Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly open and honest
Rob Lilwall's second book, Walking Home From Mongolia, is a strange yet compelling beast.

It is, on the face of it, a linear account of an extremely long and admittedly monotonous walk across the full breadth of mainland China. Rob positions the story deliberately as a sequel to Cycling Home from Siberia of some years ago. As with Siberia, the journey will...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. T. Allen

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ok, has its moments
Interesting dairy of a very hard slog with moments of highs and lows. A light read, looking forward to see the TV program
Published 4 months ago by R. Orlebar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly open and honest, 25 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. T. Allen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking Home from Mongolia: Ten Million Steps Through China, from the Gobi Desert to the South China Sea (Paperback)
Rob Lilwall's second book, Walking Home From Mongolia, is a strange yet compelling beast.

It is, on the face of it, a linear account of an extremely long and admittedly monotonous walk across the full breadth of mainland China. Rob positions the story deliberately as a sequel to Cycling Home from Siberia of some years ago. As with Siberia, the journey will begin somewhere dauntingly remote; rules few in number but clear in scope are set; and in declaring a final destination of Rob's home in Hong Kong the foundations are laid for a simple, gruelling adventure.

Rob is quick to acknowledge that the reality of a journey like this is not necessarily filled with daily spectacles and dramas and epiphanies. Rather, it is a slow trudge accompanied (at least to begin with) by a big intellectual comedown; daily concerns becoming no more complicated than those of nourishment, shelter and companionship -- humanity's primary concerns for the vast majority of history. There are deeper personal rewards to be had, but they are revealed only with time and reflection, and only to those with eyes to see them.

For me, it is these distinctly unglorious aspects of the journey that created such an insightful and enjoyable read -- just as much as the anecdotes of derring-do involving hapless policeman and linguistic confusion and ill-advised forays into fifteen-mile-long road tunnels that make up the bread and butter of such an adventure.

I was left with memorable impression of a journey occasionally enlightening, often challenging and frequently miserable, but one ultimately meeting the author's deeply personal ambitions and representing a unique and unrepeatable chapter in his own ongoing spiritual journey.

If you're looking for a book in which to live out some Far Eastern travelling fantasy, this probably isn't going to be for you. But if a warts `n' all exposé of the challenges faced by a `professional' expeditioner looking for a meaningful journey in a rapidly-changing modern world is a prospect that floats your boat, I can highly recommend Walking Home From Mongolia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant read!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Home from Mongolia: Ten Million Steps Through China, from the Gobi Desert to the South China Sea (Paperback)
I have twice visited Mongolia to ride horses, and I love this sympathetic people and culture-focused adventure. There are so many anecdotes of interactions with the locals, details about the landscape, the difficult weather conditions and the sometimes infuriatingly slow progress. Well done you guys for completing the walk and keeping faith in yourselves. But how did you ever expect to get away with walking through the motorway tunnel?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phew! Couldn't put it down!, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Home from Mongolia: Ten Million Steps Through China, from the Gobi Desert to the South China Sea (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyable book. You have to marvel at Rob and his cameraman's incredible journey. It was one of those books that I couldn't put down and looked forward to reading the next chapter whenever I had to leave it.

So much so, that I have ordered the DVD of the film they made whilst staggering across China - and a lot of it was a stagger! I felt very pleased to be reading it at home on my comfortable couch, with little more challenge than making the odd cup of tea in between chapters!

Rob's insights into the Mongolian and Chinese way of life are fascinating and all the more precious for stemming from his intimate and unique journey through difficult and isolated terrain - very often walking where no other westerner had walked before.

Rob deserves huge recognition for what was an amazing journey through incredibly difficult and little visited terrain, meeting folk who sometimes had never seen a "foreigner". Gasps of delight from them, as gasps of delight from me on reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from Rob Lilwall, 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Walking Home from Mongolia: Ten Million Steps Through China, from the Gobi Desert to the South China Sea (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully engaging and honest read. The descriptions of people and places alongside the danger and joys of walking all that way make for a wonderful story. I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok, has its moments, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting dairy of a very hard slog with moments of highs and lows. A light read, looking forward to see the TV program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD READ, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking Home from Mongolia: Ten Million Steps Through China, from the Gobi Desert to the South China Sea (Paperback)
I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY FRIEND WHO HAS READ OTHER BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR. SHE LIKES THE WAY THE READER IS DRAWN IN TO THE JOURNEY AND EXPERIENCES THEY ENCOUNTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent and thought provoking, 9 Mar 2014
By 
SME (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb book, taking you through the trials of walking such a long distance and the beauty and changes that Is happening in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking Home from Mongolia, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like Rob Lilwall's books. This one continues to interest as he travels through the various countries. very readable. Would recommend it to people who enjoy travel writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Walking Home From Mongolia, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed it very much,interesting to hear how people survive in very cold conditions with very few creature comforts.Pure determination against the odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awe-inspiring journey, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book tempted me for several reasons, but mostly because of the unusual scope of this journey. Crossing the Gobi desert and all of mainland China was a wonderful achievement, and it was fascinating to read how such a vast expedition was possible on such a low spec (relatively) budget. I spend a lot of time outdoors with various people and could empathise with those long repetitive days, the difficulties of spending too much time with somebody and I could also appreciate the end goal. Great read with interesting insights into Mongolian and Chinese culture, great humour and a clear thirst for adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews