Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Chiller
Mr Connolly is on top form again with this story of something lost and sought in the deep forests of Maine. Although his stories are never a riot of laughs, this one in particular breathes an air of foreboding almost from the start and the sense of menace only grows. It's difficult to describe the plot without spoilers but some characters we've met before reappear (and...
Published on 17 Sep 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars throw away thy rod, throw away thy wrath...
the one major flaw in all of connolly's books is that they are not long enough, and yet as novels they have the pace and depth of detail that requires a longer treatment. i assume this is his publisher's doing and yet i feel that in the wrath of angels it seriously cripples and malforms the book. as usual he gives interesting back stories to all his characters but this...
Published on 4 Oct 2012 by absent_deity


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Chiller, 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mr Connolly is on top form again with this story of something lost and sought in the deep forests of Maine. Although his stories are never a riot of laughs, this one in particular breathes an air of foreboding almost from the start and the sense of menace only grows. It's difficult to describe the plot without spoilers but some characters we've met before reappear (and I don't just mean Angel and Louis although they do) including one we thought was dead and the forest is almost a character in its own right. We also get a sense that Charlie and his friends are beginning to age.

My only complaint is that we are still no nearer to finding out what Charlie Parker *is* even if we find out what he is not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the woods today..., 27 Aug 2012
By 
Raven (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you go down to the woods today you're sure of a big, and in true John Connolly fashion, quite nasty surprise in this the eleventh, in the Charlie Parker series. Fear not if this is your first step into the dark, supernatural tinged tales from the pen of Mr Connolly as there is just the right amount of back story to bring you right up to speed as to why everyone behaves in the way that they do, and the numerous, and at times more than a bit scary skeletons that reside in Parker's closet which delight in coming back to bite him on the derriere. If you're a seasoned fan of the unholy trinity of Charlie, Louis and Angel step right in and prepare to be entertained- this is a corker with more than a few familiar faces along the way...
Despite my more than a bit flippant intro to my review this is indeed one of the darkest tales yet featuring Charlie Parker and there is a suffocating miasma of evil throughout the whole affair with most characters being touched in some way by this atmosphere of death and misery. From the opening scene of a dying old man's confession of a past sin to a sinister path of discovery towards a hidden list of doomed souls, Connolly weaves a convoluted tale that is murderous, tangential and twisting hither and thither with all the main protagonists being expertly drawn together for a bloody denouement. As I alluded to earlier, the recurring characters all have a part to play and with the reappearance of the wonderfully sinister Kushiel (or `The Collector') and with a couple of other nasty surprises, there is more than enough to keep Parker on the back foot throughout the novel as they close in for different reasons to the acquisition of the list, languishing in the wrecked fuselage of a crashed plane in the backwoods of Maine. As regular readers of Connolly know, there is a strict adherence in his writing that no-one can really be perceived as 'good'( and spookily in this tale not even children as one character more than proves)- there is an element of badness within all the main characters with strikingly different reasons for the course of their actions and how this 'badness' manifests itself in their own tarnished views of the world. There is always a balance between depraved cruelty and loving heroism and this is what sets Connolly apart from just being a mainstream crime writer as his books always give the reader something more to think about on the human condition, as well as his ability to construct a good yarn...
There is a carefully used quote at the outset of the book from artist Andrew Wyeth that says "I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape- the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter. Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn't show" and what was particularly striking in this novel was Connolly's adherence to the naturalistic writing style prevalent in the formative period of American fiction in his depiction and realisation of the potency of the natural environment within this tale. The natural setting of the woods is instrumental to the thrust of the plot and his perfectly rendered descriptions of the beauty but inherent malevolence of the natural world are perfectly realised. Skilfully interweaving folkloric tales into the plot, the woods and their surrounds become like another character in the book and influence greatly the actions of the human characters within its confines as it seeks to conceal the evidence of evil that the protagonists are seeking with a grail-like intensity...
But even within the darkness of the plot there are elements of humour particularly in the interplay of Charlie, Louis and Angel on a particularly eventful evening babysitting Parker's daughter Sam and in the description of the most depressing `titty bar'on the planet to name but two, and these interludes of playful joshing or pure wit do much to lighten the sinister atmosphere that prevails within the rest of the novel.
All in all another great read in an always entertaining, yet wonderfully disturbing series that deviates enough from being strictly crime writing to incorporate moments of pure horror but beautifully balanced with a literary, naturalistic and philosophical bent- what more could any reader ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from John Connolly, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Glasgow Reader (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are a fan of the Charlie Parker series, you'll love this one. A lot of the old "favourites" are here - the collector, Epstein, Louis and Angel, Brightwell. And all the John Connolly trademarks are there - the excellent characters, the creepy plot, the battle of good versus evil (even though the distinction is sometimes a bit blurred) and the humour. I started reading as soon as it was available on my Kindle and could barely put it down until I'd finished it. There's a bit less violence than normal - the characters are growing older - but the suspense remains. This is a great "supernatural" mystery, well-told and well-written.The setting of the book - the dense Maine woods - adds to the atmosphere and the feeling of menace and evil.
If you're new to Charlie Parker and John Connolly I urge you to buy the book anyway. You'll still enjoy it even if some of Charlie Parker's back-story (in particular his friendship with Angel and Louis, and his more troubled relationships with Epstein and the Collector)won't be clear to you. But you will enjoy it so much you will set out to read the previous 10 Charlie Parker stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars throw away thy rod, throw away thy wrath..., 4 Oct 2012
the one major flaw in all of connolly's books is that they are not long enough, and yet as novels they have the pace and depth of detail that requires a longer treatment. i assume this is his publisher's doing and yet i feel that in the wrath of angels it seriously cripples and malforms the book. as usual he gives interesting back stories to all his characters but this merely takes up time in what might have been better served furthering the plot. for yet again connolly has created superbly baroque villians and, quite simply, we want to see more of them. instead he intersperses scenes that are truly gripping with ones of the utmost banality that leave the reader feeling as if they have been worked up only to be slapped in the face with a wet fish. and i also feel that trying to humanise or at least rationalise the story of the collector was misjudged, and that the ending was hurried and anti-climactic. the novel does create a shuddering, halting, compromised sense of build up but this is weakened again and again by a concentration on minor characters and their doings. there is little sense of parker in this book and he seems almost absent from the story, as do angel and louis. this lack of focus contributes to the overall sense of aimlessness and meandering that characterises the work, instead of the strong and individual flavour that each parker novel usually has. connolly is superb at creating tension and expectation, yet the ending is rushed and there is a sense of 'is that it?'- the wet-fish effect again. i suspect connolly is rather bored by the parker series now but the money he (and his publishers) can make from stringing out the series ad infinitum is too tempting to resist. although he can't write a bad book, this one is a disappointment. of course i will still read the next one, and the one after...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Connolly weaves another dark tale!, 30 Aug 2012
By 
N. Helfrich "Thriller Addict" (Not from this Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story begins when Marielle Vetters and Ernie Scollay seek Charlie's advice. On his deathbed Marielle's father told her and her brother the story about how he and his friend Harlan, Ernie's deceased brother, discovered a plane that had crashed deep in the Maine woods. They had taken money they had found in that plane and they tell Charlie about papers and a list with names the men had found.
At the same time a woman who hasn't done a lot of good in her life seeks redemption by sending a list of names to an old acquaintance of Charlie. A list some dangerous people also want to get their hands on.
Before Charlie knows it he's deep in trouble, but this time he's not trusted by old allies anymore as they are questioning his motives and his very nature.
Also, like Connolly mentioned before, an old adversary of Charlie resurfaces again.
The Wrath of Angels is mostly about Charlie Parker as things get very personal for him and as expected he makes that call to some special gentlemen from New York...
The Wrath of Angels is a very dark tale from the masterfully skilled pen of John Connolly, with villains that are as colourful as they are malicious. Connolly's descriptions of characters and surroundings alike make the stories literally come to life.
As always it's a pleasure to lose onself in Connolly's tight and enthralling writing and there is a terrible sense of unease and dread throughout the whole narration. You can almost feel the darkness and damp in the deepest darkest woods reaching out for you. Halfway throug the story I was beginning to fear Connolly might have done the unspeakable thing...But you'll have to read for yourselves to find out more!
Definitely one of the must read thrillers of this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing return to form!, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow! This was brilliant. I was a little disappointed by the lacklustre previous novel in the Charlie Parker series, so although I HAD to buy this, I did so with a few qualms and not a little trepidation.

I needn't have worried. This is Connolly back to his effortless best, a dark thriller elegantly laced with the supernatural. It's beautifully written: many times I had to stop and re-read a sentence to appreciate the subtle, clever turn of phrase. I wish I had made a note of the page numbers so that I could have quoted some here, but I was too engrossed in the story to do anything so practical.

The story itself is gripping and well-paced, with popular characters such as Louis and Angel finding a natural place in the events as they unfold, rather than feeling shoe-horned in as they have tended to in recent years. Parker himself is as utterly fascinating as ever, delineated in the first-person narrative with casual skill and deftness.

I loved the locale. The northern woods with their abandoned fort, crashed plane and chilling (Japan horror-inspired?) little girl ghost are imbued with a compelling coldness and foreboding. It's gorgeously evocative.

Brilliant, brilliant work, Connolly. This 400+ page novel felt too short even though I rationed myself and eked it out over almost a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every time…, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Every time I sit down to start a new Charlie Parker novel I worry in case it isn't as good as the last; and every time they are just as good. Each book is different from the previous one in in just about every way except the three main characters, Charlie, Louis and Angel, and Charlie's quest to find out why such strange things happen to him.

If you want to read these novels I would suggest going back to the first one. I started with 'Dark Hollow' and was so completely drawn in that I went back to 'Every Dead Thing'. I can't wait for each new episode in Charlie's life and I hope he finishes the series before I die or else I'll just have to haunt John Connolly until he tells me what the finale entails. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Connolly returns to form....almost!, 24 Sep 2012
By 
M. Dench "Ruined Eye" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been hooked into the Charlie Parker novels since the first one was published. And I have to say that the first six are some of the best books I've read. The slow building of the supernatural element, combined with great stories and even greater characters (particularly villains), made these books something more than just a 'genre filler'. Great literature building towards something great.

As I say, in my opinion, the first six books are immense, and I also really enjoyed 'The Reflecting Eye', which brought The Collector to our attention. But at that point Connolly took his foot off the pedal, and I believe he has struggled to get it properly back on ever since.

The seventh book, 'The Reapers', is my least favourite and the only one I have struggled to read. It made me realise how much the books ARE Charlie Parker. Without him at the heart, the story seemed dull and cold. Angel and Louis are great characters, but not, for me at least, as the headliners.

From this point on I believe Connolly has been writing what another reviewer succinctly described as 'Charlie Parker Lite'. 'The Lovers' was a good book, and did add to the 'legend', but the two that followed it were poor by Connolly's own high standards. 'The Whisperers' and 'Burning Soul' added very little to the ongoing storyline and didn't really work as successful 'filler' either. What I disliked most was how Connolly worked hard at creating a great atmosphere, and then galloped to the finish. I have noticed that his last three Parker novels have not got near the 500 page mark, and I think the strength of the the earlier books is in Connolly taking the time necessary to build and satisfactorily complete a good story. 'Whisperers' and 'Burning Soul' seem to rush towards the end with indecent haste, leaving me, at least, frustrated and dissatisfied.

This book is a big step forward. The usual epic build-up exists and Connolly provides us with some continuity and a hint of a step forward in the over-arching story (which does need to move forward), but once again the conclusion does seem a little rushed and superficial. Charlie Parker books seem to have falled into a formula - long build-up to a denouement, usually involving some sort of expedition, which then conveniently falls into place all-too quickly.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not knocking Connolly or the books. It's just that the first six set such a high standard that nothing short of excellence is going to satisfy me! The recent books have been good, but not good enough. Come on John, spoil us rotten with the next one - 600 pages of absolute wonder and terror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mythology Milestone, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Where the previous Charlie Parker mystery felt like a story to which Parker himself took a relatively minor role, The Wrath of Angels is a slice of Parker to which a story has been appended. It's a rewarding read if you've been following these novels, but too problematically entrenched in the mythos that's built up around Parker for the newbie. As I've been following the novels for years though, I'm well rewarded. As ever, Connolly holds back from offering conclusive revelations, but he enriches his own world of fallen angels and those who oppose them deeply with this novel. As far as the plot goes... there's a long crashed plane somewhere in the Maine woods, and a list of names on board that could prove influential in the secret war that Parker has found himself a part of. He has to find it. Story done.

It's the solidifying of the supernatural elements that really delivers in this book. We're a long way from the early instalments, when it was unclear whether the supernatural was a real presence in Parker's life or just his own imaginings, yet for all its epic implications the story stays grounded in little lives and personal stories. Beautifully written, as I've long since come to expect from Connolly, and a milestone in the arc plot that has slowly developed over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and chilling, 4 Sep 2012
By 
M. A. Tams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the best Charlie Parker story so far. The plot is as dark as The Unquiet (albeit not as stomach churning) and it serves as a sequel to my favorite John Connolly book, The Dark Angel.

If you're new to Charlie Parker I wouldn't recommend reading this first. Start with Every Dead Thing and work your way through the series. By the time you get to Wrath of Angels you'll hopefully be as obsessed and mesmerized as I am.

This really is a masterpiece of supernatural Gothic noir. The only bad thing about this book is that there won't be another Charlie Parker story for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wrath of Angels (Charlie Parker Thriller)
The Wrath of Angels (Charlie Parker Thriller) by John Connolly (Paperback - 6 Jun 2013)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews