Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable reading
Jill Paton Walsh has taken Dorothy L Sayer's novels onwards after the end of the Second World War and into a more modern age. She has had to adjust her inherited characters to reflect the social changes of the time. In addition, because she writes in the present day she has to reflect present social attitudes more than Sayers did because we expect our modern authors to...
Published 7 months ago by Anne

versus
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A THIRD CLASS DEGREE
After Paton Walsh's two previous successful Wimseys based on Sayers fragments, which I thought good and have re-read with pleasure, this was a real come down. The plot was bizarre without being comic. The whole thing felt written without the attention to period style and accuracy I would have expected. A number of obvious errors such as reference to Miss Lydgate's...
Published 6 months ago by Evelyn A Silber


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A THIRD CLASS DEGREE, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After Paton Walsh's two previous successful Wimseys based on Sayers fragments, which I thought good and have re-read with pleasure, this was a real come down. The plot was bizarre without being comic. The whole thing felt written without the attention to period style and accuracy I would have expected. A number of obvious errors such as reference to Miss Lydgate's hairpins when it was Miss de Vine whose hairpins wandered, and the gross error of the enquiry after Lord St George when Peter Wimsey could not have become duke without his death seemed ridiculous coming from so historically informed and astute a person - errors appearing within the space of a couple of pages, seemed to me to betray a lack of real commitment on the part of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable reading, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jill Paton Walsh has taken Dorothy L Sayer's novels onwards after the end of the Second World War and into a more modern age. She has had to adjust her inherited characters to reflect the social changes of the time. In addition, because she writes in the present day she has to reflect present social attitudes more than Sayers did because we expect our modern authors to reflect the way that we think now and reflect it into the past. This is hard going for any writer and presents a lot of issues for a series where class is a very important feature of the story and the setting.

I think that this novel succeeds admirably. Although I have read and loved the original novels for years I am very much enjoying these sequels. I enjoy meeting again the old characters and seeing them change, and also reading a good mystery novel.

I felt that Harriet and Peter were very recognisable and familiar to fans of the series. Their passion is undimmed and they approach things in a more mature light whilst retaining their integrity. I loved the way in which Harriet dealt with her son's lack of academic success and how difficult that Peter found it. I loved Harriet's internal monologue when she recounts how she breaks down social barriers between herself and Bunter to make her feel more comfortable but hasn't the courage to keep them up which would be more acceptable to him. It was a delight to see how they are coming to terms with Peter's new status.

The book is set in Oxford - the setting of my favourite of the original novels Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) but the author also includes lots of references to previous novels and includes plenty of previous characters. The familiarity of the cast and location, and the delight that I felt in meeting them again and seeing what the author had done with them was one of the delights of the novel.

The actual mystery is well enough done but nothing special. I was a bit bemused about what had happened to the police investigation whilst Peter did his own thing. I really couldn't anticipate the ending but I thought that the solution was very much in the spirit of the original novels.

I am a fan of the original series and also these sequels. I found this book absorbing and entertaining. A few continuity errors and a slightly weak plot in no war marred my total enjoyment of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was enjoyable to read once but ultimately disappointing; it's possibly time for Peter and Harriet to drive off into the sunset in peace. This series has gone at least one book too far. It's good to read that Peter is making a good job of being a Duke, and the sons seem to be turning out well. But enjoying that's much the same as the vaguely guilty enjoyment of following "The Archers". The plot with its reliance on Peter's previous cases (allegedly adapted by Harriet in her detective novels) is just too clever-clever. There are some grating anachronisms (ploughman's lunches in the very early 50s is the most glaring, and Jill Paton Walsh should at least have looked up about pubs in the Oxford area online before name-checking them.) I suppose you could argue that these are not errors but point to the fact that this is Oxford in an alternate universe or cloud cuckoo land and not the Oxford we know. Still, bottom line, none of these things would have mattered had we been swept up by a strong, fast-moving plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Much Loved Friends, 26 Dec 2013
Once again another welcome return to the world of Lord Peter Wimsey. The sequel books have never been quite as good as the original Dorothy L Sayers work (which I re read every year and remain superb), but I grew up with the characters and it is always very enjoyanle to return to that world and in my opinoin Jill Paton Walsh still captures the feel and rhytym of the original books.

You need to remember that this is now the 1950's not the 1920's but its still like having your favourite uncle over again - he may be 30 years older but he is still and always with be your favourite. Thank you JPW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheesey plot (pun intended), 19 Jan 2014
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author presumably thought it important to tie this back to Sayers' original novels, hence the return of various modus operandi (I know that's not the plural) from the original books plus a prurient interest in the main characters' sex life. I'm not sure she needed to bother because she's easily a good enough writer to plot and write a Wimsey book from scratch. It's not in the slightest believable, but then it's about a murder solving Duke married to a detective novelist. Anyway, I thoroughly enjoyed it and the only fault I can offer up is that Wimsey on more than one occasion pops into the pub for a ploughman's lunch. Seeing as the term wasn't invented by the Milk Marketing Board until the 1960s he is being somewhat anachronistic which is a shame given all the other period colour that is trowelled on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for Peter wimsey fans, 31 Dec 2013
I lived this. As a detective story it is a bit weak but for fans of the characters it is great fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough!, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A pleasant read but far short of DLS standards, and well below that of JPW's previous attempts to continue the LPW saga. Quit before you sink any further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Jill Paton Walsh's writing style which is good homage to Sayers while leaving out the long letters in French & Latin quotes that do tax the brain cells! The plot was amusingly far fetched & there were a few inconsistencies which grated a bit - surely the SCR of Shrewsbury would have known that if Harriet was a Duchess then gorgeous Jerry had died!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For fans only, 12 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Late Scholar (Lord Peter Wimsey) (Paperback)
This is noticeably weaker than the previous volumes in the series (which as a die-hard Sayers fan I much enjoyed). As other reviewers have pointed out there are numerous historical inaccuracies - for example, I think it unlikely gloves would have been used to handle a manuscript in the 1950s. Every couple of pages something grates, and the more formal relationships between people in the early 1950s are not captured. The plot turns on the manuscript but this is an underwhelming object and it's never clear why it is so valuable. That said, the writing is good, the dialogue well written, and it was a pleasure to settle back into Sayers' world. But definitely not the one to start with in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth a thoughtful read, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While I agree that some points were very clunky (how could the Shrewsbury dons not have known about St George's death since without it Harriet would not have been a Duchess, would Charles Parker, a rigorous reader of theology, really approve of the apologetics of C S Lewis) it is worth investigating some of the local "colour" - the 3 books Harriet buys, for instance, do comment on the themes of this book. Not JPW's very best, but well worth a thoughful read - and my Kindle copy was fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Late Scholar (Lord Peter Wimsey)
The Late Scholar (Lord Peter Wimsey) by Jill Paton Walsh (Paperback - 5 Jun 2014)
7.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews