfortunately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strong, good, but a tad repetetive, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sycamore Row (Paperback)
Marketed as the sequel to Grisham’s first novel ‘A Time to Kill’, Sycamore Row joins the same lawyer from the earlier book three years later. Beyond the reappearance of the same characters and some themes though the plot is entirely distinct and could easily have been told about another young lawyer in a southern town in the late 1980s.

The main issue with this story to me is that it's the 1980s and about racism. It feels like this is a subject that Grisham has now covered as nauseum - perhaps I'm not meant to have read his entire output, but it feels like he's covering the same ground again. The 1980s also feel far to recent to me, admittedly a British reader born in that decade, and I find it hard to believe the racism presented was really still around at that point (although from recent news coverage perhaps it still is). In my head, the setting kept getting pushed back 20 years to the sixties, which felt a more natural fit for the story, regardless of what the actual situation may have been.

It was good however to get another courtroom-based drama from Grisham, as that tends to be where he's at his best. The structure was good and brings the plot along well, and the book doesn't suffer from some of the tropes that have appeared in several of the author's earlier works. Despite the realism, there is one aspect of the conclusion that I found irritating and unsatisfying, but I'm nervous of mentioning it specifically for fear of it being deemed a spoiler.

Generally enjoyable, and nice to be able to relax with a solid courtroom drama that I could digest at a nice pace. I've now read all Grisham's output to date and can look forward to reading the next book on release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting trial story, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Grisham was one of the main influences when I was writing my novel, Crucial Evidence as he expresses so well what the work of a lawyer is about. In this novel Jake Brigance is once again battling racial prejudice when a rich white male, Seth Hubbard, kills himself and leaves the bulk of his wealth to his cleaning lady, a younger black female, and specifically disinherited his children and grandchildren. Hubbard has instructed Jake to fight any attempt by his family to set aside the will. The trial has its ups and downs and illustrates one of the interesting things about this type of novel - the reader is encouraged to form a view of the witnesses, the judges rulings and the jury's verdict.
Grisham understands the way lawyers work,( something that writers of police procedurals don't often show in their descriptions of police work) and their was one passage in Sycamore Row which I thought reflected my own feelings about being an advocate. Jake's wife asks him 'Why do you want to be a trial lawyer?'

And he gives this answer, 'Because I love it. It's what being a lawyer is all about. Being in a courtroom, in front of a jury, is like being in an arena, or on the field. The competition is fierce. The stakes are high. The gamesmanship is intense. There will be a winner and a loser. There is a rush of adrenaline each time the jury is led in and seated.'

Absolutely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time for John Grisham to retire!, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Gregor Drummond (Midlothian Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sycamore Row (Paperback)
This book is just another in an increasingly depressing line of trash, which a once great author is trading on his distant past. He somehow still believes that simply having the germ of an idea will somehow develop into a real story. He should wake up and face the fact that he is a has been and stop robbing the public, who are giving him even more millions of dollars for churning out rubbish.

Do us all a favour and retire.

Trees are much to valuable to waste on this drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty boring really, 3 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Roy F. Davis (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could not get into this story at all and yet I do like Grisham. It seems a bit let down by an uninteresting start and does not pick up or if it does I had lost interest by then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham back to his best..., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grisham has had a flat period for a few years. The excitement had gone from his books. That has changed, he is now back to his early style where you can't put your book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Middle should have been edited, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good continuation of A Time to Kill but overly long. A little bit of editing would have sorted this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Grisham!, 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to devour Grisham's books but hadn't read one for a while - this is Grisham at his best. A small town lawyer in the Deep South fighting a seemingly impossible case for the underdog. How can he possibly win?

The drama kicks off when unpleasant womaniser Seth Hubbard (white guy) commits suicide and leaves his entire $24 million fortune to his black house keeper, deliberately cutting out his two kids and grandchildren - he's planned the whole thing to perfection and even hand picked the small time lawyer to represent his new handwritten will. To most of the racially divided townsfolk it's 'obvious' the maid had to have been giving him 'special treatment' and working some kind of persuasive magic on the cancer riddled old man...but of course there's a lot more to the story than that!

I found it a bit of a struggle to keep track with the many characters in this book, but the writing and pace are flawless. I figured out the 'truth' about three quarters of the way through, but typically Grisham keeps up the tension in his classic 'will they find the vital information and get it to the court in time?' way.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sycamore Row
Sycamore Row by John Grisham (Hardcover - 22 Oct 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews