Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphant return to form
The last two Inspector Banks novels were pretty poor efforts, and I thought that this, largely excellent, series had run out of steam.

Piece of my Heart, however, is one of the best Banks books of all. It is two very good stories intertwined, and the plotting is very cleverly done. As another reviewer has noted, even the denouement is entirely credible, and the...
Published on 13 April 2007 by Mr. Stephen Edwards

versus
44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A clever and original 16th Alan Banks novel.
Peter Robinson is able to keep coming up with clever and original stories in his Inspector Alan Banks series and this (though rather drawn out) is one of his best.

This is a split time novel with two investigations, one in the autumn of 1969 and the present day. The novel switches cleverly between the two periods and provides an intriguing insight into how a...
Published on 10 July 2006 by R. A. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A clever and original 16th Alan Banks novel., 10 July 2006
By 
R. A. Brown "richardawood2376" (Lincoln, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Piece of My Heart (Hardcover)
Peter Robinson is able to keep coming up with clever and original stories in his Inspector Alan Banks series and this (though rather drawn out) is one of his best.

This is a split time novel with two investigations, one in the autumn of 1969 and the present day. The novel switches cleverly between the two periods and provides an intriguing insight into how a murder investigation was conducted in the 6o's compared to present day.

The investigating officer in 1969 is Stanley Chadwick a WWII veteran, a hard nosed policeman of the 'old school'. He is investigating the murder of a teenage girl at an open air rock concert in Yorkshire where a local band called "The Mad Hatters' were playing.

37 years later Banks is investigating the death of a rock music jounalist who was writing an article on the band.

Robinson has developed very strong characters as well as a real sense of atmosphere added with some clever observations. The character Vic Greaves, a rock star who took too many drugs and escaped into his own reclusive world is very obviously based on Pink Floyd's original musical genius Syd Barrett.

Banks has to contend with a new boss, Detective Superintendent Gervaise, a high flying ex Cheltenham Ladies College student who is tough and single minded but knows that Banks, although unconventional gets results.

This is the most original Banks story since 'In a Dry Season' (also a split time novel,in this case WWII).

Peter Robinson is a very accomplished writer but it would be good to see him stretch out and write another non Banks book in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphant return to form, 13 April 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Edwards "se1955" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last two Inspector Banks novels were pretty poor efforts, and I thought that this, largely excellent, series had run out of steam.

Piece of my Heart, however, is one of the best Banks books of all. It is two very good stories intertwined, and the plotting is very cleverly done. As another reviewer has noted, even the denouement is entirely credible, and the two plots are brought their joint conclusion beautifully.

Inspector Chadwick is a good character, who would probably support his own series, as might Sergeant Enderby. Banks was in danger of becoming a cartoon, but this novel gives him back some humanity, and he now has a new boss to deal with, giving us some friction for another couple of runouts, I would guess.

No silly twists, no ridiculous coincidences, just a really good set of puzzles and a clever answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Past causes present, 30 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: A Piece of My Heart (Hardcover)
In this latest of his many Inspector Banks novels, Peter Robinson alternates two narratives - one from 1969 and one from 2005. Both fictional, obviously, but with plenty of non-fiction to make fans of the 60s, in particular, squirm with delight. This adds to the novel's attraction, but there is uavoidably less space to develop the character Banks and those around him. It is not the suspense that is the chief quality of these novels (though there is plenty of it) - it is the dialogue, the characterisation, the mystery, and the sheer verisimilitude. My recommendation is without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Oct 2007
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In the crowded world of fictional detectives/investigators, Peter Robinsons Inspector Banks series stands out - a new Banks novel is always worth reading. Banks himself is a satisfyingly complex creation, and if you have read any of the series, you will know that his love of music features heavily.

So it is no surprise to see this novel use a '70's music festival as the centrepiece of the tale. Robinson has 2 separate threads woven brilliantly together, linking the past with the present, and the efforts to solve both cases running side by side. It is a tribute to his style that this never becomes tiresome, each unwinding to a satisfying and credible conclusion.

If you have not yet discovered Peter Robinson as an author, then be warned - if you buy this you will have to get hold of the rest of the series - this is highly recommended for all lovers of Detective fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable & worthwhile, 25 July 2007
By 
I've read a few of the Inspector Banks' series, and this was one of the better. I still can't quite place the writing style - its not energetic, its not boring, its not overly narrative - it does the job and is interesting enough but sometimes misses "something".

Regardless, the plot(s)are both good. The Sixties one does have a huge amount going for it, and the characters there could be a whole new series, but it is really the later one that is the finisher and it really is a good one.

Overall, you'll enjoy it ( I took an extra 30 minutes at a lunch break since I was so interested in the gripping end - that's a recommendation in itself ! ) and it is sensibly and relatively well-written.

Good characters, good scene-setting ( albeit a touch too much detail at times )..but why are all the characters called by their christian name except the hero-detective ?

He's always "Banks", never "Alan"...ah, well, one of life's mysteries...

Enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid entry, but not the best we know of Peter Robinson, 23 Sep 2006
By 
A. J Thompson "voyagersaus" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Piece of My Heart (Hardcover)
Two murders, two different periods of time and two different investigating officers. In the present day Yorkshire we have Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks puzzling over the killing of a visiting music journalist. In the last heady days of the 1960's Detective Inspector Stanley Chadwick battles to keep the problems at home muddying the waters of his murder investigation into the death of a young woman at a fields rock concert. The up and coming stars of Chadwick's 1969 have had their day and in the present day of Banks, they're now retired veteran rock gods. The times have changed but Bank knows his Yorkshire and its people well enough by now to be certain in his belief that old crimes can never truly be forgotten.

Chadwick has a dual agenda as a parent when he assigns his crew to what might seem an impossible task - pinpointing one killer in a cast of thousands that attended an open air rock event with multiple bands and attendees. It is difficult enough to keep tabs on his own daughter who is embracing, at what he deems to be a very young age, the morality free and responsibility free lifestyle of the 1960's hippy culture. Chadwick relies on process, tried and true methods and the elimination of suspects one by one. It proves rather hard to achieve this when the people he investigates are barely aware of what they themselves did that night, let alone the activities of anyone else.

The modern day dilemmas of Banks mirror those of his predecessor in that he has a child connected with the music industry and that his murder suspects are cagey, at best. The common elements in the two crimes are what drive Banks to re-open what was supposed to be a previously resolved murder enquiry in order to get to the truth of his own.

Some of the frustration readers have expressed with this novel is that it is not much of a whodunit. Robinson has had a lot of time to craft and flesh out DCI Banks and tends not to waste time on giving his character, and thus the reader, pointers of how to behave and process. They have already been established in previous novels and what we have here is a current snapshot of where the character is in his life story. The mirror past narrative of Chadwick does, however, serve well to add much needed colour to the novel and is done, we feel, with much affection for the era and its influence on the modern day in this particular part of the world.

PIECE OF MY HEART will of course appeal to the readers of the series while not being the stellar entry in it so far. It is classic procedural Banks but even with the addition of the 1960's storyline this novel tends to progress rather ponderously with little to reward the reader for their efforts at resolution. It lacks any real sense of suspense and sadly, no twists and turns are included to race the novel towards conclusion. Acknowledged, they are not always required, but would have been a welcome inclusion in this rather bland effort from a very successful novelist well known for his rich characterization, meticulous plots and moody, sombre tones.

PIECE OF MY HEART is the 16th novel in the Detector Inspector Alan Banks series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Praise for Peter Robinson, 22 July 2006
By 
G. J. Dowle "longliz1888" (Brandon, Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Piece of My Heart (Hardcover)
What can I say...I love this guy! Having bought every book he has written thus far, I can honestly say that I still wait impatiently for the next installment.

The story revolves around two murders, one new and one old and Mr Robinson builds to story and the suspense.

His characters are brought to life by his superb writing style.

His knowledge of the areas enable readers to actually see and bond with the characters and their surroundings.

I have never lost interest while reading any of his books.

I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piece of my Heart - Peter Robinson, 29 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: A Piece of My Heart (Hardcover)
I have read all the Inspector Banks novels by Peter Robinson and I have to say I truly wonder why these books have not been made into a TV series. They are wonderfully written novels and from the first book you grow to love Alan and his family and friends. Piece of my heart is no exception to the rest of the books. I particularly liked the 1969 timeline and current day and realised early on there would be a connection. I highly recommend this book, as I do all the Inspector Banks novels - this is the 17th if anyone is interested - so get started with Gallows View, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too many errors, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: A Piece of My Heart (Hardcover)
What is generally a reasonable story is marred by far too many errors - does nobody proof read the script prior to it being published?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great book, dreadful conversion to kindle, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece of My Heart (Kindle Edition)
this review is a warning to anyone who buys the Alan Banks series on their kindle. This novel is littered with the most glaring errors and typo's. Not just one or two, heaps of them - its so bad it takes you out of the novel at times. None of the other books in this series have had this problem and I'm crossing my fingers that it doesnt happen in the next ones ( am reading them in order) Please publishers, sort this out asap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piece of My Heart: The 16th DCI Banks Mystery (Inspector Banks 16)
Piece of My Heart: The 16th DCI Banks Mystery (Inspector Banks 16) by Peter Robinson (Paperback - 27 Feb 2014)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews