Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Mary!
This book is a great easy read, and it has a right to be included in the National Archives of many countries. The pages fly past, all illustrating the advice she gives to young people 'not to be afraid to speak the truth to power'. She comes across as a truly great woman, wife, mother, grandmother, and who is proud of Ballina. Her years of study in law prepared her to...
Published 21 months ago by F. M. Ryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing woman ... boring book
I've been so disappointed reading this book at how utterly unengaging it is.
She has had such a remarkable life and achieved so much in Ireland and internationally. A profound contribution to human rights globally and particularly for women. And yet I'm struggling to get through it, I'm skipping large chunks. It's so tedious.
Published 14 months ago by Lucy Abbott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading for anyone interested in Ireland, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. i couldn't put it down especially the early part of the book when she talked about her experiences in Ireland. thankfully an Ireland that is long gone and it's thanks to the efforts of Mrs Robinson and others like her that moved the law and the country away from a narrow view of morality to system that enshrines the rights of many.

I was less interested in her time at the UN although the fact that a woman from Mayo on the extreme western fringe of Europe could make it to the UN is amazing and an inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opened my eyes to another world, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters (Kindle Edition)
One doesn't need to be 'bolshy' to get things done on a grand scale. Mary Robinson, along with others has scaled new heights in making sure everybody matters. Great read, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story from a Fascinating Women, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters (Kindle Edition)
Mary Robinson's early story as an Irish politician then President was interesting enough, but what she really reveals in this book is the endemic bureaucracy and corruption at the United Nations. It was scary to understand how the old guard united to destroy this women because she dared to try to make changes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slow Read, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters (Kindle Edition)
Interesting in parts although did not finish the book as found it fairly boring as a whole. Admire Mary Robinson and what she accomplished but found the story as given by her daughter pretty sterile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars believes in irish womens rights, 28 Sep 2013
This review is from: Everybody Matters (Kindle Edition)
i remember the cothu awards when i was your personal hostess and the fantastic photo by lucy johnson i was the girl in the black velvet and gold dress it was nice to meet an irish icon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful person, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters (Kindle Edition)
This book portrayed a wonderful honest person who achieved so much
And also showed how compassionate a person she is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody Matters, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: Everybody Matters: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Wonderful read and beautifuly written.Definetly recommend to anybody interested in the work of the Irish President.Cant wait for her next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Hard Act to follow:, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting and detailed account of Mary Robinson's experience as UN Representative and her heroic stance against some austere prejudices by some Nations to oppose the group of colleagues linking ideas of human rights and development. Well done Mary Robinson for sticking to your guns despite the opposition of USA, as she sought reach across political and idealogical divides for meaningful dialogue, at the risk of criticism and bad press in her efforts to maintain the decade old job, one of the most important in the entire United Nations system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another present, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters: A Memoir (Hardcover)
A Christmas gift for Mother in law,kept her quiet for some time :) so a good purchase all in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 21 July 2013
By 
Niamh Ann O'Dwyer (Kenton, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everybody Matters: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the read, however toward the end of the book it became a little, dare I say, boring. Mrs. Robinson is an amazing women, but it was a bit self-indulgent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everybody Matters: A Memoir
Everybody Matters: A Memoir by Mary Robinson (Hardcover - 13 Sep 2012)
15.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews