Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guilty until proven innocent...
When a residential unit for disabled people is burned down, all the residents are killed bar one. Jakob has Downs Syndrome and a grievance - he never wanted to be placed in the unit and he doesn't like it there. It seems to be an open and shut case but, because of his disability, Jakob is sent to a secure psychiatric hospital rather than prison and it looks like he'll...
Published 22 months ago by FictionFan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the earlier 'Thora' books
I would have liked to give this one three and a half stars - but it's not an option so felt it fairer to go for the lower mark as I would have given the earlier books in this series 4 or 5 stars (and now feel very guilty that I didn't post a review for them).
This book combines the character of Thora, the lawyer, from Yrsa's first four books, with a dash of the...
Published 20 months ago by E Evans


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars do I like Thora ?, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone to Watch Over Me (Paperback)
I remember you was one of my favourite reads of the year so far . I have read all of the thora books and I think the ghostly creepiness makes this the best . I do however find Thora one of the most annoying women I have ever read about , her opinions are very old fashioned and spinsterish and I do not understand the point of her constant moans re the useless secretary { I am guessing its humour that doesn't translate from the Icelandic ? } . Yrsa writes teenage books too and I think that some times shows in this series as there isn't the grit or the guts of my favourite Jo Nesbo , nor does she manage to create the homely characters of Camille Lackberg . The backdrop of the disabled home and of the paedophile in prison was a great story , just a shame the writing is a little tame, so the narrative lacks a dirty convincing sheen .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In the Mankell tide?, 14 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone to Watch Over Me (Paperback)
This is a long story! Quite entertaining and a decent holiday read but it is physically big and brick-like be warned.
There was a lot of what amounted to 'filling in' of domestic scenarios and whilst the narrative takes twists and
turns and pulls the reader in initially, the meandering becomes monotonous; at least it did for me. So, I was
rather hoping the culprit would be revealed and I would have guessed correctly (!) and it would be over.
If it had been delivered with more pace I think it would have been a more satisfying read, even allowing for
the 'Scandinavian' everydayness approach its impression which lingers is of being a bit tedious. It is set in
Iceland so some economic crash context is woven in to the characters' circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book yet, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Someone to Watch Over Me (Paperback)
I have read all the novels by Yrsa Sigurdardottir and it seems that she's getting better with each one. This book returns to Thora, her detective lawyer, as her main character but her personal life doesn't get in the way as much as it did with earlier books. Great plot and a thrilling story without the buckets of gore that you get in a lot of page-turners. As always, it's interesting to get a look at contemporary Icelandic life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This took a little getting into but a brilliant story, very well written, you won't want to put it down. I read it on holiday and you have to concentrate as some of the names are mind boggling but it really makes you think about how society labels people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy and scary, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one is a relentless study in human nature, it is the creepiest book I have read in decades. Well done Yrsa . I don't want to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Someone to watch over me, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an exciting story, well written, characters believable. I look forward to reading her next book.Also enjoyed the descriptions of Iceland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Glacier slow, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
M. Macleod - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author has given the story an interesting backdrop - the lives of people (and their families) with different disabilities. Plus a sinister, controlling paedophile and a hint of the supernatural. Plus Iceland's economic and financial woes. It should have been a very engaging mix, It started well but then wandered on and on. By the time than the solution to the incident had been spelled out I had lost interest in the characters and simply, doggedly, wanted to get to the final page. At times the writing felt leaden and almost pedantic. Good editor needed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it from start to finish. Great characters. Bearing in mind the story line and the characters involved there is a great deal of humour too. Will be reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The fifth novel in the "Thora" series. Really well written. You kind of know who did it but then you doubt yourself and there are quite a few possibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A slow burner, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first time I have read the work of this author. A slow build up. Gives hints at the post Bank Crash grimness of Iceland . It had a satisfactory conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Someone to Watch Over Me
Someone to Watch Over Me by Yrsa Sigurdardottir (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews