Customer Reviews


176 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A good modern take on the Bond of the original novels.
I enjoyed this book, but feel obliged to warn readers going in it does not feature the Bond of any of the movies. It is, as it sets out to be, a modern take on the Bond of Fleming's original novels (specifically the earliest two), and I think it succeeds quite well in this aim. Bond is, in my opinion, portrayed pretty much spot on here to how Fleming originally portrayed...
Published on 4 Dec. 2012 by Mr. Adam G. France

versus
51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad... but not Bond.
It was with a certain amount of trepidation that I approached Carte Blanche, for two obvious reasons:

1) It was an American author's take on the most British of iconic characters
2) It was advertised as being an 'update' rather than a 'continuation' of the series

Perhaps the first thing worth noting is that it is not a terrible book. It has a...
Published on 27 July 2011 by Mr. D. Cashmore


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad... but not Bond., 27 July 2011
By 
Mr. D. Cashmore "durangoDave" (Lichfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It was with a certain amount of trepidation that I approached Carte Blanche, for two obvious reasons:

1) It was an American author's take on the most British of iconic characters
2) It was advertised as being an 'update' rather than a 'continuation' of the series

Perhaps the first thing worth noting is that it is not a terrible book. It has a certain sense of urgency which motivates the reader to keep turning the page, and a storyline which, it has to be said, is more memorable than the recent Bond novel by Sebastian Faulks.

The flaw is really one of the character of Bond himself. It would appear that Deaver takes his cue from the more recent film adaptations of the character rather than from the source novels themselves. Fleming's Bond was very much a man on the edge - one who cared little about his own life and who often cared little for those around him. Often relying solely on his stubborn determination and courage rather than on gadgets and gizmos, this Bond made mistakes and suffered the consequences accordingly.

In 'updating' the original character, we are left with a fairly bland Bond who seems to use his smartphone every other page to solve a problem and makes very few mistakes in pursuit of his target. This is not the Bond that 'women want and men want to be', but a watered-down version of what should be a gritty character used to killing without regret.

Perhaps my Bond is one that should always exist in the 1950s/1960s, in the same way that my Sherlock Holmes will always exist under the murky, gaslight illumination of late 19th Century... Worth a read to find out what you think though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unengaging, 3 May 2013
By 
Royale "Mies" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carte Blanche: A James Bond Novel (Paperback)
I've always been suspicious of authors following in the footsteps of James Bond creator Ian Fleming - but each time I go along for the ride, never really learning that these 'other' Bonds will ultimately be pale shadows of the Master.

This latest attempt was all right, I guess, which probably says it all.....I just didn't feel it was engaging me at any time; I simply reached a point where I no longer cared what happened to villain or hero, while simultaneously recognising that as Bond continuations/updates go, this one wasn't too bad.

Maybe that is where the problem lies - updating just doesn't work. The fifties and sixties era in which Fleming's originals were set is in itself fascinating even before contemplating Bond....it is an era pre-dating any modern technology; a more gentle and considered era of stiff-upper-lip and Savile Row suits: if Bond needs to make an urgent call to his office, he has to find a telephone box! The past in which these tales are set, and it which Fleming himself existed, give rise to great colour charm and continued freshness with every reading, and that doesn't happen in a modern-day Bond novel. It DOES however work excellently as a modern-day Bond film. A very different experience, of course.

Overall disappointed by Deaver, yet already eagerly awaiting William Boyd's forthcoming effort to continue the continuation!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good modern take on the Bond of the original novels., 4 Dec. 2012
By 
This review is from: Carte Blanche: A James Bond Novel (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, but feel obliged to warn readers going in it does not feature the Bond of any of the movies. It is, as it sets out to be, a modern take on the Bond of Fleming's original novels (specifically the earliest two), and I think it succeeds quite well in this aim. Bond is, in my opinion, portrayed pretty much spot on here to how Fleming originally portrayed him - though with Fleming's Bond's period prejudices minimised or removed.

So, again to be clear, don't go in expecting to read a Daniel Craig-as Bond novel, or any of the other movie actors come to that. It isn't that and doesn't try to be that.

The story is arguably a bit over long, and could perhaps have benefited from being trimmed and tightened up a little. Also Deaver's accuracy in portraying Fleming's Bond, who is much more chivalric and overtly 'good and heroic' than Craig's modern take in the new movies, does present a small issue in that he feels just a little bit out of his time and old fashioned. A little bit fussy and overly detail oriented perhaps.

However, as a fan of Fleming's books, which I think now stand as 'of their time' classics whereas many of the movies feel very, very dated and naff, I did really enjoy reading an updated spin on the old Bond. I liked the premise of Bond working for an officially denied arm of the secret services, (which I initially thought rather far fetched but having looked into it a bit now realise might not be so unlikely - check out allegedly real groups such as E Squadron, or Group 13 for example), I thought the mass of brand names was spot on to Fleming, I liked the low key gritty feel of the action sequences, and again the fetishising of fine dining captures Fleming to a tee. I could have done without the silly seeming Austin Powers-esque name 'Felicity Willing' though - which as soon as I read I heard Austin's voice in my mind replying "Of course you are baby!".

The villain Hydt initially feels rather too much like Drax or Goldfinger, however Deaver plays with and subverts our expectations nicely, springing some real surprises re the villain and his plot as the book progresses and managed to keep me guessing and pleasantly surprised right up to the end.

I hope Deaver writes more Bond books, as I feel he did a good job here, but he might be able to do even better given a few books to get more comfortable with the character of Bond himself and perhaps begin to explore his personality and background a bit more and make him more his own version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More "Steptoe" Than "Goldfinger", 22 Mar. 2012
By 
(UPDATE: A couple of weeks after I submitted this review, it was announced that William Boyd would be writing the following Bond novel, (Solo: A James Bond Novel. I was very impressed by that and, only days after submitting a review of it, heard the news that Anthony Horowitz had been signed up for the next book! What is happening to this franchise or are my reviews jinxed?)

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
Like the Daniel Craig movie Casino Royale [2006] [DVD] [2007], this novel reboots the Bond legend for the modern day. Like Bond himself, familiar regular characters from the past, such as 'M', Mary Goodnight and Felix Leiter, are reimagined as people belonging in today's world, and not that of the Cold War era.

The book is researched and conceived fairly well. It starts very well indeed, but drags a bit in the middle. At times, I was tempted to give it up but, after persevering, found the pace picking up again in the last 100 pages or so. Bond is, perhaps, too much of a slave to modern technology in the book and clues, false leads, etc. sometimes appear as too simplistic and contrived. A good editor may have helped tighten things up. The book would benefit from losing around 100 pages or more.

The main villain - a sort of rag-and-bone man made good - is really no match for Bond. The premise of his literal rags-to-riches ascent is interesting and sound, giving pause for thought in our IT society, but his character is more macabre buffoon than arch enemy. His henchmen are undeniably deadly but he himself lacks the "kiss of death" presence of his Fleming-era predecessors.

Better than Devil May Care (James Bond), this novel probably widens the gulf between the Bond of literature and of cinema. A novel which resolved this issue may have been preferable. However, as Deaver has now completed the groundwork for a literary reboot, he can, perhaps, now get on with telling a rattling good tale in a follow up novel.

In conclusion, I would not write this novel off. If you are a Bond fan, it is worthy of your attention, and I would read a second novel should one be in the pipeline. However, I prefer the John Gardner novels (such as For Special Services) or Raymond Benson's Zero Minus Ten (James Bond 007).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars After Ian Fleming..., 10 Dec. 2011
By 
Graham Mummery (Sevenoaks, Kent England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
After Ian Fleming, writers of James Bond books have adopted one of two approaches: Kingsley Amis and Sebastian Faulks followed the originals, setting theirs in the Cold War period; John Gardiner and Raymond Benson updated things, often with influence from the films. To my taste, those using the former approach were more successful, though the books using the latter tactic are entertaining.

It is the latter approach that Jeffrey Deaver adopts in Carte Blanche which contains some of the most radical revisions yet. Similar to a recent BBC adaptation of Sherlock Holmes, he gives us a 21st Century Bond who has seen action in Afghanistan and now serves in a department authorised to carry out extreme actions in defence of the realm.

These are not the only differences. Like the films, the action moves through several countries. Some of Bond's habits, attitudes and past are have been updated as well as his using lap-tops and i-phones. In his garage, he keeps an old E-Type Jaguar that his father owned. There is a sub-plot with him making secretive enquiries into the deaths of his parents, perhaps preparing us for sequels.

In comparison to the Fleming originals Carte Blanche perhaps inevitably suffers. Though enjoyable, the book takes time to gather pace. This may be, in part, because of the need to establish the new ground, but it is still a slight drawback. Also, without revealing the plot, some characters , not least the main villain and Bond's "love interest," come off the page less vividly than in Fleming's books which remain classics of their kind: nobody does him better.

That said, in Carte Blanche, Deaver has created an entertaining read. This is my first experience of his writing. I will explore more there, and certainly am not put off with the thought of him writing that sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars double-oh-five out of seven, 24 July 2011
By 
Sebastian Faulks's DEVIL MAY CARE in 2008 read, a tad ploddingly, like a "hommage" to Ian Fleming. Jeffrey Deaver's new contribution to the Bond canon reads, some of the time, more like a spoof. There are short but over-elaborate descriptions of organizations, brands, clothes. There are some ludicrous character names (Ophelia Maidenstone. Felicity Willing!) An air-hostess whom our hero doesn't get his leg over (why not?) has hair "as blue-black as crow feathers". Felicity (whom 007 does get his leg over) has eyes "like late summer leaves caught in the sun".

Rather boldly, Deaver has taken 'carte blanche' to reinvent a younger Bond, like the Daniel Craig onscreen Bond. He is desribed as being in his thirties (as is Moneypenny), although Bill Tanner at HQ is 50-something and M ('the Admiral') ancient and gruff as ever. Deaver relocates the skiing accident that killed James's parents to the 1990s.

CARTE BLANCHE has a distinctly 21st-century plot, with a villain whose cover is a global business in waste disposal and recycling. Felicity, in Capetown, is a major presence in famine relief. Severan Hydt, the bad guy, is a closet necrophile (not an area Ian Fleming would have ventured into), but the crime Bond has to thwart is on a less epic scale than we are used to from SPECTRE and the screenwriters. Echoes of Dr No: creepy but reined-in. This is a somewhat low-octane spy thriller, which gets off to a slow start and only picks up when the operation moves to South Africa. There are nasty glimpses of refuse-crunching machines which bring to mind Indiana Jones rather than 007.

Deaver does capture the elegance of Fleming's style (as did Faulks) and makes Bond a thoughtful, even sensitive human rather than a spruced-up super-hero. It's rumoured that Jeffery may be digging in for a longer haul as Bond-master, so we must hope that 007's next mission brings him up against a worthier, Blofeld-sized super-baddie.

[Reviewer is the author of SHAIKH-DOWN]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but..., 8 Mar. 2012
This was an improvement on the dire Devil May Cry. Rather than a lame update, Deaver takes the approach of BBC's "Sherlock" and puts the characters in the present day (avioding the Benson et al problem of keeping past books in cannon).
I have not read any other Deaver books but this one had both positives and minors:

Positives:
*An interesting, jet setting plot
*Conflicts with MI5 which I can't recall being in other bond novels to this extent so it was something new
* Severan Hydt and his girlfriend Jessica were interesting characters

Minors:
*There is no main villian. In fact the one with the best claim to it is Niall Dunne (a sort of Red Grant type figure) which is like having OddJob as the focus of GoldFinger
*There is no main love interest either with Bheka Jordaan, Philly and Filicity willing all having claim to it. This means the story lacks focus.
*As this is an American writing a british set novel, there are signs Deaver is overcompensating with references to Top Gear etc.

Overall, I think this is a good try,and would read a Deaver sequel as I think his direction is a better way to go than previously (Bar Colonel SUN)and the problems discribed above may be ironed out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Name's Bland, James Bland..., 8 Feb. 2012
By 
The general consensus of reviews seems to be to compare it with Sebastian Faulks's much more sensual (but not sexual) attempt at writing 'as Ian Fleming'. This, though, is a mistake; other than the main character the parallels quickly end. This Bond is an ultra-technical, uber-clinical high-tech spy. Given that this is written by an American, this is unsurprising; nearly all state-sie interpretations of secret agents are technical - very unlike the very human British slant. And, as this is a Bond book, this is a flaw. He is just too efficient; he's always on his smartphone and can flawlessly predict the enemy's next move; if it's too good to be true it is. Bond now has feelings clearly aimed at the new PC Bond audience (is there a place for a PC Bond? Unlikely given that he's meant to take risks on our behalf).

The book is very efficient and lacks the sophistication of Fleming; and it's too easy to put down - the predictable nature of Bond's spy is just too formulaic (given the criticism levelled at the Bond series this is ironic).

The writing is occasionally jarring; staccato sentences have to be read again to understand their meaning (a little too clipped, they feel like text speak). In essence, this is actually a film script. On that point, the reference to contemporary films is also jarring.

One worry is the villain (who's ambitions are grotesque but very limited - no longer wanting world-domination he drewls over dead bodies in the sleepy village of March) who takes this into the world of detective horror; in which Deaver normally plies his trade.

Bond has become like a SIM card: efficient, modern, expendable and of no particular interest to anyone. This is detective horror with a figure called 'Bond' as the main protagonist but this is not James Bond.

As Fleming's full talents now emerge - in fairness to Deaver, Faulks and all others who've fallen under the Bond-train wheels, having others (although they've had their moments) write Bond novels has proved to be like having others write Dickens. Maybe one day someone'll come finish the job. Better still, pick up a Fleming Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, 7 July 2011
The writing style was atrocious, horribly self-evident and gratuitously indulgent despite his attempt to make up for that by way too many plot twists. The characters were also very stereotyped. In fact i am very surprised that this came out of the pen of an established author, since the writing style seems closer to bad fanfiction on the internet.

It was also really really irritating that he kept shoving advertising (e.g. for the iPhone 4) in the reader's face and instead of developing the plot and bringing out its nuances, he would inflict on the reader his opinions about cars etc. (which also all seemed suspiciously like he was being paid for advertising). If i had wanted to read about that, i would have picked out a magazine about it or watched fifth gear. Yes, there is space for this kind of stuff in a James Bond novel, but it should be done with at least a modicum of subtlety.

This book struck me as a disappointment both to the James Bond series and to the (previously) esteemed author. It really felt as if he'd spent 6 weeks cobbling it together in his bathtub and that his agents had told him to produce any old crap because the brand would sell it all, and the badly integrated advertising would make the rest of the profit.

It is a shame that this man sank so low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Bond with no history, 20 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am all for updating classic characters from literature; after all Hollywood has being doing so for some years now, with Bond and Bounre amongst them. However, Bond has history; Fleming developed the character through his books, and there is even a Biogrpahy written about him (James Bond: The Authorised Biography). I was therefore somewhat surprised to start this book, and learn of the Bond within is a mid-30's male, who cannot contemplate been married to someone outside the service (um, excuse me, On Her Majesty's Secret Service (Penguin Modern Classics)!). Leaving that aside, what of the book?

As a stand alone novel, it is OK, although Deaver does seem to have created an "all action" hero, and the plot is a bit thin until you get towards the end, when the twists and turns develop. A way of introducing Bond to the download and App Generation? Maybe. Anyone new to Bond, would find the original Fleming series far more enjoyable; lets face it - any book where the villian is essentially a Dust Man made good means stretching the imagination a little bit too far.

A lost opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carte Blanche: A James Bond Novel
Carte Blanche: A James Bond Novel by Jeffery Deaver (Paperback - 24 May 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews