Customer Reviews


286 Reviews
5 star:
 (217)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous
ON WRITING is better than I thought it would be. It's marvelous. I finished it in less than two days.

In the First Forward, Stephen King observes that popular novelists are never "asked about the language" when queried by admiring fans. Thus, he states:

"What follows is an attempt to put down , briefly and simply, how I came to the craft (of telling...
Published on 3 Mar 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting autobiography mixed with basic writing advice
"On Writing" Stephen King calls it, but it should read "King's Autobiography Linked to Strunk and White's Rules of Writing." He writes of his early life, an odd herky-jerky experience, he calls it. It is revealing and entertaining, and his hungry fans should adore it. He includes his recent experiences with a car accident that could have proven...
Published on 9 Sep 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
Amazing, I loved it! I just couldn't put it down.
The first part of the book was like an autobiography and I hate those but this one fascinated me. It was so witty and full of interesting and strange stories from his life.
The writing advice was golden and so useful. Some have said it's common sense but to me a fledgling writer, I found it really helpful. I was so glad when he mentioned he didn't plot, I thought I was insane by not plotting but it works for me and obviously works for him. This book is a must have for any writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 4 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. Timothy P. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Writing (Kindle Edition)
I've read many sites on writing that haves said "If you read one thing about writing, read Stephen King". I've only read one thing, but it's done the trick.

This book has three parts. In the first, King tells us how he became a writer. Since King is so gifted, there is a real intimacy to the story. There isn't much advice, he simply inspires you with his love for writing.

Once King has established you as best friends, he gives you his advice. Kindle highlighted at the ready! It was as helpful to see King dispel the myths as tell you the truth. As a successful writer, King didn't need to write this book, so he can be brutally honest This isn't a painting by numbers view on writing. King believes that if you are an awful writer, there's no way you can become satisfactory. There's no magic bullet. However, if you are satisfactory you can become good. He has a lot of faith in the writer and believes our first choices are often the best. His detailed description of the revision stage is very helpful. There aren't many tips, but the tips are well written - and what's the point in reading a book on writing that isn't well written?

The end is why this book gets 4 stars from me. Maybe as a big King fan this would be more of interest. King describes his big accident in the midst of writing this book and how he kept on going. After loving a book so much, it's hard to have the writer tell you how much of a chore it was and how he didn't really want to wake up in the morning to write it. It seems an odd choice as an ending.

Nevertheless, you aren't paying for the autobiography. Buy it for the section about writing. You'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting, 22 April 2011
By 
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
I'm not a Stephen King fan - in fact haven't read anything else he's written - but really enjoyed this book. His life story is interesting and his writing tips practical and achievable. Go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and invaluable., 21 April 2011
By 
It's the story of one man's stories.

King teaches every facet of good writing in this book. He gives us the most fundamental (and yet not obvious) language and narrative keystones while he tells his own story of becoming a writer.

I've read other books on writing and they've not been able to escape sounding like a car manual and trying to please all of the genres and media by being too specific or too vague. King says simply that this is his story and then he tells it. He's not trying to please everyone and in not trying to achieve that, he does a better job than those books that try to hard to be all things to all writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intersting Mixture, 19 April 2011
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
Part autobiography, part advice on writing and part inspiration to write. All in the flowing and easily understood, simple prose of King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grounded, Balanced, & Inspiring, 19 April 2011
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
I've finally gotten around to reading King's part-autobiography, part-how-to book on writing, and I must say I loved it! King doesn't presume to have all the answers, and what he says echoes what I have suspected over the years: you can learn how to write well, but being able to write REALLY well is something no amount of self-help books and writing courses can help you with. Your story is within YOU, and nowhere else, and being able to nurture it into a best seller takes a lot of hard work, perseverance, and plenty of dumb luck.

This book doesn't fill an aspiring writer's mind with fluffy ideas of "do this and you'll land a book deal". It details the reality of publishing, but in an optimistic way, with a focus on the actual passion of writing, on writing to be heard, rather than on writing for money.

The autobiographical part of the book recounts King's early years as a struggling writer, and circumstances in his life that helped nurture his love for writing. His account of his encounter with a van that nearly cost his life was a morbidly interesting read, and how he relied on writing to help pull him through was truly inspirational.

Of course, the entire book is littered with King's colourful narrative style, making it one of the most absorbing non-fiction books I've read.

Finally, the short story by Garrett Addams, JUMPER, at the end is a neat little bonus, an example of tight, pacey writing that grabs the reader by the throat.

Don't read this book to learn HOW to become a bestselling author--most of the stuff covered are pretty common sense, or freely available advice anyway. No, read this book to learn WHAT makes a bestselling author: one who is determined in the face of adversity, disciplined in his approach, never disheartened by failure, and above all, unrelenting in his passion for his craft.

*originally reviewed on J.C. Martin, Fighter Writer*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artful info on writing by King Stephen, 11 April 2011
By 
A. M. Smithwhite "Amba Smithwhyte" (Paignton, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
Stephen King On Writing is one of the very best how to write books - and I've read many over the years. Mastercraftsman King manages to entertain while giving good advice in penmanship to all those wannabe writers out there. Even if you don't aspire to writing at all you will enjoy this non-fiction but highly amusing and interesting book.
I am NOT a Stephen King fan but this particular work of his I thoroughly enjoyed.
As an aspiring writer I have read many how-to-write books over the years and have to say this one is one of my favourites. If you want to write and only want to read one book on the art of writing then read Stephen King On Writing and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fiction writing for anglophiles and, 21 Mar 2011
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
Stephen King says he had a hard time in many ways writing this book. At one point he realized that as much as he thought he had to say about writing, what he actually wrote about it seemed not quite that interesting after all. And as if that wasn't enough, while working on this book he was struck by a van and he almost died.

If you're looking for an analytical writing guide, you might want to look elsewhere. King's toolbox metaphores on vocabulary or paragraphs as writer's brick and mortar have a naive tone, his references are limited to English and American literature, and his notes on grammar don't bring anything to people writing in any other language than English.

Stepehen King is at his best as a story-teller, and the same goes to this book. His "Memoir of the Craft" and his stories from behind the writing desk are inspiring, as well as his anecdotes on how he learnt the most important basics of writing, such as 2nd draft equals to 1st draft minus 10 percent.

King believes in a cut-the-crap-and-write approach. He also tries to explain how to get away from the endless sketching and plotting and to get into the story instead. This book is definitely a good catch for most writers or wannabes, as well as for all King enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Writing, 13 Mar 2011
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by a friend, they guaranteed I wouldn't be able to put it down and they weren't wrong. This is not a writing manual, more an informal chat where Stephen King gives you advice and lets you into his world and how he writes. Already I'm finding myself thinking back to things that I was 'told'. I'll be reading it over and over. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, really interesting, 16 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Writing (Paperback)
It was a very interesting read and while it didn't necessarily give 'technical' tips on writing, it did inspire. Definitely worth a read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Writing
On Writing by Stephen King (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews