Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit different!?
Most people either love or hate King's work, strangely i'm in the middle. Christine, Salem's Lot and Bag of Bones really bored me ( although i can appreciate why people would enjoy them) yet It, 'Everything's Eventual' and The Dark Tower series took my breath away. I read this after IT and the two books are poles apart in storyline but close on high quality. Flagg, is...
Published on 12 Sep 2003 by hippo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Stephen King's talent is a little wasted in this fleshed out short story about political backstabbing in the fantasy kingdom of Delain. Although it's a strictly by the numbers affair, the story is interesting enough to see you through to the end. The characters are rather dull, even with considerable time devoted to their development, for the book spans some 20 years or...
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by SonicQuack


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit different!?, 12 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Eyes Of The Dragon (Paperback)
Most people either love or hate King's work, strangely i'm in the middle. Christine, Salem's Lot and Bag of Bones really bored me ( although i can appreciate why people would enjoy them) yet It, 'Everything's Eventual' and The Dark Tower series took my breath away. I read this after IT and the two books are poles apart in storyline but close on high quality. Flagg, is mentioned in the Dark Tower books and is a brilliant character, the intertwining plot is well written and comes together beatifully at the end.

Some people would call this a book for young adults and is a little below the age range of normal king readers but that is a little narrow minded. The easy to follow style of writing makes it accessible for most ages. I highly recommend this book if you enjoy the Dark tower area of King's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fairy tale with a Stephen King edge...., 25 Nov 2003
By 
Alex Diaz-Granados "fardreaming writer" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the things I like about Stephen King is his versatility as a storyteller. Yes, he focuses on horror and the supernatural -- telekinetic teenagers, vampires, creatures from other dimensions and even a really "killer" flu -- and is therefore not considered to be a "serious" writer. However, considering the vast output of King books and his longevity as a bestselling author, if nearly 30 years of novels, short story collections, screenplays, original teleplays and a loyal fan base doesn't make him a serious writer, I don't know what would.
I used to buy each new King novel either in paperback or, when I could afford it, in hardcover. Gradually my tastes shifted to military fiction by Tom Clancy, Stephen Coonts and Harold Coyle, but I never stopped liking King's books.
One of my favorites is his 1987 excursion into fantasy, The Eyes of the Dragon. Essentially a story for younger readers -- aimed at kids 12 and up -- and beautifully illustrated by David Palladini, it's a classic story of sibling rivalry between the sons of King Roland of Delain. Peter, the bright and handsome first-born, is heir to the throne, while Thomas, who is not as smart and takes after his short and stout father, tries hard to cope with the knowledge that his status in life is secondary to Peter's. Worse, even though he tries hard to gain the love of his father, Thomas is clumsy and not very skilled with his hands. (In one sad scene, Thomas spends a whole day making a small wooden sailboat for his father the King, only to hear his dad remark that it looked like a dog dropping with a handkerchief attached to it.)
Thomas' only friend is the court magician, a pale and brooding fellow named Flagg. He takes a keen interest in Thomas, but not for altruistic reasons. For Flagg is an inhuman entity in the guise of a man, and he has a dark agenda of his own: to rid Delain of both Roland and Pete so he can take the reins of power for himself. Knowing that the late Queen Sasha was too smart to be manipulated by any of his spells or shrewd manipulations, Flagg set in motion both Thomas' conception and his mother's murder. Slowly, surely, the evil wizard feeds upon and helps stoke Thomas' resentment of his smarter, handsomer brother....all the better to manipulate the well-meaning but weak-willed Prince Thomas when Flagg pulls off his evil scheme.....
The Eyes of the Dragon is decidedly different from King's normally huge novels, but his tone is remarkably evocative of an oral storyteller. I like the way he sometimes goes back and forth in the story to show a seemingly trivial detail (such as Sasha's dollhouse) and then reintroduce it later as a critical plot device. The story itself is charming, and even though it is a story for older children, adults will enjoy The Eyes of the Dragon's mix of fairy tale and classic King supernatural chills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story!, 30 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Eyes Of The Dragon (Paperback)
King goes away from his norm with this tale. If you're looking for a 1 night reader, this is it. In my opinion, one of King's last good tales that he manages to see through to the end. He has a weird habit of writing a great tale for 500 pages, then reaching climax and resolution on pages 501 thru 502. More in spirit of a Dungeons and Dragons fantasy, the author sticks with the story and pulls it off without a lot of effort. I don't imagine the hardcore King fan will appreciate this ( except for the inclusion (introduction?) of Flagg ) quite as much as most of his horror works. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 8 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: The Eyes of the Dragon (Paperback)
This book is superb. I have no interest in horror novels but I like King's writing style. I enjoyed 'Different Seasons' and this book was even better. A fantasy adventure that involves all the classic components: a wronged hero(Peter), a great villain(Flagg), a kingdom brought to turmoil (Delain)-add a reluctant usurper (Tom) and a comedy character (Dennis) and you have a great story. Easier to read than Tolkien and yet with more depth than Rowling. A must for magic/fantasy lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 20 Jun 2009
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Eyes of the Dragon (Paperback)
Stephen King's talent is a little wasted in this fleshed out short story about political backstabbing in the fantasy kingdom of Delain. Although it's a strictly by the numbers affair, the story is interesting enough to see you through to the end. The characters are rather dull, even with considerable time devoted to their development, for the book spans some 20 years or so. Despite this time-scale, the plot is very simple and never really looks beyond the few central protagonists. Overall, this feels more like a short story than a full book and takes a simple narrative style, when it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, but still good, 18 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Eyes Of The Dragon (Paperback)
King wrote this book for his children, and as such it is very different from his usual horror, but he still manages to capture you with his main strength - his storytelling. Also, this book sees old Flagg up to his usual tricks and causing havoc, which is always good to read. The story is very well written and is as entertaining as many of his other work. This would be a good choice for King fans who are looking for something a little different, but still containing his magic touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 4 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Eyes Of The Dragon (Paperback)
This story will require something of a leap of faith for hardened King fans who like their books laced with Lovecraftian evil from beyond the stars. However, it is worth it. Just pick it up and read it - You will be transported into a dark fairy tale. Whilst it could easily be read by children, it's darksome charm still holds plenty of currency for an adult reader (Adults read Harry Potter after all). And Flagg's in it. King's books are often all part of a larger tapestry of theme and story, and this one fits well. Very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale in the vein of The Dark Tower series., 21 Feb 2004
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Eyes Of The Dragon (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. As a few have already mentioned, King wrote this for his children. Therefore it isn't as gruesome as his other works, but having said that, it is still a fantastic read. There are still characters you really care about and there are baddies you love to hate!
It's similarities to the Tower series made this all the more enjoyable for me. No-one can write like King in my opinion and that's great. He has been compared with authors like Dean Koontz but I feel they are completely different.
This is a story that I would gladly give to my teenage daughter to read were she able to tear herself away from watching t.v. for long enough!!! Many people have said that they can't imagine many kids today enjoying this book as it's a bit too wordy and long, but I have three children aged between 10 and 14 and they have all read the Harry Potter books and been enthralled. Those books aren't much different to this one in the way they are wordy and long.
This is a wonderful tale of good vs evil that needs to be read more than once. Try it yourself and sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-warming childrens' fantasy with universal appeal, 26 April 2007
By 
Mr. C. Rahman "Chan" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Eyes of the Dragon (Paperback)
Wonderful stuff. King's classic horror fare, while generally entertaining, can be sometimes be too long-winded for me (although I haven't read his recent stuff). But this... if you liked the old Mumfie adventures, or say The Thief Of Always, you will so dig this. A simple tale belonging in the overcrowded childrens' fantasy genre - but like the above examples, intoxicating, beautifully narrated and illustrated, laced with funny, tender and dark scenes, carried along by some memorable characters. It's not as explicitly gruesome as many of his other stories, but there's plenty of cruelty, injustice and suffering, orchestrated by a fascinating and devious villain. And there's a bittersweet climax, with a sublime moment of forgiveness, which always brings a tear to my cynical eye. A perfectly self-indulgent enduring escape for all ages. For me, Stephen King's best, and not by coincidence, the most whimsical - and by all accounts one of his most personal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok for young teens, 13 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Eyes of the Dragon (Paperback)
A bit different from the usual King offering.

Flagg (from `The Stand') is the royal magician to the ageing Roland the Good. When the King is seemingly poisoned by his eldest son Peter, the throne is passed to Thomas, his younger brother. Flagg ensures that he is the only advisor, determined to plunge the land of Delaine into chaos.

Can Peter escape from the needle in time to save the day? Can civil war be averted?

I have to says that the book flowed well enough, but anyone who is a fan of King for his horror work will be bitterly disappointed. Often the prose seems too childish, and on occasion I think maybe King was having a side bet on how many times he could use the phrase `Time out of Mind' in a single novel.

Worth a look, but not up to his usual standard. Not his worst book I have read, but very close. I think maybe is should have been referenced under the `Young Adult' section of the bookshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eyes of the Dragon
The Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews