Customer Reviews


3,784 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,070)
4 star:
 (488)
3 star:
 (137)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


620 of 634 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising glimpse into the hidden world of life on London's streets
In its own way this is Orwell for the 21st century. Yes, the cat is cute, yes the story is a simple one. But it's genuinely revealing about the kind of life led by people who live at the bottom of society's net - if not underneath it. It's plainly but surprisingly well written, and very readable; and if you live in London some of the details of how such things as busking...
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by megamurph

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A street cat named bob
A good read that will touch many a cat lovers heart. The authors personal struggles were explained well and it was probably impossible not to like the book - well done for a first attempt.
Published 22 months ago by Warbaby52


‹ Previous | 1 2379 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

620 of 634 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising glimpse into the hidden world of life on London's streets, 20 Mar 2012
In its own way this is Orwell for the 21st century. Yes, the cat is cute, yes the story is a simple one. But it's genuinely revealing about the kind of life led by people who live at the bottom of society's net - if not underneath it. It's plainly but surprisingly well written, and very readable; and if you live in London some of the details of how such things as busking and Big Issue selling work are riveting. Most of all though, it's a window on motivation - on how and why people who've apparently given up on themselves might finally be spurred to get their life together. Everyone who works in the benefits and charity industry ought to read this book because the answer probably isn't the one they get given in their seminars. Oddly enough it's an answer human beings have been giving each other since time began - it's love, giving as much as getting, that can make the difference, even if the love object in question has fur. Being responsible for another creature's health and happiness can give even the most hopeless drug addict a reason to change. And services which help those who are down and out need to recognise that truth and make their facilities pet friendly wherever possible. Too often homeless people can't access housing, medical care, and the rest simply because their dog or cat is banned - treated as an optional extra rather than a member of their family and a possible motivation to a better life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


282 of 290 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Star is Born, 18 Mar 2012
This is a great story and very moving. James, a street musician, rescued Bob a sick, street-battered cat, when he found him sheltering in his block of flats five years ago. This is the tale of two people, a man and a cat, who found each other and gave each other hope and a future.

James writes honestly about the life he led when he was a recovering heroin addict, about the battles he's had to fight, about the loneliness of life on the streets and about how meeting Bob helped him turn his life around. I have nothing but admiration for him - it takes guts to beat an addiction. It takes a special sort of bravery and determination to pull yourself back up when you are alone and down. When one dreary follows another, when it's hard to see any future.

James wasn't looking for any reward when he took Bob in, he couldn't possibly have known what the future would bring. Now, because of his own act of kindness, James has hope and a new life. It's a lovely heartwarming book, full of humour as well as courage and determination. I really hope it will help a lot of people be more understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable, heartwarming tale, guaranteed to raise anyone's spirits, 6 April 2012
By 
S. Howarth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a beautiful, moving and extremely uplifting story about both James and Bob's lives and how they came together. The author dovetails a revealing and surprisingly frank account of his troubled past with his emerging responsibility as parent and guardian of Bob, his gorgeous ginger Tom.

James' recovery from drug addiction and his difficulties with both the Police and authorities, other buskers, Big Issue vendors, and especially unkind and cruel members of the public, gave me an eye-opening insight into the challenges faced by those who don't quite fit into the mould society demands and crash out onto its margins. It challenged my own prejudices actually, which surprised me because I've always considered myself to be both compassionate and liberal. And yet it's true, I often treat those such as James without the acknowledgement or respect that they are entitled to and deserve, looking upon them as a nuisance or as little more than drugged-up beggars, when often they are doing nothing more than trying to make an honest living selling magazines to turn their lives around.

Most amazingly, I had the totally unexpected good fortune to bump into James and Bob in Covent Garden just two days ago, and was delighted to get my book signed personally by the author, for a generous donation of course! And I can absolutely attest to the fact - in person - that Bob is both incredibly friendly and unbelievably calm and cute in the face of crowds of fascinated passers-by. I wish James and Bob the greatest of success for the future and hope this turns into something much greater for them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely story... everyone should have a Bob..., 19 Mar 2012
By 
Tsui Tsang "?" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If the book was fiction i would think it was a bit far-fetched and the fact it's true makes it the ultimate feel-good story. I absolutely loved the tale of how they found each other and then became inseparable - such kindred spirits are rare even amongst members of the same species. It's well written, touching and funny and if you don't feel that little bit better after reading it you must be made of stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing! Read in few hours!, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I work in Covent Garden and as soon as I knew that the book was coming out I pre-ordered it! I wanted to go to Islington Green on the 13th but unfortunately I couldn't :( hope Bob and James will write a dedication for me in the next days!

Btw, amazing book!

Maow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Entertaining, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. D. C. Shelley (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
SUPERB.

I haved not enjoyed a book as much as this for a long, long time.
It is primarily a happy book, so refreshing in these days of ever depressing doom and gloom.
Simply obtain, sit down, and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


183 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely uplifting and heartwarming read, 15 Mar 2012
By 
J. Sanderson "Blah Blah" (Core) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Seeing Bob and James together on the street puts a smile on my face every time I see them and the book does the same.
Reading their story not only gave insight to their background but was very uplifting and heart warming as well.
Good luck to them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


148 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If I'd been a cat,I'd have been on my ninth life", 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful read and a very touching story! If James managed to combat the drugs, what are others "waiting" for?... The answer is in his book (strongly recommend it to the "Connections", "Camden Project", "Job+" etc charities)
Well, this is not Irwin Shaw, or Leo Tolstoy, or Allan Bennet, but James' warm and genuine style and you will love it!
Taking us through his own maze of doubts, joy, disbelief, laugh, love and hope, James proved there is no need to wait for their "ninth life", if people want to change their current one.
Well done to you, James and to Bob, your lovely cat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 19 Mar 2012
This book was amazing. I really liked reading about someone who feels the way I do about cats.Animals can change your life and be your family. A very touching story, highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars street cat named bob, 17 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book deserves to be a bestseller wishing bob and james good luck for the future.Easily five stars.A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2379 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Street Cat Named Bob: How One Man and His Cat Found Hope on the Streets
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews