Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First book I have seen explaining current economics for the layman
I am really pleased Peston found the time to write this book. I am a lay person in economics and as economic problems of one sort or another have dominated the news for recent decades it has been hard to understand what actually goes on in the banking system and the national economies. This book really does cover many topics of current interest - the credit crunch, the...
Published on 11 Oct 2012 by alapper

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is that it ?
The book is well written and explains the euro crisis well. The comments on China were New to me and I was thoroughly enjoying the book with 15 per cent to go. Then there was a fairly tiresome and unrelated tilt at Bob diamond. Then at 90 per cent read - it ended. It was as if somebody had stolen the last 10 per cent. No real answer to the question posed by the book or...
Published 22 months ago by Paul Compton


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First book I have seen explaining current economics for the layman, 11 Oct 2012
I am really pleased Peston found the time to write this book. I am a lay person in economics and as economic problems of one sort or another have dominated the news for recent decades it has been hard to understand what actually goes on in the banking system and the national economies. This book really does cover many topics of current interest - the credit crunch, the eurozone, USA, Japan, China.
Now I feel I understand a little of how derivatives and bonds work and why they were created, why Germany doesn't want eurobonds and that derivatives aren't just a side issue but a major part of the financial system, that banks reserves were incredibly low compared to what they were borrowing and lending (and why), that the eurozone and Japan really do have problems and so may China eventually. It was good to have all issues of the past two decades explained in detail, and even developments in 2012.
There are of course problems with it as both other reviewers have pointed out. It was obviously written in a bit of a rush and I would have liked more careful explanations at times but this seems a bit carping when I'm glad to read anyone really explaining the subject at all. The style is good with human interest among the drier economics and the odd amusing aside. It does seem a bit OTT pessimistic at times but I imagine this is due to his journalistic style (or perhaps the pessimism is justified?!) However as one reviewer has commented, it seems a bit odd that Peston explains the basic banking instability - that it can never pay more than a small proportion of its customers back simultaneously, so that if a bank is highly leveraged with tiny reserves it only needs one person crying 'wolf' to cause the pack of cards to come crashing down with queues on the streets - and then complains when other people don't like him crying 'wolf' at precisely such a point!
However for anyone with the slightest interest in our current economic situation then do read this book - it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the uninitiated, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book for people who have no experience, or very little knowledge of how the world's banking, economic and political systems correlate.

I found it to be easily accessible and very easy to remember the different topics that the author covers in enough detail to satisfy the readers thirst for knowledge but also not to lose them in a deluge of facts, figures and verbiage.

An excellent book, I would recommend it wholeheartedly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable,understandable and relevant., 21 Nov 2012
By 
Kenneth J. Morris (Burton-upon Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst this tome is a bit long it is worth reading from cover to cover. RP is always clear and takes a great deal of effort to explain all of the complicated financial wheezes/devices and downright criminal activities that contribute to our current financial predicament. If a reader wants to save time I suggest he/she goes direct to pp 392 - 415 to learn the "how to fix it" but I guarantee that afterwards they will go back and read the entire book. An excellent work by an author who knows what he is writing about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, especially if you're a dumbass with an interest in economics., 9 Nov 2012
By 
N. Lowman "Nick Lowman" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best book I've read in ages. I'm a bit of dumbass with an interest in economics, so those two combined means I spend a lot of time reading the business sections of newspapers with a confused look on my face. But not any longer. After reading this book my understanding of how finance works is so complete that I reckon I could get a job as banker, or the head of some European institution that gives unlimited German money to Greece and Spain in the hope they pay it back some day. The only downside is that before I read this book I was a keen Guardian reader but after finishing it, well, I found myself enjoying the Daily Mail a lot more. Not that I'm suggesting this book is for the Daily Mail reader. Just that after reading the facts, it possibly doesn't encourage you to support a financial union with other European countries (unless the union was with Germany, France, Finland and the Netherlands only), which I know is an issue popular with the readers of the Daily Mail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is that it ?, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Paul Compton (devon, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is well written and explains the euro crisis well. The comments on China were New to me and I was thoroughly enjoying the book with 15 per cent to go. Then there was a fairly tiresome and unrelated tilt at Bob diamond. Then at 90 per cent read - it ended. It was as if somebody had stolen the last 10 per cent. No real answer to the question posed by the book or indeed any attempt. It was if pesto had decided to go and make a cup of tea and not come back. Perhaps there are no answers ? Perhaps the title of the book is rhetorical ? In summary - great piece of economic literature, but not what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Misleading title, but an excellent book, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Brian R. Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Peston, the drawling Business Editor of the BBC, starts by reviewing the history of the financial crisis, often using striking analogues, with clear explanations of arcane concepts such as `collateralised debt obligations' and `credit derivatives', and shows how trading in debt of various kinds, helped by banks being allowed to increase their ratio of borrowing/lending to capital (`leverage'), came to dwarf trading of traditional `real' assets.

Bankers began to believe in their own infallibility and totally failed to read the lessons of history. Peston shows how, ignoring the principles of sound banking, they constructed ever more complicated financial products that would provide huge personal rewards, but were not fully understood by either those at the top of the organisations, or politicians and regulators. `Big beasts' such as Brown and Greenspan, as well as the IMF, were still proclaiming that everything was rosy up to a few weeks before disaster struck in 2008. A situation was eventually reached where it was all but impossible to make a realistic estimate of the risks involved, and hence factor it into prices. It was `helped' by the so-called Basel Rules (scathingly dissected by Peston) that enabled bankers to conceal the nature of their business. The result was an `Alice in Wonderland' world, where `assets' had the value that bankers said they had without any way of objectively measuring them.

Peston then turns to globalization. While recognising its good consequences (raising the standard of living in third world countries etc.) he also discusses the bad. It has given rise to the situation where a small number of countries, principally China, Japan and Germany, have consistently produced surpluses, and others, such as Britain, America and most of Europe, have consistently produced deficits. These `global imbalances', have exposed the economic frailties of the latter nations and are a major cause of the financial crisis, because instead of responding by becoming fitter and leaner (his analogy is with British Olympic athletes) the debtors have taken the `performance-enhancing' drug of borrowing more money, often from poor countries such as China. To wean ourselves off this addiction will be very painful.

Next under the spotlight is the Eurozone, the flawed construction that led investors to believe all debts of Eurozone countries were of equal value. This directly fueled the debt-driven construction boom in Ireland and Spain, and now denies countries the traditional remedy of devaluation to cure their problems. Countries such as Greece face not just a decade of hardship, but probably a generation of agony, with the possibility of social unrest. The problems of the Eurozone have knock-on effects (not even German banks are immune) and Peston examines its future. The best bet seems to be that the coming few years will see it in a state of permanent crisis management, but beyond that its eventually breakup, with the inevitable financial chaos, cannot be ruled out.

It is unlikely that China could be the solution to all our problems. In fact, Peston points out that China could itself be the next big problem because of its huge infrastructure investment. When this comes to an end, vast numbers of workers will be made redundant and could only be absorbed back into the labour market if the population spends more on consumer goods, something they are at present very reluctant to do. He draws an analogy with Japan in the early 1990s, where similar circumstances led to mass unemployment and a sharp downturn in the economy, from which it has never really recovered.

In the final chapters, Peston turns to current problems. The news is not good. For example, UK banks that are largely owned by taxpayers still behave as independent organisations, paying staff handsomely and still irresponsibly taking undue risks, while failing to provide loans that would get more money into the economy. Each of the major British banks still has leverage ratios more than 25 times their capital, and more of that capital is having to be pledged to secure loans from major lenders, money that is no longer available to improve the economy. In short, government has made little progress in `fixing the mess', by removing the rotten and corrupted heart of the system and restructuring the banking industry from its foundations. Nor has it found a `happy medium' between recovery through austerity or greater investment.

The global financial crisis is the most catastrophic global regulatory failure in history (hence the justification for the 'excessive' length of this review) and has exposed the myth that markets work best when unregulated. It will be paid for by ordinary citizens, not those who caused the disaster, and they face, at best, a bleak future for at least a decade with consequences lasting long after that. Although this book has a misleading title (most of it is about causes, not solutions) Peston's conversational style and clear explanations make it one of the best I have read on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, fascinating and horrifying, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The title of the review says it all: I found this book by turns enjoyable, fascinating and horrifying. The central message is to be responsible and pay your way in the world - valuable advice we are already forgetting, I fear. It will be interesting to see where we are by 2020; I suspect most of our bad habits will remain and most of the good advice forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I agree with a previous reviewer, the title of this book is misleading. After all, if the title is a question one can reasonably expect that the book will attempt to answer that question. The book is a very good account of how we got into this mess but says almost nothing about how we are to get out of it. The only suggestion seems to be that we should try to sell more goods to China. This is so much easier said than done that one can see at once that, whilst Mr Peston is a wonderful financial journalist, he has limited knowledge of business. To say we should try to sell more to China is as useful as saying we should try to make more money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't do what it says on the cover, 10 April 2013
This review is from: How Do We Fix This Mess?: The Economic Price of Having it All, and the Route to Lasting Prosperity (Paperback)
This late addition to the post-financial-crisis-analysis genre has the feel of someone cashing in on a trend (and on his name). Peston writes well enough, for the most part, and there are a few chapters where he might actually be telling some readers something new, but only if they haven't read any of the earlier books on the subject.

There are long paragraphs of facts and figures that become quite tedious, and the book is repetitive and in places poorly edited. It comes across as a bit rushed and cobbled together, presumably with a lot of help from the co-author, who gets his name added in tiny print. This rushed feel is confirmed by what appears to be a last-minute chapter tacked on the end, about the Libor scandal at Barclays, which probably broke just before the book was going to print. No attempt is made to blend this information more smoothly into the text, so it comes rather obviously after the original concluding chapter.

But perhaps I'm being unfair. There's a lot of detail, some of it interesting, about British banks in particular, and also some good stuff on the Eurozone. Not all chapters are up to the same standard, however, and some appear to be a rehash of previous writings by the author, sometimes on subjects that have no relevance to the main theme of the book (lots of statistics on mobile-phone use in the developing world, for example).
My biggest criticism is that, apart from a few obvious points about reducing the power of the banks, there is very little in this book that fits the title: How Do We Fix This Mess (if one can fix a mess -- shouldn't messes be cleaned up rather than fixed?)

This book is mostly about the state of British and international banking, and as such is probably of limited appeal. Those who might be interested have probably read a lot of this before. As Business Editor of the BBC, Peston knows his stuff, but this adds little to the large stack of books on the financial crisis, and as I said, there are no new ideas here with regard to a fix.
This strikes me as a typical case of a book being published because of who the author is, rather than because of what he has to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid and detailed, 21 Dec 2013
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robert Peston seems to be one of the few BBC reporters that actually knows something about economics, which is quite refreshing. Having said that, I would not agree with his interpretation of comparative advantage, which exists even where one country is more productive at producing every product.

This book is a solid and detailed account of what went wrong with world economies over the last decade. It is as if someone had distilled ten years of the Economist into a rather solid book. At heart this is good quality journalism, explaining some very complex stuff, with reasonable clarity. There are plenty of facts and figures, perhaps too many, a little more human interest would have made it more readable, but he does the best with a rather dry topic.

Marked down to four marks because at times it was a bit of a slog working through it, some tighter editing could have sharpened it up, or a bit more human interest might have made for a lighter read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Do We Fix This Mess?: The Economic Price of Having it All, and the Route to Lasting Prosperity
£8.69
Usually dispatched within 9 to 11 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews