Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


118 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Pointless
After reading entry 19, I decided that the first thing I would do after finishing this book is write a long and pointless review for it on Amazon.

I've been unreasonably excited to get my hands on 'The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World' ever since discovering it was being written (thank you, twitter), and now that it has arrived and I've read the entire...
Published 21 months ago by whatdoiputhere

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat Underwhelming
Given how unsatisfying most TV tie-in books are, especially non-fiction ones, it was foolish to get my hopes up too much for this book. But this is Pointless, one of the most charming and funny shows on TV! I'm massive fan of the show, so of course I was quite excited by the prospect of this book.

Inevitably, it doesn't quite deliver. There are certainly good...
Published 19 months ago by Martin S. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

118 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Pointless, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
After reading entry 19, I decided that the first thing I would do after finishing this book is write a long and pointless review for it on Amazon.

I've been unreasonably excited to get my hands on 'The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World' ever since discovering it was being written (thank you, twitter), and now that it has arrived and I've read the entire thing from cover to cover in one sitting, I can gladly inform you that it exceeded all expectations. Xander and Richard, the fabulously charming, intelligent, witty and handsome gentlemen that they are, have really outdone themselves.

They make some surprisingly valid points about many things you've never even thought about, and while I disagree with some of them (*cough* readysaltedcrispsarethebestflavour *cough*) in most cases they really are spot on. And they're very funny too. Each of the 100 things has a short section dedicated to it which has been written up by one of the two men, indicated by whichever of their disembodied faces stares out at you from beside the chapter title. This is a system I failed to recognise until about a third of the way through the book, which is why I'm mentioning it in the review, as a heads-up.

As well as this, there are even some nice quiz questions and pointless facts, and even some cryptic clues for anybody who no longer values their sanity of free time. Luckily there are also answers in the back.

One final note to Mr Osman, just in case he ever chances upon this: Don't act innocent - I've been to a Pointless recording and I had a remarkably good view of your very brightly coloured rainbow socks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I actually counted down the days until this book was released and I was not disappointed. A fantastically funny countdown of Richard and Xander's 100 most pointless things - if you enjoy Richard's rants on the show then you'll love this book. I downloaded the Kindle version and was curious as to how the Q&A parts would work but its fine, you just click the link and it redirects you to the answer. Also there are a few hidden gems in this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good fun read, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
I laughed so much reading this book, its really clever and funny. A lot of interesting facts too, random stuff that I've been telling everyone I know!
The best bit is that you can share various topics with whoever you want (ie. shouting at football on tv came in handy one day...!)
There is a few questions and quizzy bits that are fun for the family to play, I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys pointless or just enjoys being entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pointless review, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
If you like the quiz show, then you will like this little book. Enhance your pointless knowledge.
Great for the after Xmas dinner fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clever and very amusing, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
I bought this for a gift at Christmas and wasn't sure how it would be received. I didn't need to worry it kept the recipient laughing all over Christmas. Richard and Alexander are both very clever and this book is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
When I saw this book I knew it was the perfect gift for my 13 year old son who loves the tv programme and also retains masses of useless facts. He had read it within days of getting it - another bonus (getting him to read!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good it gets a zero, 26 Jan 2013
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
This book is not pointless. In fact it is full of good points very well made and in a way that had me frequently laughing uproariously and reciting bits to anyone who would listen. Even the chapter headings make me laugh. It is not just 'one of those books based on a series you enjoy that will be a good extra pressie at Christmas/Birthdays to pad out the more expensive items'. Oh no. It is clever, hilarious and packed with facts and compulsive quizes.

The pictures that denote the author of each chapter are a nice touch but not necessary as it is impossible not to hear Richard Osman's voice as he denounces pandas or razors (and their increasing blade-age) or any such beef that has you nodding along gleefully. Likewise Alexander Armstrong's jovial flights of fancy have his DNA (Deoxyribonucleic acid - well done if you got that at home) all over them.

I highly recommend this book and suggest you don't relegate it to the bathroom.

One final point to Mr Osman - how would we cope at the '99p shop' without 1p pieces?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amusing and informative, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
Reasonably priced and rapidly dispatched. a great item to while away 'loo' time. worth a look when you have a few light hearted minutes to spare
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pointless things, 9 Feb 2013
By 
John Smith "johno" (devon england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
Easy to read and very entertaining and a good book to dip in and out of and full of interesting pointless facts,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this program, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 100 Most Pointless Things in the World: A Pointless Book Written by the Presenters of the Hit BBC 1 TV Show (Hardcover)
so I had to purchase the book - when people are round & you feel like throwing the odd question at them it can be a laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews