Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly excellent!
Brilliant informative read. Even though I've read the excellent Bob hare, and Martha Stout books, this text was able to provide new info, and be compellingly interesting, easy to follow, and I loved that it referenced British figures and instances, along with proper research.

Highly palatable to the layman's taste, yet full of substance for the more seasoned...
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by Tangible D

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too familiar content
Although interesting, there is little new relevant information contained here. The great majority of coverage is already
familiar to those interested in the subject, and also much of the info is less clinically informative than obvious to the
observer. Definitely a book for the totally uninitiated, where it would probably prove informative.
Published 7 months ago by Chilady


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly excellent!, 17 Mar 2012
This review is from: Is There a Psycho in Your Life?: Britain's Leading Forensic Psychologist Explains How to Spot Them - And How to Deal with Them (Paperback)
Brilliant informative read. Even though I've read the excellent Bob hare, and Martha Stout books, this text was able to provide new info, and be compellingly interesting, easy to follow, and I loved that it referenced British figures and instances, along with proper research.

Highly palatable to the layman's taste, yet full of substance for the more seasoned reader on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Devil you ought to know (and watch out for), 13 Oct 2011
Not all psychopaths are murders and not all of them are in prison. They make up about 2% of the population and to a greater or lesser degree, they are all dangerous. They can damage you emotionally and physically, destroy or damage your career, your health, wealth, and happiness, your confidence etc. That's the way they are - there is no changing them - it's their raison d'etre. 'The Devil You Know' is well researched, and should be required reading in schools. The book gives tips on how to spot them, avoid them and (hopefully) escape from them. "Snakes in suits" is the term some psychiatrists use to describe them. It is an entirely appropriate description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny yet scary!, 8 Sep 2011
A well written, accessible book - not psychobabble but real-life stuff that everyone can probably relate to. Would make a good Christmas present for anyone really! A lot of it really resonated - will certainly be looking at some people in a different light from now on! Definitely learnt some valuable life lessons reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe I'd rather not know!!, 13 May 2011
This is a compelling read and as Geraint says, it leaves you looking at all your friends (and even yourself) in a new light. A nice mix of facts made comprehensible by the anecdotes and the witty writing. A great book to have around and dip into for a follow-up look through after the first reading. That first reading took me hardly more than a day, couldn't put it down!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worryingly thought-provoking!, 4 May 2011
Read this book very quickly because the style is so compelling and the content so fascinating. Made me query lots of people I'd met at work and play and realise that a disturbing amount could fit the psycho profile (especially successful bankers!) Lovely use of anecdotes / case histories to really bring the subject matter to life. Great stuff ... though you may never look at your friends in the same way ever again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psycho book review, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is There a Psycho in Your Life?: Britain's Leading Forensic Psychologist Explains How to Spot Them - And How to Deal with Them (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book as an easy read however, I did feel some of it was slightly exaggerated. If you are looking for a more accurate description, I would recommend the book 'The Sociopath next door' instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too familiar content, 25 April 2014
By 
Chilady (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is There a Psycho in Your Life?: Britain's Leading Forensic Psychologist Explains How to Spot Them - And How to Deal with Them (Paperback)
Although interesting, there is little new relevant information contained here. The great majority of coverage is already
familiar to those interested in the subject, and also much of the info is less clinically informative than obvious to the
observer. Definitely a book for the totally uninitiated, where it would probably prove informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book & great service, 7 Aug 2011
I loved this book - informative, educational and easy to read, this book is great for people who are interested in psychology but not necessarily educated heavily in it as it doesn't have loads of jargon.

If you're interested in this book, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary stuff!!, 21 May 2011
Very, very funny.. Laughed out loud several times, whilst silmultaneously looking over my shoulder in fear of approaching psychos... Informative and well researched - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive tabloid nonsense, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an interested layperson when it comes to psychopathy. This book was trite, shallow, repetitive, tabloid-style nonsense. It was written in the self-help style of a Cosmopolitan magazine article. Glossy tosh and deadly dull. I was very disappointed. If you're over 14 this book will insult your intelligence and bore you to tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews