Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best installment in the Dark Tower series yet!
This installment picks up a couple of months after the end of 'The Drawing of the Three', and picks up a problem with Roland's actions in the fact that he has both aided Jake after his death in 'The Gunslinger' and then prevented his death in 'The Drawing of the Three'. This is tearing his mind apart knowing the fact that two interpretations of reality exist in his...
Published on 2 Dec 1999

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful....
At the risk of offending Stephen King fans, the first 2 books are good, then it deteriorates into a self-indulgent, narcissistic self-promoting journey into how Stephen King sees himself as god.

He has certainly bowed to pressure to write this series and has over-stretched himself, either that, or he is a gold digger who thinks his fans are a bunch of mugs who...
Published 4 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A dark creation, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The first third of The Waste Lands is certainly creative. As the small band continue to develop their relationship King is intent on weaving new threads to ensure their journey remains fraught, turbulent and unpredictable. With nightmarish scenarios, including some very dark scenes, The Waste Land feels very Clive Barker, a twisted and warped melancholy is threaded throughout. Plenty of interesting characters fill out the story, however at times it feels too fleshed out, too much verbiage as King frequently falls in to eloquence rather than keeping a tight narrative. Unsettling and quirky, this entry remains entertaining enough, yet feels too much like a middle chapter and fails to deliver any real conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good continuation that makes it fresh, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Mark Chitty (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm continuing my re-read of the Dark Tower series and I'm now up to book three (book 1 is The Gunslinger and book 2 is The Drawing of the Three). I've said in the previous reviews that I love this series (why would I re-read it otherwise?), so expect me to say good things again about this one. While King once again expands the universe he's created, the central story of Roland and his quest to the Dark Tower is still very much the focus of the journey.

We pick up once again where we left off in The Drawing of the Three: Roland, Eddie and Susannah have left the beach behind and are recovering and bonding in the more habitable forest area beyond it. While Eddie and Susannah are growing closer by the day, Roland is suffering in private with two sets of memories. Both Eddie and Susannah know that something is wrong but have learnt that Roland will tell them his problem when he's ready. With both lots of memories stemming from the day he met Jake in The Gunslinger (one where he met him, one where he didn't), his actions while in the head of Jack Mort during which he stopped Jake dying (and therefore his meeting of him never took place) have left him in a confused state.

Eddie is still letting his brother's past influence and comments to him affect him. He doubts himself and struggles when he knows he must do something that Henry would rip into him about. Roland sees this and tries to tell Eddie that he must leave the past behind and be his own man now, but this is easier said than done. Susannah is starting to adjust to being one person, a combination of Detta Walker and Odetta Holmes, and she starts to move on with her life as Susannah Dean. We also follow Jake and start to see some very interesting things in his world. He too suffers from the two sets of memories and cannot help but look for a way back to Roland's world. He comes across many things that are completely strange, yet oddly familiar, that feel right to him.

It's the journey that leads to the rejoining of Roland and Jake that is the focus of much of this story, but they also travel to an old and decrepit city - Lud - where this part of their journey must end, though not without action and drama in equal amounts.

For me, the best parts of The Waste Lands are those that look at the group of Roland, Eddie, Susannah and, after a while, Jake. Not only that, but the individual character developments are a great aspect of the story. Eddie and Jake are by far the best results of this development, with Eddie just edging into the lead. The way his character has developed from when we first met him in The Drawing of the Three is pretty impressive, although he has kept that core essence that makes him so likable. Jake has grown considerably simply because of the amount of page time he has had here, all of which goes to show that investing effort in a character works very well to help bring the story to life.

I also liked the way that King has expanded that universe to show more of what has happened and what the world is like now. It's the glimpses of past glories that really make it worthwhile and gives us the depth that was needed. Lud is a perfect example and we see first hand how the world has moved on, the split in society leading to conflict and stupidity on the part of those that live there. If I had one criticism of The Waste Lands it would be the ending - the cliffhanger is just cruel! But it does the one thing it should do - it makes you want to pick up the next book pretty sharpish!

So, a good continuation of the story with some new aspects and information makes The Waste Lands a fresh step in the series. It's got everything we know and love from the previous Dark Tower books and has added enough to the pot to make the next volume one to pick up. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. Nicola Fusco (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just brilliant, possibly the best series of books ever, stephen king at his absolute best, buy it now, book a week off work, send the kids to a babysitter, and get reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 23 Feb 2000
By 
J. Beamish "Fabula" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simply fantastic. Read books 1 and 2 so that you can read this, and then say goodbye to free time for a week. A great continuation of the story but with much better depth than the previous books. No more needs to be said other than Buy It Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest books ever written!!, 6 Jun 2005
There is so much to say about this book, yet i'll try to say as little as possible. Firstly it is in two halves. The first concerntrates on the return of the boy Jake (from Gunslinger). This is perhaps the most interesting story of all those in the Dark Tower, as it solidifies his relationship with Roland, opens up the story making everything much more complex and the conclusion (to the first half) creates a new problem for our friends which wont be concluded until the final book, 'The Dark Tower). Its the mystery around the first half which drives the story forward, as well as developing the characters of Eddie and Sussanah (DOTT). The second half is based in and aroung the City of Lud, and sort of post-apocolyptic city locked in civil war. After all the puzzle solving of the first half it is almost a relief to see our friends do some real shooting again. Another King character makes his Dark Tower debut here as well although I will not say who, the conclusion is also very odd. As the Ka-Tet head out across the wastelands they find themselves in an impossible situation, one which will not be resolved until the fourth installment of the Dark Tower, Wizard and Glass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant story can't wait to read the next one :-) worth the read, keeps ya wanting to read the next chapter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOWSER!!!, 21 Feb 2004
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic book in every way. As a HUGE Stephen King fan, I am one of many true and loyal followers of Roland and his ka-tet's quest for the Dark Tower.
You cannot feel anything less than pure admiration for the characters in this long, but thoroughly enjoyable tale. King has outdone himself with the people he has brought to life in this story. I believe in them totally, and feel every emotion they feel with each page I turn.
If you enjoyed the previous installments in this series, you will not be disappointed with this one.
King is a very fitting name for this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contuning the brilliance of the Dark Tower, 14 Jan 2004
By 
TigerEyes (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
What can I say about this book? It's amazing. Read The Gunslinger and The Drawing of the Three first before picking up this one as it continues the story of Roland and his friends. It takes you further into Rolands land, meeting some interesting characters along the way, ever closer to the elusive Dark Tower. It's brilliant - read it, read it, read it!!!! And then read Wizard and Glass. But a word of warning, if you're not already a Dark Tower junkie, you may well become one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read, could not leave it down. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And now the story is really starting to take on its form, 16 May 2001
By A Customer
In this book King is starting up his story. He has his characters that he wants to complete his story and now the adventure really begins. The characters are constantly revolving around Roland. What Roland is FOR the book what the dark tower is IN the book. He is the most extraordinary character ever to set foot in a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Waste Lands: 3/7 (Dark Tower)
The Waste Lands: 3/7 (Dark Tower) by Stephen King (Paperback - 16 Feb 2012)
£7.91
Usually dispatched within 9 to 12 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews