Customer Reviews


40 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of an Exceptional Aussie, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Hardcover)
I sat up all one night reading this, unable to put it down. It's the story of an extraordinary human being who has dedicated his whole life to the care of animals and has, through his own hard work and single minded determination, succeeded in creating a wonderful Sanctuary in the beautiful Australian outback for his resident mob of beloved kangaroos (and now other animals such as orphaned camels) where he also patiently hand rears little joeys who have lost their mothers, through being hunted or killed on the road, until they are old and strong enough to be released back into the wild to enjoy the life they would otherwise never have had. Having had the opportunity to visit this magical place and meet Chris "Brolga" Barns, I was keen to read this and find out more about this inspirational man and his truly fascinating life. I was not disappointed....anyone who loves animals, has a taste for adventure and longs for the freedom of the great outdoors will be as spellbound by this book as I was. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An honest account, nicely written, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Janet Marshall "marsjan" (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Kindle Edition)
It's not great literature; I imagine it was mostly dictated then transcribed as Brolga had said it. It gets better as it goes along and flows well - you can imagine Brolga saying it all. He comes across as a genuinely nice guy with a lot of integrity.
Sadly with the Kindle version I can't see the detail in the photos. However, I've bought a hardback copy of the book for a friend who visited the Kangaroo Sanctuary earlier this year, and will have a quick squint at the photos before I wrap it up for her for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True blue bloke, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Kindle Edition)
Brolga tells it like it really is.he combines describing the outback and the story of the kangaroo joeys absolutely right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Kindle Edition)
What a man!!!! Inspired us to care for hedgehogs in our garden, not in the same league as Chris, but our tribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational!, 20 April 2014
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Hardcover)
My daughter (who lives in Oz) bought me this book as a birthday present earlier this year. So many times when we spoke on the phone she had listened to me eulogizing Brolga (Chris Barns) and his campaign to rescue orphaned joeys after his Kangaroo Dundee series had been broadcast on TV in the UK. I was enthralled by the programmes and can only say that the book is just as gripping and beautifully written - factual but demonstrating great emotional sensitivity. Throughout the book Brolga's passion and gritty determination shine through - he is truly a dedicated, caring and selfless person, continually prepared to make personal sacrifices by putting the needs and care of his rescued "kids" before himself and any material pleasures. He gives credit to those who in their own individual ways have helped and inspired him in his continuing struggle to set up and maintain his kangaroo sanctuary. I found Brolga's journey from impressionable and idealistic young man to mature and fulfilled carer, living his dream and educating the wider public, very moving and enlightening. If, like me,you love roos and want to feel uplifted then read Brolga's story! You will be amazed at what he has achieved!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loveed it cover to cover., 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed Chris's story and it gave lots of context after watching the Kangaroo Dundee series on TV. I hope there is another series soon :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A 5 star/ feel good /cannot put it down book, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Paperback)
I was intrigued by a friends description of the TV series in January this year that I had missed - and after watching a short clip of Roger the alpha male kangaroo chasing" Brolga" bought the book and was totally captivated by it ; would most highly recommend this as a gift to anyone interested in animals - would be suitable for all ages - you learn so much about not just kangaroos but also about Brolgas amazing character/personality and outlook to life both in the animal and human forms . I love the way he writes as if talking to you - he has had an amazing journey through life so far and is an inspiration and role model as the first man who displays a truly wonderful mothering nurturing role ; the photos are excellent and his descriptions just perfect so the photos match up very well . Its a book that you will love and not regret buying and I will have to buy a few as Christmas presents as cannot even consider lending my copy out - it definitely has a 5 star feel good factor !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will leave a kangaroo-shaped hole in your heart!, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
P. Blunsden (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book which grabs you right at the start! What an inspiration this guy is, beating all odds, ignoring his critics, and coming out on top for his first love - the love for wildlife, especially kangaroos. Educating people at the same time on what to do when finding roadkill. The world needs more people like Chris. Good luck to him for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly inspiring, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and Brolgas' story. It was such a refreshing change to read about someone who has so selflessly dedicated his life for these wild orphaned animals. The world needs more people like Brolga, he is a true example of what hard work and determination is and what amazing accomplishments can be achieved when one puts heart and soul into something they do truly believe in. Despite all of his knock backs that life sometimes threw at him he still managed to create a real wildlife sanctuary for his animals. This book had some really funny moments but also showed the harsh reality of what these poor animals have had to endure, often because of the fault of man.
A wonderful and inspiring book and would strongly recommend a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable autobiography of a remarkable man, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
Rivergirl "Rivergirl" (Rotterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kangaroo Dundee (Hardcover)
As others have said, it's just like hearing Brolga talk to you personally. He writes as he speaks and he speaks very honestly and sincerely. I loved this book and I'm very glad I waited for the paperback to finally come out as the photos are gorgeous. Brolga is an amazing man - so dedicated and so in touch with these lovely creatures, his Joeys. But he also comes across as a genuinely nice person to be around. This book is not only about the Roos, it's about his whole life and how he came to be where he is now. All credit to Brolga's parents and family too who seem to have been such an inspiration to him. More than a memoir, this is an autobiography of a genuinely compassionate, gifted and remarkable human being. I was very sad to finish it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kangaroo Dundee
Kangaroo Dundee by Chris Barns (Hardcover - 21 Nov. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews