Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Hurts
Elizabeth George continues her superb exploration of the theme of how love affects us in this engrossing police procedural. For once, she balances her powerful character-development skills with an intriguing plot to explore an intriguing mystery. This is the work of a master with all her talents fully on display.
The title refers to the UK-Australian cricket rivalry...
Published on 18 Jun 2005 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story line, But..........
I read this book whilst on holiday, I found the story line very gripping. The two strands in the book came together very well, but i expected a few more twists therefore i was dissapointed with ending. The use of sexual phrases and the detailed story line of vivisection may offend some people but i would definatly recommend this book to crime novel fans
Published on 6 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Hurts, 18 Jun 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Elizabeth George continues her superb exploration of the theme of how love affects us in this engrossing police procedural. For once, she balances her powerful character-development skills with an intriguing plot to explore an intriguing mystery. This is the work of a master with all her talents fully on display.
The title refers to the UK-Australian cricket rivalry. If you don't know cricket, relax. Although cricket is part of the book's backdrop, you don't need to know anything about it to enjoy the book.
The stage is set when the UK's foremost cricket batsman, Kenneth Fleming, is found dead in a country cottage, the apparent victim of an arson-based fire. But he seems misplaced. The man was supposed to be in Greece with his elder son. What's going on?
Thomas Lynley and Barbara Havers face their toughest case yet as they probe the causes of the celebrity death while the tabloid headlines scream their usual exaggerated fare. There are plenty of clues . . . but they don't tie into any particular suspect . . . and the usual suspects all have alibis. How will they solve the case?
For me, the biggest appeal of this book is its broad look at attraction, parental love, romantic love, marital love, love among friends and love for our fellow creatures. She also does a remarkable job of exploring the hate and cruelty that come through the dark side of love. Ms. George takes the position that we are bound to be ensnared in harmful ways by all of these loving feelings, but that we wouldn't be human if we weren't. Our challenge: To do the right thing whenever enough passion cools its grip enough to allow us to function somewhat rationally.
Most of the attention is on characters who only appear in this book. The main development of the continuing characters comes as Lynley tries again to persuade Lady Helen to marry him. Barbara Havers begins to adjust to her new home and feels guilty about not visiting her mother as often as she should. If continuity from one book to another is important to you, you will probably find less here than you wanted.
Those who will be disappointed with this book will be fans of For the Sake of Elena who wanted to see another fascinating victim. Fleming is a complex character, but one who falls well below Elena in terms of his inherent ability to attract a reader's interest. But this book certainly does have more than its share of richly complex characters, especially in Olivia, who provides much of the book's narration. If you are looking for great cricket descriptions, those are missing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Hurts, 18 Jun 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Elizabeth George continues her superb exploration of the theme of how love affects us in this engrossing police procedural. For once, she balances her powerful character-development skills with an intriguing plot to explore an intriguing mystery. This is the work of a master with all her talents fully on display.
The title refers to the UK-Australian cricket rivalry. If you don't know cricket, relax. Although cricket is part of the book's backdrop, you don't need to know anything about it to enjoy the book.
The stage is set when the UK's foremost cricket batsman, Kenneth Fleming, is found dead in a country cottage, the apparent victim of an arson-based fire. But he seems misplaced. The man was supposed to be in Greece with his elder son. What's going on?
Thomas Lynley and Barbara Havers face their toughest case yet as they probe the causes of the celebrity death while the tabloid headlines scream their usual exaggerated fare. There are plenty of clues . . . but they don't tie into any particular suspect . . . and the usual suspects all have alibis. How will they solve the case?
For me, the biggest appeal of this book is its broad look at attraction, parental love, romantic love, marital love, love among friends and love for our fellow creatures. She also does a remarkable job of exploring the hate and cruelty that come through the dark side of love. Ms. George takes the position that we are bound to be ensnared in harmful ways by all of these loving feelings, but that we wouldn't be human if we weren't. Our challenge: To do the right thing whenever enough passion cools its grip enough to allow us to function somewhat rationally.
Most of the attention is on characters who only appear in this book. The main development of the continuing characters comes as Lynley tries again to persuade Lady Helen to marry him. Barbara Havers begins to adjust to her new home and feels guilty about not visiting her mother as often as she should. If continuity from one book to another is important to you, you will probably find less here than you wanted.
Those who will be disappointed with this book will be fans of For the Sake of Elena who wanted to see another fascinating victim. Fleming is a complex character, but one who falls well below Elena in terms of his inherent ability to attract a reader's interest. But this book certainly does have more than its share of richly complex characters, especially in Olivia, who provides much of the book's narration. If you are looking for great cricket descriptions, those are missing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Elizabeth George could become a delicious habit!, 24 Feb 1999
By A Customer
The first scene of this delightfully intriguing book is an unforgettable blend of prose that reels you in by its end and makes it nearly impossible not to continue reading at a furious pace. Although not the first of George's series with these detectives, it was the first of her books that I ever had the pleasure of reading. The plot is complex and overlapping, but not dauntingly so. And the sports connection will surely appeal to the British reader, as it even kept the interest of this "poor", cricket-impaired American! But, beware. Read it and risk becoming hooked on George -- if you aren't already. Since reading this entry in the series, I have bought and devoured every one of her mysteries. Although, without belittling the others, I would have to admit that this one remains my favorite to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not leg before wicket, 23 Aug 2003
This review is from: Playing for the Ashes (Paperback)
This was the first Elizabeth George book I read - although I have since read them all in chronological order.
This is a well constructed insight into the human psyche that will not disappoint. The plot is multi-stranded with intricate twists and turns that will keep your imagination well exercised!
As a long-time fan of PD James, I had expected to be able to draw comparisons between her and Elizabeth George; I can, but only in terms of the high standard of writing - their styles are quite different.
If you are concerned that you need an in-depth understanding of cricket to be able to read this book - you most certainly don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holds your attention, good plot, but....., 30 Aug 2000
By A Customer
I very much enjoyed the book and it held my attention well. It thought it was well written and the plot well crafted. However, I did find some aspects of the book improbably at best, particularly from a behavioural standpoint, for example I found it highly implausible that a British Police Inspector would do his 'rounds' in London in a Bentley, no matter what his background or funding. In spite of this, a very good read, and I will definately read more of Elizabeth George if not only to explain some of the background of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intricate and detailed human drama, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
When Kenneth Fleming, England cricketer, is found dead in a Kent cottage the press have a field day. Lynley and Havers are called in to investigate but rapidly find that almost everyone he came into contact with had a potential motive to murder him.

I find Elizabeth George quite an uneven writer but this is right up there with her best books. While it certainly follows a police investigation, it's actually much more of an intricate and detailed human drama.

Split between the Lynley/Havers investigation, Lynley's own personal life with the incredibly irritating and slappable Lady Helen, and the first person narrative of Olivia, daughter to Kenneth's long-time mentor and patron, this is a multi-dimensional and long book that travels some very painful paths.

If you're looking for a straightforward whodunnit then this might frustrate with its meandering narrative. But if you're interested more in the people and their lives that get caught up, sometimes peripherally, in a police investigation then this is excellent.

George plays down some of her more amusing Americanisms here (Lynley, Lord Asherton, at Scotland Yard with no-one batting an eyelid at his swanning around in his Bentley, his pocket-watch, his hand-made suits and shoes and his live-in butler...!) and delivers something that feels very substantial and satisfying. Not always an easy read (emotionally) but a highly recommended one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Realistic thriller but with some niggly faults, 5 Aug 2000
By 
J. C. Harrison (Wigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a first time reader of Elizabeth George and read this book on holiday after being recommended by my Mum. Easy to follow (no complicated plot) with thorough grounding. However I was disappointed that some of the factual police procedure, especially in relation to the questioning of Jimmy, was far from the real world. I felt irritated that facts that should have been properly researched by the author, were not. Apart from this, very enjoyable! Wide use of coarse language and sexual nuances may offput some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping story line, But.........., 6 July 2001
By A Customer
I read this book whilst on holiday, I found the story line very gripping. The two strands in the book came together very well, but i expected a few more twists therefore i was dissapointed with ending. The use of sexual phrases and the detailed story line of vivisection may offend some people but i would definatly recommend this book to crime novel fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excetllent thriller, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really gripping detective yarn as are all Elizabeth George's books, lots of twists to keep one guessing until the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Playing for the Ashes, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am reading all of the Inspector Lynley series in order. Elizabeth George is a talented and clever writer. Could not put this book down and can't wait to start the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Playing for the Ashes (Inspector Lynley)
Playing for the Ashes (Inspector Lynley) by Elizabeth George (Paperback - 7 Jun 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews