Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced, exciting and enlightening!
I don't think I've ever read such a massive book so fast but I really couldn't put this one down. I'm a big fan of Graham's non-fiction work and I didn't know what to expect about this one but it certainly exceeded expectations!

The characters are all very well developed and you get caught up in all of their stories, though I think Tozi is probably the real...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite gripping, but a little repetitive.
I had read a number of Hancock's "non-fiction", conjecture based books in the past and often found them entertaining, if sometimes a little far-fetched in their conclusions. I was therefore keen to see how he would tackle a fictional tale, albeit one restricted by known historical fact.

This is a two-day book; you won't get through it in one sitting, but I...
Published 17 months ago by Glasgow Dreamer


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why reading this book may make you a better person..., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe youre off on holiday, maybe these hot nights are keeping you up or maybe you're just chilling with a beer, GnT or a tall Pimms in the garden. Whatever you're doing this summer, read this book!
Graham Hancock who needs no introduction binds meticulous research with our own human condition...Conciousness itself!
The way the author has managed to capture the adventure and adrenaline and the whole air of a monumental collision of worlds in a way that has the characters bursting forth from the pages is truly remarkable. Sometimes the truth is stranger than fiction and the time was complex, deeply religious, rife with superstition and the unknown and yet business was good. The men and women of the time were experiencing a massive pardigm shift, rapid growth in the knowledge and collective consciousness of humankind worldwide... A time not so dissimilar from our own. Sometimes dark, sometimes so emotionally charged that the suspense becomes deafening and at the back of your mind the biggest disbelief is that these events actually happened on those days, while at the same time many different angles, agenda's and plot lines of the numerous characters play out similtaneously and seamlessly that is a delight to read. Beautifully woven through the timeline like a tappestry the plots converge in a fanfare of colour, wonder and fascination, a world of blood thirsty deieties and magic, of legend and prophecy, high technology and godlike powers, a world of honour and conquest in a time of lust for power and sacrifice and the white mans own disease- the insatiable lust for gold. Graham Hancock will take your wrist and this vehicle will guide you through the varying layers of your own consciousness and who knows, you may just become a better person for having read it... For those who do not know history are doomed to repeat it and the paralells between our own time and this, the last big renaissance of human consciousness are uncanny.
Enjoy the adventure!
- 10/10 or 3 thumbs up in old money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clash of the War Gods, 14 July 2013
By 
M. C. Morison (Athens) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fasten your seat-belts for a roller-coaster ride when you embark on War God. You meet, in short order, young Pepillo by Santiago harbour, carrying the unspeakable belongings of his master, the dark hearted inquisitor. At the same time, a few hundred miles away from Cuba, the orphaned witch Tozi is struggling to stay alive in the fattening pens, in sight of the blood soaked pyramids of the Aztecs. Dominating a pyramid is the Aztec king Moctezuma, on a huge killing spree, while his armies gather to attack neighbouring tribes to capture more victims for slaughter. Spying from a hillside above one of these armies, the courageous warrior Shikotenka, has a desperate stratagem to save his people from the altars of blood.

Graham Hancock's first novel, charting the clash of two warrior empires, is both gripping and convincing. War God is described as historical within the fantasy genre. Hancock uses forays into the paranormal to powerful effect and in a way that is entirely believable. The Spaniards, with their absolute certainty of their moral right, live in a world where saints can, and do, intervene in human affairs. Moctezuma, uses hallucinogens and the psychic power of mass slaughter, to alter his consciousness to commune with the fickle god, Hummingbird. He knows he lives in a year when the fates decree his empire is at risk and he is determined to prevent this. Young Tozi can, at great physical cost to herself, become briefly invisible to others not skilled in her magic. This is how she has, so far at least, avoided losing her heart to a slash of an obsidian knife.
Both militant Christianity and the barbarous rites of the Mexica people, involved mass slaughter of innocents. Yet within each of these traditions were individuals of true nobility who influenced the course of history. Hancock provides an attractive portrayal of the wily and courageous Cortes. The war exploits of Shikotenka presents some of the finest action writing since O'Brian's Aubrey and Maturin series.

We must hope this novel is the first of a his own series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War God: Nights of the Witch is a read worthy of high praise, 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Daniel A Sprouse (Columbus, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am ecstatic to have read the most recent Graham Hancock novel 'War God: Nights of the Witch.' The older I get, the angrier it makes me to waste time reading poorly written novels. No time wasted, it is greatly entertaining, and educational to boot.

I live in the US, so I had to order this from Amazon UK, it isn't available stateside yet. I have heard Mr. Hancock on several radio broadcasts and was intrigued by his historical perspectives. This novel is based on extensive study of the real life characters involved in Spains' conquest of Mexico. The actions of Cortes and Moctezuma (it's spelled differently than the history class texts had it,) and the timelines of their actions are painstakingly mapped to the research that Hancock undertook.

I am also a huge fan of Anne Rice, not because of her vampires, witches, mummies, but because of the talent she has for writing her characters into seemingly real lives. That is what Graham Hancock pulls off, and it is great reading. Moctezuma was by all accounts a man who wore the mantle of his office (basically that of an evil psycho-nutjob gods representative on Earth,) as well as any evil psycho-nutjob mortal could, yet Graham writes it so well that you understand what goes through the mind of a powerful leader of an empire that surely has no equal. And he writes Cortes into existence, the man sent by a technically charged empire that has the greed and the need to take them on.

I am a fan, Mr. Hancock, thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tale of blood thirsty demons manipulating man by pretending to be Gods., 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off, this is an extremely enjoyable and emotionally engaging book. It's not history, but it takes historical events and brings them to life through the fictionalised first person point of view narratives of various people set in historical settings. There is the gold and conquest crazed Spanish, who are seen through the eyes of a fourteen-year-old slave boy, as well as a bloodthirsty psychopathic lieutenant, and Cortez himself, who is written as an ambitious, conquest hungry violent man who justifies his actions through a highly dubious and unconvincing reading of the Bible, and instructional dreams of `Saint Peter,' who is most probably a demon intent on causing as much death and misery as possible. The Mayan, Aztec and Mexica people are seen through the eyes of a slave girl witch who escapes the gruesome `fattening pen,' a beautiful courtesan/prostitute, a rival war chieftain who opposes the sacrifice crazed Mexica, and the leader of the Mexica, the historical Moctezuma, who is portrayed as a cowardly psychopath who is being manipulated by a blood thirsty demon who has disguised itself as a God. The most interesting thing about this book is not the individuals themselves, but the `Gods' who are manipulating the story through their influence on the main characters in the narrative. These `Gods' appear in different forms to the different characters, but they all appear to have one thing in common. That being, they want blood, and they want as much blood as is possible. Gods, or demons pretending to be Gods? It's a fascinating question, and one that has as much relevance today as it did back in the times of Cortez and Moctezuma. This book is just the beginning of the story of the Spanish conquest of Mexico. It follows the Spanish into their first major battle, and as it ends they have their eyes on the big prize. The city of Tenochtitlan, the capital city of the Mexica, and the land that promises the Gold that the Spanish are prepared to butcher and murder for. It's a fantastic beginning, and the epic first battle between the technological advanced Spanish war machine and a woefully unprepared and overmatched Mayan tribe is awful, yet highly informative. Telling the reader exactly how such a small band of just five hundred men defeated a huge army of tens of thousands of brave but technologically overmatched warriors.
In conclusion, this is a fantastic page turning work of historical fiction. The big problem was always going to be that the Spanish were obviously murderous scumbags, and the Aztecs themselves were human sacrifice hungry scumbags as well. How do you pull for either side, when both sides consist of serial killing, murderous psychopaths who are perfectly willing to butcher thousands of people to serve their own war Gods, who are almost certainly the same demons pretending to be Gods, in order to get both sides butchering each other? It could have been an insurmountable problem, but by telling the story through characters on both sides who are essentially slaves, the author (Graham Hancock) largely gets around this problem, as the reader can pull for the individual rather than either sides of the psychopathic, blood thirsty, warring armies.
When you finish a book and your first reaction is disappointment that you've finished and there's nothing more to read, you know the author has done his job. That's how I felt after reading War God: Nights of the witch. Luckily for me, and anybody else reading this fantastic book, this book is just the beginning. The story will continue in, War God: Return of the plumed serpent. Put my name down for that one as well. I'm looking forward to reading it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War God is a MUST READ!, 7 Jun. 2013
War God is a tremendous book that weaves together fact and fiction in a spell-binding tale of adventure, conquest and one of the greatest clashes of civilizations the world has ever seen.

Graham Hancock is highly regarded for his works in non-fiction - books on early and lost civilizations across the globe that challenge misconceptions about human history, world religion and our place in the universe. While few have succeeded in crossing the chasm from non-fiction to fiction, Hancock does so magnificently with War God by meshing the two into an epic tale.

With history as his guide, Hancock takes the reader on a journey deep into the darkness of early 16th century Mexica when Hernando Cortes led his band of conquistadores on an expedition to the Yucatan under the guise of the Catholic Church and an insatiable desire for power and gold. At the time the Mexica were a highly developed and brutal civilization, constantly appeasing their Gods with worship and sacrifice. The two civilizations ultimately collide in a barbarous and ferocious conflict that pits the outnumbered but highly developed Spanish force against a massive Mayan legion.

War God is set in a dark and brutal time in history and Hancock does an incredible job of developing both the characters and their `worlds' at the time. He takes historical figures - many that are more mythical than historical by nature - and brings them to life. Other fictional characters are weaved into the story to enhance the experience of the reader, visualizing the brutalities within each civilization at the time.

As a reader of both fiction and non-fiction (mostly historical novels) I found War God hard to put down - so hard in fact that I read it in two days. Hancock captured my imagination early and kept me glued as the story unfolded. I loved the characters, the blend of fact and fiction and the vivid imagery as the two civilizations collide in battle. I was left wanting more - to see the story continue - to go deeper into the darkness as Cortes and his band of conquistadores continue their conquest!

Well done Mr. Hancock!

War God is a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly entertaining blend of historical fiction and speculative fantasy, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've read a few of Graham Hancock's non-fiction books before (particularly enjoying the utterly compelling "Underworld") and so was curious to see how he effective he would be as a novel writer.

Well I'm happy to report that he's made a pretty good job of this! For a start, picking such a fascinating period of history as the Spanish invasion of America gave him something of a head start. Next, he's included genuine historical characters and brought them to life with skill enough to make me want to do a little research into their lives and exploits. To this already potent mix, Hancock adds some fascinating supernatural elements, with both the Indians and the Spaniards seeing visions from their respective religions. Delightfully, Hancock doesn't get preachy or political. There are good and bad on both sides (although the boo-hiss villains are clearly marked out early on). Above all, this is a rattling good read. Extremely gruesome at times. Amusing at others. It's full of courage, camaraderie and high adventure. In terms of look and feel, War God reminded me on several occasions of the historical fiction of Wilbur Smith.

Only criticism is that the book loses pace on a few occasions, but stick with it and you will be rewarded with a spectacular and epic battle sequence and the clever tying up of a few loose ends (but with several still left undone to tempt you into reading the sequel - which I will certainly do).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brutal Spanish conquest Mexico., 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading Graham Hancock's second fiction book 'War God' set against the background of the early stages of the Spanish conquest of Mexico in 1518. I have read a lot of historical fiction but this was the first book I have read on that subject. I found it very enjoyable and informative but even I was shocked at just how brutal both sides were – the native Empire with its mass human sacrifices and the Spanish with their armoured war dogs trained to eat human flesh. The Native Mexicans' one redeeming feature being that they were fighting for their homeland against conquerors who wanted to enslave and rob them. The Spanish showed incredible courage in facing vast odds. Hancock shows convincingly why the military superiority of the Spanish invaders eventually triumphed. Another interesting feature of the book is the motivation of the main protagonists which was based on their personal 'mystical' experiences. Many outstanding historical characters claim a sense of destiny based on a belief that they had been singled out by 'God'. Hancock implies that perhaps the same supernatural force was at work playing both sides against the other. All in all it, was a very good read and I will look forward to his forthcoming second book on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story telling at its brutal best, 19 July 2013
By 
Michael Harris (Neath, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Graham Hancock is a non fiction writer; this was the opinion I heard from some, the idea being he SHOULD not navigate the great ocean that is between non-fiction & fiction.

Of course War God is not his first venture into fiction, his book Entangled was his first. As a teenager I read The Sign & the Seal followed by Fingerprints of the Gods which changed my entire worldview as I am sure it did for many. I can say without reservation that War God had me turning the pages as quickly as did any of Hancock's non fiction and any other novels that I have read from any author over the last half dozen years.

Hancock has an amazing writing style that enables the reader to literally feel like you are there, and this is part of the reason he has been so successful in his earlier works.

Conclusion:
War God is fantastic. Both wonderful and in parts brutal, just like the period and the events described therein. War God deserves a chance and I am here to tell any reader that this book is worth every penny which will have you mesmerised as it did me. BUY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good God: An incredible, immersive journey to the heart of the Aztec (Mexica) Empire, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"War God" is historical fiction at its best, an epic page-turner that recounts the early events of the Spanish conquest of Mexico through the eyes of its participants. Backed by extensive research of first-person accounts, Hancock breathes life into his characters -- from seminal figures like Cortés to Huitzilopochtli, the war god himself -- in a way that is entirely accessible and engaging. His richly detailed descriptions kindle the imagination and immerse the reader in the action, creating a living history that recalls the excellent novels of James Michener.

I really can't say enough positive things about the book, so here are a few highlights:
- Thoughtful selection of point-of-view characters, especially the witch Tozi
- Masterful interplay of real and mystical occurrences
- Clarification of misrepresented moments in this history

On a personal note, I find Mr. Hancock to be an inspiration. "War God" is proof positive of his ability to simultaneously educate and entertain, whether he's giving a lecture or writing a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius!, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From the moment I opened this book I was completely hooked! I've been reading Grahams work since I picked up a copy of `Fingerprints of the Gods' in the late nineties and have always found his non-fiction breathtaking, immersive and thought provoking. This was only my second foray into Graham's fiction and I was not at all disappointed except that is, until I finished the book and I realized I would have to wait for the next novel in the series.

Some of the scenes of brutality were shocking and described so vividly I felt caught up in the battles along with the characters, from the tops of blood soaked Mexica Pyramids to the gore strewn coastal plains and jungles this was a fast paced feast of a story with sackfuls of historical references thrown in for seasoning. I managed to get even more from the story by looking up the real life historical events of the main characters.

Pure genius! Well written and hugely entertaining, I loved this book from start to finish, thank you Graham, please, please hurry with the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War God: Nights of the Witch
War God: Nights of the Witch by Graham Hancock (Paperback - 27 Mar. 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews