Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
16
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2013
Read from library.read others in series & agree with reviewer that the small town seems to have serial killer every winter. Some repetition.Discrepancies eg pescoli in bedroom with bianca who hadnt let cisco out so she lets him and sturges out, feeds them. Then she leaves biancas room to go to basement! But she was last in kitchen. At Sheriff scene snow wipes out tracks but 2 days later ski tracks visible from judge scene even though we know took place before Sheriff. I like the style of writing and the story with all the red herrings. It challenges my brain to solve who did it. I dont think book worse than others (in fact its much better than authors early stuff that has just been re issued.). Of course this is just my opinion but I enjoyed it despite issues I pointed out. Its like meeting old friends and I like that the leads are 2 female cops.
Ps. Murderer is person I felt was the baddy in previous 2 books. He was so controlling which matched the unnamed baddy when we saw him do PT etc.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
This was a first book by Lisa Jackson as I have my regular authors. I was very impressed with her writing , and really enjoyed her story.it kept me coming back to the book not wanting to put it down.Will buy another one and do recommend it to others .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
The writing style of this book felt to me like a first draft novel by an amateur writer, and it would really have benefited from a strong editor. For example:

1. Almost every person or animal which is mentioned in the book, whether or not they actually feature in the plot, is named and given a short factual bio. I didn't count, but the cast list must run into the hundreds. It is confusing, stylistically clunky, and detracts from the characters who matter.

2. The book eschews the approach of "show don't tell". The (many) back stories and relationships are fact-heavy summaries and feel like an author's list of plot notes.

3. There's lots of repetition in the observations and turns of phrase. For example:

(a) on pages 8, 10 and 12 one of the characters melts no fewer than three times ("He looked up at her and her heart melted", "He touched a dark eyebrow and she felt her heart melt" and "His breath was warm, his arms strong, and she felt the urge to melt into them");

(b) lots of descriptions feature things being a century old ("the one hundred year old floorboards" on p109, "century-old tracks" on p110, "the house had been built over a hundred years earlier" on p167); and

(c) recycling joke about characters' names ("the lawyer, Cromwell Buckner the Fourth - really, would you name a baby that four time" on page 59, and "Carnival, really who would do that to a kid?" on page 232).

4. In the first few chapters, people keep feeling tearful. That could potentially be interesting or dramatic, but the device becomes repetitive and the characters' psychology is poorly explained (eg "She felt suddenly close to tears. Stupid tears. Woman tears" on page 12).

5. A lot of the descriptions add nothing and are not interesting (eg "Do you have diet-coke? No pepsi." or three-quarters of a page discussing whether a particular child ought to be using a booster seat). Contrasts with, say, Lee Child who often produces rather interesting or wry observations out of routine subject matter.

All that said, it wasn't terrible. There's an okay story in it, it helped to pass a couple of days on a quiet vacation, and the ending was reasonably exciting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2016
I love all of Lisa Jackson's books and the characters. Intense, the books cannot be put down until you reach the end of the story. Would recommend them to anybody who likes crime stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Seemed as though everyone's problems and family matters were in every chapter, almost word for word so I ended skip reading. Not one of her best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
One of the worst Lisa Jackson books I have read, and I have read most of them. Too many characters, very disjointed. Am struggling to finish it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2016
Really gripping stories the whole series is great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
excellent as usual,waiting for the next one!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Fantastic everyone is a great book
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
Everything excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse