Customer Reviews


581 Reviews
5 star:
 (330)
4 star:
 (158)
3 star:
 (59)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hugely enjoyed reaD
The basic story is hopelessly improbable. A stressed-out Harvard Law School corporate law associate at a major firm gets drunk, literally falls into a two-partner, no associates, no - ethics litigation firm and goes to work for them merrily signing pleadings, bank guarantees and promises of huge damages to contingency fees clients. BUT it is a hugely enjoyable story which...
Published on 9 Nov. 2011 by jackal

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A formula that's starting to feel very hackneyed
No need to explain John Grisham: you always know what you're going to get from this master of the legal thriller. And all credit to him for still keeping at it - with his success rate, he probably could have retired to his own Caribbean island years ago!
Over the years he's provided me with some good holiday reads, but I have to disagree with all the glowing reviews...
Published 10 months ago by Bookwoman


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hugely enjoyed reaD, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: The Litigators (Hardcover)
The basic story is hopelessly improbable. A stressed-out Harvard Law School corporate law associate at a major firm gets drunk, literally falls into a two-partner, no associates, no - ethics litigation firm and goes to work for them merrily signing pleadings, bank guarantees and promises of huge damages to contingency fees clients. BUT it is a hugely enjoyable story which had me laughing out loud at times. I was absolutely gripped, desperate to know what would happen next, read it through mealtimes, cut the dog's walk short and was half-surprised by the ending. It is a great fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


180 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable..., 28 Oct. 2011
By 
FictionFan (Kirkintilloch, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly enjoyable outing from the master of the legal thriller. Our hero, David Zinc, walks out of his high-pressure career in a huge, high-flying law firm; and walks into the firm of Finley & Figg, ambulance-chasers extraordinaire. Oscar, Wally and their secretary Rochelle (to say nothing of the dog) only just manage to keep their heads above water by pursuing injury cases and divorces, and their tactics are not the most ethical. David is a Harvard graduate and son of a judge but has never actually been inside a courtroom. This mismatched group suddenly finds itself handling a potentially massive lawsuit against a major pharmaceutical giant, being represented by David's former employers.

This book is much more light-hearted than some of Grisham's other novels and has lots of humour. Wally dreams of making it rich with one massive settlement, Oscar dreams of being rich enough to divorce his wife, while David dreams of having enough energy left at the end of the working day to start a family with his lovely (and very understanding) wife, Helen.

Well-written, as Grisham's novels always are, this time we get an insight into the distinctly unglamorous and uncertain life of the lower echelons of legal life and while it might not be much fun for the lawyers, it certainly is for us. Despite their flaws, all three of the lawyers are enjoyable characters that we warm to more and more as the book progresses. My only complaint is that Grisham's books are usually stand-alone, so we probably won't get to meet with them again. All the more reason to enjoy this outing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good times roll again for the legal novel's master, 6 April 2012
By 
JM Cunningham (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Litigators (Hardcover)
After the disappointment, as reviewed, of John Grisham's `the Associates', I did tend towards the belief that Mr. Grisham had perhaps lost his writing `edge', a problem not unknown in the creative world.

But my interest and admiration for this craftsman has been rekindled by his latest offering, `The Litigators' because in that novel, Mr, Grisham is back on top form. His dialogue is crisp, and in places extremely funny.

His plotlines were brought from real life, his writing about the small boy, damaged beyond all help by a negligent toy manufacturer is both real and understanding; his characters weren't cardboard cut-outs, but real, imperfect human beings.

I liked the manner of his hero's awakening to the drone-like truth of his existence, and especially the scenes in Abner's bar, with one of the strangest walk-on parts ever crafted being the 93 year-old millionairess who just liked getting sozzled.

A triumphant return to the best-seller listings from this wordsmith and craftsman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form !, 13 Nov. 2011
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Litigators (Hardcover)
A short review: I paid £7 for this and have just read it through in just less than 7 hours. All the main characters are portrayed as decent people especially Mr and Mrs Zinc. As someone else said the ending is easy to guess from about a third of the way in but that does not stop this being a cracking story. If your favourite film is (like me) "A Wonderful Life" I think that there is every chance you'll enjoy reading this. Not a five star effort but well worth four I think !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LITIGATORS, 26 Oct. 2011
By 
Amanda "sac" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Litigators (Hardcover)
Oscar Finley an ex cop, and Wally Figg a recovering alcoholic run a law firm in Chicago with the help of their assistant Rochelle. Their speciality, ambulance chasing, hustling injury cases and any other scam they can find proves to be not too profitable, this small company who call themselves a "boutique firm" are always looking for their big break. Along comes David Zinc, a Harvard graduate who has been working for a lucrative law firm, very high salary with too much pressure. No longer able to cope David decides on a whim to leave, after spending a drunken day in a bar reassessing his life he finds himself walking into a new job working for the incorrigible Finley and Figg. The story unfolds as the opportunity arises for these three dynamic men to take on a large pharmaceutical company who appear to be selling a lethal drug. A thoroughly interesting, well written and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A formula that's starting to feel very hackneyed, 17 April 2014
By 
Bookwoman - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
No need to explain John Grisham: you always know what you're going to get from this master of the legal thriller. And all credit to him for still keeping at it - with his success rate, he probably could have retired to his own Caribbean island years ago!
Over the years he's provided me with some good holiday reads, but I have to disagree with all the glowing reviews and say that, in my opinion, this isn't one of his best.
It started well, and although it's a familiar formula - will the ill-assorted team of ambulance-chasers win out against the evil giant corporation (in this case, Big Pharma at its worst)? - with a sprinkling of the old Grisham magic, it could have worked.
But it needed a far more focussed plot, for a start. Halfway through the book, bogged down in all the description and litigation detail, I was still waiting for something to happen. And then another plot about lead in toys popped up from out of the blue, as if he felt he needed to up the heartwarming factor.
There was a complete lack of characters to root for, too, which is always vital in these stories. These are all stereotypes I've met many times before, from the ageing, boozy hacks to the hard-nosed but sexy female lawyer in head-to-toe Prada. And because he likes to dwell on how fat and useless the cholesterol drug victims are, it was very hard to care.
Then the disillusioned but clever, hardworking and honest young gun produces a solution from out of nowhere, all the loose ends are tied up and it all ends happily.
I've read worse, but I never felt engaged with this book at all. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing little book, 15 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Litigators (Paperback)
I have only read a few of Grisham's books and they tended to be heavy going at times - I only bought this because it was on offer in a national supermarket chain. It is as if this book was by a different author. It flows surprisingly well and fits together quite naturally.

While there are moments of black humour you can see quite early on what is going to shine through. There is no preaching or long speeches educating the reader in case law or legal process which aids the flow of the story. The characters are quite real and beautifully portrayed a little at a time rather than big chunks up front. I would have liked a bit more detail as the story closes but perhaps it was written this way to set up a sequel and if so then I look forward to it.

Essentially this is the story of someone who in a moment of apparent insanity walks away from their high paid job and I suspect there are a few of us who would love to be able to do likewise.

I'm not sure what I am going to read next as this will be hard to follow and I rarely feel like that after finishing a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All kinds of law, 23 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Litigators (Paperback)
David Zinc, a young lawyer slaving away at the huge firm Rogan Rothberg, balks at going to work one day. His rebellion is so severe that he bolts like a madman and winds up at a bar, where he spends the day. Next thing, drunk as a skunk, he stumbles into Finley & Figg, a law firm the partners laughably call a "boutique" firm. Finley and Figg chase ambulances, handle divorces draw up wills for pitiably small estates, and have yet to land a lucrative account. David signs on with them and learns the ropes of their seedy practice. Figg's dream ship coming in is a mass tort lawsuit he brings against the pharmaceutical company Varrick. None of the three partners has even been in a federal courtroom, and how they manage is a lesson to readers about how mass torts are handled. Finley, Figg, and Zinc also learn, to their dismay. The last 50 pages are pure fun to read, as Zinc pulls away and strikes out for himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham pulls one out of the fireplace, 14 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Litigators (Paperback)
Sometimes a book comes along that that makes you sit up and say, `This is the greatest book the world has ever seen.' This is not that book. But it is very good. I would say perhaps the eleventh or twelfth best book ever written. What is particularly amazing is Grisham's deft use of special literary techniques like obliteration, where all the words have the same letters. There were only a few I had to look up in the dictionary.

There are a number of plot holes in the book, one of which I fell down and only managed to climb out after a day and a half. But these are more than made up for by the sheer combustible volatility of the action sequences. Particular highlights for me where the chase through Mr Jingle's allotment, the siege of the abandoned warehouse, and the bit where everyone tripped over all at once but it was apparently only a coincidence.

I have to say, the twist near the end was as unexpected as a frog in a dinner jacket. I was reading this book while drinking a cup of tea and when I learned the true identity of the apprentice mechanic's sister's boyfriend's history teacher I nearly spat my tea all over the head of the chap who was cleaning my shoes. I felt like I had been shot in the face. Luckily this was NOT the case.

I would recommend The Alligators to anyone who wants a quick read on the plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Big disappointment, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
Ole Irgens "norwegian" (Bergen, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Litigators (Hardcover)
I remember the joy of reading John Grishams best books: The Runaway Jury, The Client, The Firm, The Rainmaker and the underestimated The Chamber, maybe his finest work IMHO.

Compared to these masterpieces, The Litigators falls brutally through. The story is weak and predictable, the characters cardboard clichées. The plot is straightforward and utterly boring, and without the twist and turns one might predict from a seasoned thriller writer's hand.

I am sorry, mr Grisham: This was a major disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Litigators
The Litigators by John Grisham (Paperback - 19 July 2012)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews