Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real feel-good book, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Barchester (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
An attractively produced book with an inspiring and heart-warming story, fabulous photographs and some lovely homely looking must-try recipes. This book will appeal to anyone who enjoys beautiful things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cookery book and a brilliant read!, 26 Mar 2014
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
This book is beautifully written with a mixture of touching recollections, a journey through EB's developing career with some delicious soul food recipes in the mix. It is a joy to read and the photography captures the feel of the story perfectly. I recommend this to anyone...especially those who have any EB pottery in their cupboards, and enjoy the beauty of those pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
I must declare here that I am a tremendous fan of EB and collect her pottery and this book has been long awaited by all her fans. It was certainly not a disappointment. It was heartfelt and beautifully written, some of her phrases - oh I wish I could write like that! She wrote about her early life and influences and very movingly about her mother and the tragedy that befell the family.

Anyone who has been self employed will know how difficult it is to grow and sustain a business and Emma tells it like it was.

The photography is evocative, I would of course liked to have seen more pots, but that's a minor quibble, this book wasn't really about the pots, but the person who thought of a great idea and had the imagination and stamina to survive in an industry that has all but died here in the UK as well as having four children!

A wonderful book. I have it in both hardback and on my Kindle App.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
very lovely book.well presented with clear cooking instructions. VERY good photographs & ammusing articles about bridgewater origins & aimsexellent addition to any kitchen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toast and marmalade and other stories, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
i really enjoyed reading this book, and all the recipes included. it reminds me of my childhood and many happy memories of Norfolk .we have been collectors of Emma Bridgewater pottery for many years and this book encapsulates all that is good about a britiish pottery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food for the eye and the mind together in a ravishing volume, 18 May 2014
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
I bought this book on a whim, partly because it just looks so ravishing. It is. Emma's "patchwork quilt" approach to the chapters allows you to see, in the stunning photography, and read in her words, all the inspiration, robustness, and joy that you can see physically in her pots. I loved this. And the bonus recipes too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
I'm a big fan of Emma B being a Potteries girl so just loved this book. Ideal present for any Emma B fan, great,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very nice book, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
Lovely coffe table book, but also delightful stories and a great gift for any Emma Bridgewater enthusiasts.
Bought for a friend who along with her daughters are great fans of EB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very honest book, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
A very honest book. It would really make you realise how hard you have to work to set up and run your own buisness and the personal sacrifices you have to make along the way.
Much respect to Emma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories (Hardcover)
Excellent book and as described. Packed well and arrived quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories
Toast & Marmalade and Other Stories by Emma Bridgewater (Hardcover - 13 Mar 2014)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews