Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The sequel to best-selling 'Cleo' by Helen Brown, 9 May 2012
By 
Ismay1012 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cats and Daughters: They Don't Always Come When Called (Hardcover)
I've awaited this book for a while now - the sequel to the heart-warming true story of the little black cat called Cleo who helped Helen and her family through the tragic accident that stole Helen's young son Sam from them when she was just 28 years old, and how Cleo bought laughter back into their family.

This continues on Helen's story after the sad death of 24-year-old Cleo. It tells of Helen's determination that no other feline will grace their new home (Where have I heard that before?) . However when she battles cancer and particularly as she recovers from her mastectomy, her visiting sister spots an adorable kitten in a pet shop window (`Who in their right mind buys a kitten from a pet shop?'). Well, when Helen sees this particular Tonkinese kitten she is spell bound and thinking up a name for him before the tills ring out her ownership. This is the scene setting for the rest of Helen's story involving a family wedding, the birth of her first grandchild, her daughters conversion to Buddhism and of course Jonah's initiation into her family. Helen also visits Sri Lanka to visit her daughter and is mesmerised but this island that began its life as an island called Serendipity. It's a lovely story about family life, love and acceptance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cats and Daughters: They Don't Always Come When Called, 13 Jun. 2012
By 
Maureen Riesterer (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cats and Daughters: They Don't Always Come When Called (Hardcover)
Loved this book.
Helen's style of writing just draws the reader in,being a Mother of two daughters I could relate to her story.
Her sense of humour throughout her book is amazing,I laughed out loud.
This is a really uplifting book.
Thankyou Helen for sharing such a personal account of your life and of course Lydia,not forgetting the rest of the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming story about mothers and daughters, 8 July 2012
This review is from: Cats and Daughters: They Don't Always Come When Called (Hardcover)
This story explores a woman's journey with breast cancer, and her complicated relationship with her daughter who wants to become a Buddhist nun. It is a story about healing, acceptance and letting go. I couldn't put it down - reading "Cats and Daughters" became my full-time job over the course of one weekend. It was fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helen writes in a very absorbing way, a real page turner just like Cleo. Would have liked more detail about little Jonah and slightly less about her elder daughter though. Or a different, more appropriate title maybe. Very enjoyable book, anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful story, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This follows on from Helen's first book, 'Cleo' that I fell in love with. It continues the story of Helen's life with her family and adapting to life after Cleo, unexpectedly Helen found herself with a new kitten and it's here that we meet Jonah. Parts of his adventures in the household made me laugh and there were times when I hoped that all would turn out well for all involved, don't want to give anything away. This is a really uplifting read and very easy to lose yourself in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars after Cleo came Jonah, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an incredible writer Helen Brown is , I was kept spellbound by this book as I had with her first book Cleo! Not only was the book about her new cat Jonah it continues to tell the story of Helen's breast cancer journey ! Helen's daughter Lydia's adventures in Sri Lanka as a pre- Buddhist nun! Amazing & very humbling! A must read !

Mrs J Adams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helen Brown has a wonderful style of writing, so easy to read, (and for someone with dyslexia that's a must) . Her books both Cleo and Jonah are so uplifting, especially for people who have lost loved one's. She has that great knack of having you crying one minute and laughing the next. Through out everything she never seems to loose sight of her great sense of humor, I recommend these books to everyone who loves their pets, their brilliant. Anne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Love Love Helen Brown's books, such a good writer and a truely wonderful read., 19 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not one for reading, infact I hate it! I'm dyslexic too which makes me get really fustrated when reading something but this book, along with H Brown's Cleo book I have been able to really enjoy a good read. I have laughed reading these books, cried and so many other emotions from what a book should give to their reader.

Buy this book, great for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love cats you'll love this!, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed Helen Brown's book Cleo so just had to read this follow-up and wasn't disappointed. It's not solely about a cat but about the family as well and very easy to relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tears and Laughter - what a mixture, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this particular book as I had already read "Cleo" and found it entertaining and extremely moving. I am only a third of the way through reading "After Cleo came Jonah" but am finding it just as good. So far there is nothing about the book, that I dislike and I would recommend it to anyone who likes to read about real people's lives. Helen Brown has suffered more than her fair share of knocks in life but hasn't allowed them to blight everything for evermore. Writing about it has obviously been part of the healing process for Helen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cats and Daughters: They Don't Always Come When Called
Cats and Daughters: They Don't Always Come When Called by Helen Brown (Hardcover - 12 April 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews