Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast paced great read
This is yet another great read from the pen(Apple Mac)of Stephen Leather. Dan Shepherd is now into his 10th story and in my mind at his best. This is a fast paced easy to read and follow book. The only problem you will find is putting it down. This like all the other Spider Shepherd stories is responsible for me getting some very late nights and very tired days at work...
Published 21 months ago by Shaun Allen

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not up to the mark
Hastily written poor plot and rambling.
Not very believable.
Hope that future spider tales are crafted with more carefully constructed detail.
Published 21 months ago by S. Pemberton


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast paced great read, 20 July 2013
This review is from: True Colours: The 10th Spider Shepherd Thriller (Hardcover)
This is yet another great read from the pen(Apple Mac)of Stephen Leather. Dan Shepherd is now into his 10th story and in my mind at his best. This is a fast paced easy to read and follow book. The only problem you will find is putting it down. This like all the other Spider Shepherd stories is responsible for me getting some very late nights and very tired days at work. This is a great read and I would recommend it to anyone. I just hope there is more of Mr Shepherd to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good work read, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. C. C. Bovell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the book, had several treads that pulled together gradually during the plot. There was a good climax of all the stories coming together and locking in. It forced you to make morale choices about what the characters did.

I also found the author to have done a lot of research on the military, crime and police networks. so if you like action and thriller this is your book. It kinda feels real, it has modern social references too which creates an atmosphere and mood. Makes you think about society to a degree as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid Spider book, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Jones (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Colours: The 10th Spider Shepherd Thriller (Hardcover)
As always with this series, I was hooked early and read it quickly.

The plotting is efficient and the two story lines kept me gripped though there was not a genuine sense of jeopardy. Regular readers of this series know what to expect and this doesn't disappoint.

The moral ambiguities that Spider has to juggle with are now an established aspect of these books and I enjoyed the way that the reader is made to think about the difficult decisions that have to be made. This book opens with Spider undercover and trying to stop a group of racists from targeting a muslim fanatic. This is set against Spider's temptation to use foul play to gain revenge against a Taliban fighter from years ago later in the book.

I'd recommend reading Kill Zone first as it adds to the all round depth of this story though it'll cosy you an extra 60p or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good read from the master of modern political terror keep up the good work Mr Leather. Highly recommended holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mange toute Rodney, mange toute, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Colours: The 10th Spider Shepherd Thriller (Hardcover)
Stephen Leather is not James Joyce or Oscar Wilde and he doesn't claim to be. He is however a writer of easy modern thrillers and in creating Dan "Spider" Shepherd he's come up with a winning formula for a modern hero.
On this outing he's minding a Russian Oligarch with a price on his head, tracking down a Taliban adversary with some old mates including one who's turned into an alky and another who's turned Pattaya based drug baron.
As he always does Steve's hit the mark with True Colours, if you want a good honest blokey thriller, this is the book for you.
If you'd like to lift the lid a bit more on what goes on in Thailand try Last Seen in Bangkok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Spider story, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only very recently discovered the Spider Shepherd books, and boy, have I made up for lost time! I have read all ten in the series, plus the short stories and have pre-ordered number 11. These are well written thrillers and rattle along at a great pace. If you like action and a decent hero I thoroughly recommend the Spider Shepherd thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific read, 12 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read many of the Stephen Leather stories - this does not let you down.
Excellent - certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent as always. Can't wait for the next instalment featuring Lex no doubt. If you lone Spider you will love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Escapism into Spider's world, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this one and looking forward to the next. Not quite as tense as some previous episodes but still enjoyable. When's he going to get it on with Katya?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Colours, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book. Would thoroughly recommend to all Spider Shepherd lovers . Good plot, nice to see return of old characters .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Colours: The 10th Spider Shepherd Thriller
True Colours: The 10th Spider Shepherd Thriller by Stephen Leather (Hardcover - 18 July 2013)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews