Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King is a King for real; of Magic, beauty, wonder, darkness
The assault on your senses continues with the Wastelands and King plunges you into a much darker era than heretofore in the lives of his protagonists. He brings you to tears many a time, and to the edge of your trainseat in their many and varied perils. Take this ride with Roland and his companions, you'll be glad you did. Also, if its your first in the series, better...
Published on 15 Aug 2000

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful....
At the risk of offending Stephen King fans, the first 2 books are good, then it deteriorates into a self-indulgent, narcissistic self-promoting journey into how Stephen King sees himself as god.

He has certainly bowed to pressure to write this series and has over-stretched himself, either that, or he is a gold digger who thinks his fans are a bunch of mugs who...
Published 2 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King is a King for real; of Magic, beauty, wonder, darkness, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
The assault on your senses continues with the Wastelands and King plunges you into a much darker era than heretofore in the lives of his protagonists. He brings you to tears many a time, and to the edge of your trainseat in their many and varied perils. Take this ride with Roland and his companions, you'll be glad you did. Also, if its your first in the series, better just buy the 2 preceeding books and the subsequent title to this: you will WANT them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best installment in the Dark Tower series yet!, 2 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This installment picks up a couple of months after the end of 'The Drawing of the Three', and picks up a problem with Roland's actions in the fact that he has both aided Jake after his death in 'The Gunslinger' and then prevented his death in 'The Drawing of the Three'. This is tearing his mind apart knowing the fact that two interpretations of reality exist in his mind. He has to try and find away to stop it before he is killed by it. The story winds on to a classic confrontation with a riddle-obsessed artifical intelligence controlled train. The ending will leave you gasping for more. It has to be one of the greatest cliffhangers of all time. You must read this if you've read the previous two books if you didn't like them because this will change your whole view on the series. It's BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps up the good work, 11 Mar 2004
The Waste Lands is the third installment in The Dark Tower series, continuing the journey of Roland of Gilead and his companions through Mid-World. The first half of the book can in some ways be seen as leftover plot from The Drawing of the Three, but it also lays the foundation for the second half, making the transition between the parts barely noticeable.
The nice thing about this book is that King doesn’t ignore the paradox that was created by the events at the end of the previous book. Instead he draws the logical conclusions, incorporates the consequences into the plot of The Waste Lands, and solves the dilemma in an entirely satisfactory manner.
King also continues the trend of adding details that he has borrowed from other fantasy authors. I couldn’t help smiling when the name of a monstrous bear turned out to be Shardik, just as in the book with the same name by Richard Adams, and when Eddie recognized the name but couldn’t understand why he associated it with rabbits (Adams most well-known work is Watership Down) I laughed out loud. A nice touch, especially since it strengthens the link between Roland’s world and our world.
However, there are two reasons I won’t give this book a top grade. The first is that the pace is somewhat slower than in The Drawing of the Three. (It was noticeable easier to put it down and do other things.) The second is that despite King’s assurance in the Author’s Note that he ran out of story for the moment, it felt like the book ended before the current plot line had run its natural course. It did not really matter that much to me, since I was able to start reading Wizard and Glass right away, but it still feels a bit odd to find the logical end 60 pages into the next book of the series, written six years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dramatic and fast paced instalment into this epic series., 30 Aug 2006
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Stephen King's novel "The Waste Lands" is the third instalment of the seven part epic "Dark Tower" series. The novel runs for 512 pages out of the series total of 3712 pages.

Here we see Jake finally reunited with Roland Of Gilead once again, as the group continue their quest towards the Dark Tower. The novel develops the characters previously set down in the last two novels, allowing the reader to become further attached to this unique collection of individuals.

The book takes you deeper into King's desolate world as you are introduced into a much more action packed and violent scenario. The tale builds towards the group's arrival at the city of Lud, which has been ravaged by war and time, leaving it in a almost post-apocalyptic state. A war is being fought between the two different inhabitants of the city as Roland's group try to make their way through its streets and towards the wastelands that follow.

King has managed to keep up the characterization throughout the book whilst managing to keep the novel fast paced and full of surprises. More hints as to the reasons behind this massive quest are thrown in to the tale, without actually revealing the true nature of it. This will keep you guessing at the underlying air of mystery about the whole series. The novel also clears up some of the intentional loose ends from the last two novels, that draws the books tighter together.

The book is a thoroughly enjoyable read from start to finish, ending with another dramatic cliff-hanger to lead into the next instalment "Wizard And Glass".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all things follow the beam, 14 Jun 2007
By 
dolfanuk (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
great book again. i get fed up of writing great book but with this series i can't help it, the first three books demand that those words open your review.

the ka-tet is formed and the true journey begun. they follow the beam of bear and turtle to reach the tower, but this means they must cross the wastelands and journey through the dead city of lud.

they all go towards the tower, but not all are committed. and not all of them for the same reasons.

tick - tock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My 100-word book review, 30 April 2007
By 
A. J. Cull (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In my opinion, The Waste Lands is a contender, along with The Drawing of the Three, for the title of best Dark Tower novel. Tension, thrills and scary monsters abound, as Roland links up with the last two members of his ka-tet and they make their way along the path of the Beam. From the cyborg-haunted forests to the city of Lud, Stephen King's descriptions of Mid-World are intense enough to half-convince the reader that this must be a real place somewhere. The story gains momentum and hastens towards its cliff-hanger ending with the speed of a runaway train. Literally!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is too good!, 2 Jan 2007
Where to start???????? This book is just completely amazing! Im enjoying this Dark Tower series more than I thought I would. The last two books were thoroughly enjoyable, this book takes it to the next level.

I have read many books and I have always thought of The Stand as my favourite book ever (I read the stand about 5 years ago) but after reading The Dark Tower I have a new fav. I know its not one book, but the story is so brilliant that it has to be top of my list.

The waste lands is no stop. The first quarter of the book feels a lot like the TV show Lost (note:Mr King wrote this before the show was even a dream). Later when the gang reach the city things get very creepy, the drum beats, the cheering crowds, everything lying broken and unused. Its just so good. I cant wait to read the next book!

This is too good to put into words, just read it and feel the awe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 21 Nov 2006
By 
C. Parrott "CP" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having liked the first two 'Dark Tower' books I had certain expectations about this book and i am over joyed to say it but this book blew them all away. It is a fantastic book and easily the best book that I have ever read.

It is so gripping and tence that will make you want to keep turning over to the next page and you wont want to put it down until youhave finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed, 9 Jan 2004
Most Dark Tower fans love this book and its' not difficult to see why. King is really gaining pace now as the story begins just after the ka-tets narrow escape from the lobstrocities on the Western sea.
The key to this book is how Eddie and Susannah adapt to their role as Gunslingers and as the book progress their love for each other grows.
Another Member of the Ka-tet, Jake has a large influence on the story throughout but to say anymore would spoil it.
So, the ka-tet now makes its' way to the Tower and in this book around five major events happen to them, making this the most action packed book out of them all.
Firstly, they must find the path to the Tower, this is done by finding a guardian at the edge of a beam and then follow that path as all the beams serve/lead to a path to the Tower.
This is how they encounter the guardian in the forest, a bear and the new Gunslingers are called into action right away. The book begins at a frantic pace and keeps it up to the end.
The one annoying thing is in this book is that King leaves the readers in mid-story, a cliffhanger, forcing you to rush out and buy Wizard and Glass to find out how it ends. Reading this book before Book four was published would have been very frustrating.
Some prefer the story to say within Rolands' world whilst others like it when he dips back into New York. Unlike The drawing of the three, where the majority was in New York, this book is more balanced between the two, there is a one large New York section and that's it.
This is one of the best in the series so far so enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best book in the series!, 16 Jan 2003
I was bound to love this book! I waited four years for it! I reread the first two books to refresh the story in my head for when it was released, and I pestered bookshops on a weekly basis for a release date.
The Wastelands brings back the boy, Jake in a plot that truly displays the wonder of King's imagination, and the first true steps of the troupe's journey are taken. King's best fiction is in the slow madness of Jake, (a boy who has already died twice), but also of the Gunslinger, who's mind is being torn apart by a paradox that the gunslinger has created.
More intrigues of Roland's world are revealed, including the Beam, a single rose which exists in a development lot in Manhattan, a descendant of a German WWII fighter pilot and even a drum loop of ZZ-Top's 'velcro Fly' elevated to idol worship form yet more reference points to our world. King even starts to hint at his other novels (The Turtle in 'IT', and the priest ... in 'Salem's Lot')...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Waste Lands: 3/7 (Dark Tower)
The Waste Lands: 3/7 (Dark Tower) by Stephen King (Paperback - 16 Feb 2012)
7.91
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews