Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingredient sourcing
I used to travel to London on a regular basis and Wahaca was always my staple restaurant. Having this book allows you to cook many of the dishes to the same standard as the restaurants. Whilst many take time to cook down they are easy to make and incredibly tasty.

I'd agree that some of the ingredients are harder to source and are required for the authentic...
Published 7 months ago by T. Kerby

versus
46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First book was better
A good book with lots of recipes, but I prefer her first.Mexican Food Made Simple

Although there are new recipes, alot are repeated in this. What was sadly missing from the first book was the pork pibil recipe which is included in this one. If you have the first book I would not recommend purchasing this, if you don't have the first book I would recommend you...
Published 23 months ago by Rob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes, 2 Jan 2014
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
I received this as a Christmas gift and cooked several of the recipes for dinner on New Year's Eve. Everyone loved the 'mexican winter salad' and several said it was the star of the show. I like that she explains the ideas behind the restaurant and goes into depth about ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. D. M. Timothy (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
This is a superb book , and should be on anyone's ( if you like Mexican food with a twist )shelf.great photos and description.
Super fast delivery .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A LOVELY BOOK, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
I am very pleased with this book. The price was good. It arrived in good condition. I would be more than pleased to recommend to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot in the kitchen, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
We fell in love with mexican cuisine on a holiday to the south western states of the USA. This book gives us home recipes of our favourite dishes. Brings back great memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wahaca - colourful Mexican cookbook, 22 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
Wahaca Mexican food at home is a collection of 130 recipes based on cantinas, street food, markets and parties collected by Tommi's over the last 5 years.
This colourful book has just over 250 pages full of pictures and it contains breakfast, robust lunches and dinners to glorious cocktails ideas. The book has easy to follow steps to make a wonderful Mexican inspired meals at home. When I opened the book for the first time I wanted to try all recipes! The book starts with breakfast, one meal of the day that I think is overlooked but majority of us. So far, I have tried one recipe from this book at home, the banana pecan and chocolate bread. It is heaven! Instructions are very clear and ingredients can be easily found in your cupboard. What a treat!
The book is divided in a lovely intro, Mexican store cupboard must-haves, a charter about Mexican chillies, market food, cantina, fiestas (parties) and very useful chapter: suppliers. Majority of the recipes will need one or more Mexican ingredients that can be found either at local supermarkets or/and some specialised shops. I was thrilled to be given a copy of this book and have a sneak-peek beforehand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious food and an education in Mexican cuisine, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
Would highly recommend for all occasions, a nice read as well as good source of delicious recipes, also has a list of good stockists in the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good mexican, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
THe book is easy to follow and packed with interesting facts about Mexico ans the different foods. Good information about where to buy more unusual ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nearly there...., 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
Let me first caveat my comments with there are a lot of recipes that I could see myself making for a dinner party here, the kind of occasion when you put some real effort in.

Mexican Food at Home makes me think of being able to quickly make something up. As mentioned already some of the ingredients here are hard to get with an over reliance on special chilli's etc. I would normally overlook this as I like an adventure but there are not many options that you could make easily in the evening. Also slightly frustrating that in some cases amounts are not specifically stated e.g. 'whole pork belly'

Was hoping for a few more Mexican 101 recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great accessible Mexican food, 15 Jan 2013
By 
M. Richards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
The recipes in this book match well with the food I've eaten in Mexico yet the ingredients required are generally easy to find in the UK. There are a few bits and bobs that you probably won't find at the local supermarket but they are generally long-dated (masa harina, dried chilés etc) and there is a section in the book that guides you to some good websites for mail order. Alternatively try any local 'alternative' supermarkets to see what they have, even the big supermarkets now stock most of the dried chilés you might need, although chipotle en adobo might be harder to track down. You could even search on Amazon for most of the ingredients and a tortilla press - fresh tortillas are so much better than bought ones and a doddle to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book but not for the every man, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home (Hardcover)
This is a really lovely book with great pictures but there's not a single recipe without a hard to find ingredient and there are no suggested substitutes. This is either for the Mexican enthusiast who buys his specialist chillies online or a nice decorative ornament for the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home
Wahaca - Mexican Food at Home by Thomasina Miers (Hardcover - 21 Jun 2012)
18.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews