Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Lynley and Havers Fans
"Who knows what darkness lies in the hearts of men? Only the Shadow knows." That opening from the old radio show came to mind as I reread this book about the almost unspeakable evils that people do to one another.
First published in 1988, A Great Deliverance is the first book in the distinguished series featuring Inspector Thomas Lynley and Detective Sergeant Barbara...
Published on 3 May 2005 by Donald Mitchell

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reissue
This is a re-issue of Elizabeth George's first book about Inspector Lindley and Barbara. Publishers should make it absolutely clear when they re-issue a title. Fans of Elizabeth George will love the book, but may be extrememly disappointed if they read it years ago!
Published on 5 April 2012 by peta


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Lynley and Havers Fans, 3 May 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Who knows what darkness lies in the hearts of men? Only the Shadow knows." That opening from the old radio show came to mind as I reread this book about the almost unspeakable evils that people do to one another.
First published in 1988, A Great Deliverance is the first book in the distinguished series featuring Inspector Thomas Lynley and Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, the English detective duo who have delighted so many readers since then. I first read this book many years ago and was impressed at the time by the careful character development. Little did I know that that character development would make the subsequent series such a remarkable delight. Rereading the book now, I must say that I don't remember a first book in a detective series that did nearly so much to establish the backgrounds, thought processes, influences and loves of the lead characters. I'm much more impressed than the first time.
As the story opens, Father Hart is on a pilgrimage to Scotland Yard to help heal a rift among those who have been investigating the beheading of a local farmer. While most detectives would feel that finding the farmer's daughter, Roberta Teys, next to the body as she confesses that she's guilty would be enough evidence, Father Hart believes that Roberta is innocent. Thus, Scotland Yard enters the case. Havers is dispatched to haul Lynley back from a wedding he's attending, and the reader is soon enmeshed in "what might have been" thoughts concerning the lives of both Lynley and Havers.
Lynley is the golden boy, the eighth earl of Asherton, who doesn't even need to work . . . but who sees work as his obligation. Havers is a loose cannon of emotions, instincts and prejudice . . . but who's brilliantly and doggedly determined to find the answers to any crime. How they develop comfort with one another is quite intriguing in the book.
The mystery itself is pretty straightforward, so don't look for that aspect of the book to delight you with its charm. If you judge mysteries by how hard the mystery is to solve, this one will be a 2 or 3 star effort to you.
But if you love rich, complex characters with nuanced reactions in tricky situations, this book will delight you.
Literature fans will appreciate the references that are included in sorting out the mystery.
Those who require absolute accuracy in all aspects of what's English will detect false notes here and there. Still, the overall result is quite impressive coming from an American. And most American readers won't be able to tell the difference anyway.
If the mystery had been better designed, this could have been one of the great mystery stories of all time. Do read on. There are many other fine books in this series. The rich character development in this book will add much delight to your reading in the subsequent ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The first novel in the Lynley/Havers canon - Start here!, 24 Jun 2000
By 
Mr. D. J. Carr "David Carr" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Let's get the bad news out of the way first: Elizabeth George's writing is generally below par when detailing the thoughts and deeds of the upper classes. She also has the tendency when setting out the prose of Scottish characters to reduce the speech to a phonetic travesty of real dialect.
However, and here is the good news, her plotting of the details of the mystery is both detailed and believable, while her character Havers is a brilliant success. The reader is treated to a realistic analysis of the difference between people's real thoughts, emotions and intentions and the perceptions of these same elements when seen through either unsympathetic - or simply unknowing - eyes.
The personal problems faced by Havers will sound familiar to many readers, and this adds a further realism to the action. Havers is human, flawed, bloody-minded, but ultimately brings her own unique insight to the case.
Unlike some series, the personal lives of the main characters develop book by book, and the best way to appreciate the characters is to live their lives from the beginning.
So, start here, and although the journey through her novels will be sometimes not always as smooth or as clear as one would wish, the standard not always staying at the very top, I am convinced that you will agree that Elizabeth George rarely short-changes you, and you will feel sad when you've reached the end of her most recent release and actually have to wait for her to write the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reissue, 5 April 2012
This review is from: A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley Mysteries 1) (Paperback)
This is a re-issue of Elizabeth George's first book about Inspector Lindley and Barbara. Publishers should make it absolutely clear when they re-issue a title. Fans of Elizabeth George will love the book, but may be extrememly disappointed if they read it years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outrageous!, 5 April 2012
This review is from: A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley Mysteries 1) (Paperback)
I just found out about this very obvious matter of a re-issue by an advertising e-mail titled, of all things: "Elizabeth George's NEW BOOK"! How dare you!!! Certainly all of us fans of Elizabeth George are waiting impatiently, hoping there will be a follow-up to "This Body of Death", now Inspector Lynley is back. But this is not a new book, and you may NOT call it a "new book".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT A NEW BOOK, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley Mysteries 1) (Paperback)
Yes, as the previous reviewer said, this is a re-issue, and however interesting should not be touted as a new book. Beware such advertising. I might have bought it for my kindle had this style of advertising not annoyed me so much...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars interesting plot buried in absolute drivel, 15 April 2013
By 
L. Gavigan "Gavibum" (W. Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hadn't ready any of Elizabeth George's books before so thought I start with an early one. The plot of the thriller is actually quite good but it's ruined by the ridiculous American view of the British class system - even given that it's set in, I guess the '60s, it's written with the attitudes and preconceptions of the 1930's and is so riddled with cliches as to be completely ridiculous. That said, I did read to the end to find out who dunnit albeit with gritted teeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Lynley and Havers Fans, 3 May 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Who knows what darkness lies in the hearts of men? Only the Shadow knows." That opening from the old radio show came to mind as I reread this book about the almost unspeakable evils that people do to one another.
First published in 1988, A Great Deliverance is the first book in the distinguished series featuring Inspector Thomas Lynley and Detective Sergeant Barbara Havers, the English detective duo who have delighted so many readers since then. I first read this book many years ago and was impressed at the time by the careful character development. Little did I know that that character development would make the subsequent series such a remarkable delight. Rereading the book now, I must say that I don't remember a first book in a detective series that did nearly so much to establish the backgrounds, thought processes, influences and loves of the lead characters. I'm much more impressed than the first time.
As the story opens, Father Hart is on a pilgrimage to Scotland Yard to help heal a rift among those who have been investigating the beheading of a local farmer. While most detectives would feel that finding the farmer's daughter, Roberta Teys, next to the body as she confesses that she's guilty would be enough evidence, Father Hart believes that Roberta is innocent. Thus, Scotland Yard enters the case. Havers is dispatched to haul Lynley back from a wedding he's attending, and the reader is soon enmeshed in "what might have been" thoughts concerning the lives of both Lynley and Havers.
Lynley is the golden boy, the eighth earl of Asherton, who doesn't even need to work . . . but who sees work as his obligation. Havers is a loose cannon of emotions, instincts and prejudice . . . but who's brilliantly and doggedly determined to find the answers to any crime. How they develop comfort with one another is quite intriguing in the book.
The mystery itself is pretty straightforward, so don't look for that aspect of the book to delight you with its charm. If you judge mysteries by how hard the mystery is to solve, this one will be a 2 or 3 star effort to you.
But if you love rich, complex characters with nuanced reactions in tricky situations, this book will delight you.
Literature fans will appreciate the references that are included in sorting out the mystery.
Those who require absolute accuracy in all aspects of what's English will detect false notes here and there. Still, the overall result is quite impressive coming from an American. And most American readers won't be able to tell the difference anyway.
If the mystery had been better designed, this could have been one of the great mystery stories of all time. Do read on. There are many other fine books in this series. The rich character development in this book will add much delight to your reading in the subsequent ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book! I have seen
the television adaptation and enjoyed it but it didn't follow the book completely. I think the book is better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Gripping Novel, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this novel thoroughly enjoyable on many levels. It is an essential read for fans of Elizabeth George as it sets the scene and explains many of the relationships which are important in her later novels. The characters are well portrayed and the murder investigation explores issues such as child abuse which are relevant to all classes and times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and boring, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley Mysteries 1) (Paperback)
I usually like detective series books and thought I would try this series.I found the writing tedious, boring and very hard work. I won't be buying any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb577551c)

This product

A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley Mysteries 1)
A Great Deliverance (Inspector Lynley Mysteries 1) by Elizabeth George (Paperback - 12 April 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews