Customer Reviews


4,265 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,469)
4 star:
 (554)
3 star:
 (148)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


661 of 677 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising glimpse into the hidden world of life on London's streets
In its own way this is Orwell for the 21st century. Yes, the cat is cute, yes the story is a simple one. But it's genuinely revealing about the kind of life led by people who live at the bottom of society's net - if not underneath it. It's plainly but surprisingly well written, and very readable; and if you live in London some of the details of how such things as busking...
Published on 20 Mar. 2012 by megamurph

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute book
This book, although simply written, is a heart warming story that I enjoyed even more since I had seen these two busking in Covent Garden. An easy read that makes you feel grateful for what you have.
Published on 7 Aug. 2012 by Bookworm


‹ Previous | 14 5 6427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking good read, 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super book. I found it a quick easy read . There was no self pity just what can I do to get on. Admire James and love the bond between this pair. I saw them last time we were in London and had a bit of a tickle with Bob. Hope to see them next time. Actually hope they don't need to sell big issues any more . So , go on ,buy the book . i did and loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review, 25 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets (Hardcover)
I loved this book, and would recommend it highly. As a cat lover, I could relate to the relationship between Bob and James. It is well written and easy to read, and gives great insight into the hardships faced by the homeless population. I have even started to buy the Big Issue !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 29 July 2012
This review is from: A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets (Hardcover)
THE ONLY THING THAT MATTERS
IS BEING WITH SOMEBODY THAT MAKES YOU FEEL
THAT YOU MATTER

Nobody can deny that this poor sickly cat turned James's life around. They found each other when James was at his most vulnerable, and who knows what would have happened to Bob if he hadn't met James, and who knows what would have become of James (a recovering addict) if he hadn't met Bob. This is a most wonderful heartwarming story of two unlikely souls colliding at the very time they both needed to be loved. Bob really does make James feel that he matters and James most certainly makes Bob feel that he too matters. What else is there in life? If we could all achieve this status wouldn't life be amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always thought cats choose their 'owners' (wrong word but I can't think of another at present) and this is the most wonderful example. Also an example of what would make us all nicer people - Kindness. If James had not had the kindness to spend all he had to get treatment for Bob it may have had a different result and now both their lives have changed beyond imagination. Bob seems to take all the TV appearances and attention as if it his due - a real pro. Since reading the book I am a huge fan - their love and story brings lightness to a world that sometimes feels like it needs it. Well done James and well done Bob. Your story is an inspiration - I look forward to the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you smile and shed a tear at the same time, 21 Mar. 2012
This review is from: A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets (Hardcover)
It has been a long time since I felt like I have had time to read and it was a complete coincident that I even came across this book, but this book literally made me sit down and read for 2 evenings strait.
My heart was overflowing with love reading this book, for the love between James and Bob but also how a little compassion from strangers can make a big difference in someone's life.
Defiantly worth a read or to give away as an amazing present that would be so much more than just a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely amazing and uplifting a must for anybody...., 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets (Hardcover)
This is just an amazing story.... i bought the book after seeing james and bob on breakfast TV.... how gorgeous is Bob... !! and how kind is James ... Everybody should read A Street Cat Named Bob just to understand what some people have to go through and that not everybody who lives on the street is bad...... some people fall on hard times and need something in their life to help them back to normality.... and here James has his inspiration in the form a most gorgeous Ginger Tom called Bob...... I hope i get to see bob and james when i'm in london one day..... definitely a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A street Cat Named Bob : How one man and his cat found hope on the streets, 9 April 2012
This review is from: A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets (Hardcover)
I saw the pair on this morning and had to buy the book. I could not put it down, it is such a wonderful uplifting story that stirs a lot of emotions. I laughed, was afraid for the pair and cried especially at the end. James and Bob are such an inspiration in such bleak times it is lovely to read of such trust, love and hope. I really wish the pair all the very best and hope this is the beginning of some easier times for them, they deserve it. I hope there will be a follow up book so I can see how the two are doing. Thank you James and Bob for sharing your story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired by the author of A Street Cat Named Bob, 2 Jan. 2013
I'd heard about James and the cat ages before I made the connection. I was travelling from a theatre after taking 200 children to see Sister Act and a colleage's friend was talking to me about it on the coach. The next time I was in London I found myself face to face with them both in Covent Garden but only had the time to donate a coin and a smile as my elderly mum had gone ahead of me.Then I bought the book whilst visiting my daughter at York Uni. This is when the real connection was made.It sounds crazy but I really feel as though I've known them for years. The way the book is written does make you feel that way. It's an amazing story in it's own right but the seed of empathy is sown when you read about our homeless people.James highlights the plight of things that are happening on our own doorstep. I'm aware of local charities but I wasn't aware of how the Big Issue vendors operate until I read the book.It's my intension to do my next art project based on nomadic people and I will include our homeless folk as part of it.I had already begun to collect information and photo's and I now have primary information contained in James' book on how people struggl on a daily basis.Someone asked me last week if I liked their bag. It was a St Giles Trust bag and it said on it "how would you feel if the contents of your world would fit into this bag" I said I liked it and he said "you can have this one if you want, but it has my things in it" the guy offered me his bag, how humbling is that? Thank you James and all the very best to you and Bob. Hopefully I'll bump into you again and not have to rush on by. Take your time with the next book and enjoy writing it, much love from Jayne xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing story, you won't be able to put it down..., 23 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets (Hardcover)
I've seen Jim and Bob around Covent Garden for quite a few years now so when I found out Jim had penned a book I made a note to read it as soon as possible.

The book really didn't disappoint, In fact I couldn't put it down. It's a really touching story, one that will make you shed a tear and laugh out loud. Bob the cat is a remarkable and the bond he and Jim share is amazing.

I'm so glad that after such a turbulent few years on the streets Jim found Bob, and I hope this isn't the last we hear from them both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Street cat named Bob, 6 Mar. 2013
An interesting tale of a man who found a way back to being human through interaction with the cat whom he felt had had as hard a time as he had himself. I am more likely to buy Big Issue now as a painless way for me to give encouragement to others trying to get a toehold back into society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews