Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart thumping and exhilarating historical fiction!
Anthony Riches' Empire series is without doubt one of the most exhilarating and heart thumping of all Roman series being published at the moment and one of its many attractions is that there is no sign of it taking a rest. This month, the sixth Empire novel is published, The Eagle's Vengeance, and in it we see Marcus Valerius Aquila and his cohort of Tungrians return to...
Published 8 months ago by Kate

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good book by anthony
A big change in how this was written from previous books I thought, it lacked the previous books flow and was not as exciting until the end!

A lack of information in the build up no hints as to what's to come to keep you interested until the last chapter when it's titled Rome!!!

It's good to see that Marcus is finally in Rome and I have no doubt the...
Published 7 months ago by norman anderson


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent conclusion to initial story line, 13 Sep 2013
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed this series so far and was pleased to see that there is a longer term story planned. I only gave it four stars because the conclusion and revenge seemed a rushed end to the book. But this is a little picky for what is a well written series with some great characters and a story line that hangs together really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good read, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I looked forward to this book and was not disappointed. My only criticism is that it is a bit short and the basic story line is very much in line with his previous books of the Empire series. Still a good read and worth the money but the competition is stiff with many good authors out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new hero, 9 Sep 2013
I found the book at the beginning difficult, but after reading it, it really is good.

Perhaps it's just me, but it is a good book, I gave it 4stars because of my failure to get into it straight away.

It is worth reading, I'm going to read another of Anthony Riches books, because there is a good story line.

Danny McCarthy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony riches, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Vengeance: Empire VI (Empire 6) (Hardcover)
His books just get better and better,looking forward to reading the next instalment,well worth the money.Keep up the good work,will Anthony Riches be walking Hadrians wall in the nere future?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eagle's Vengeance, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read all the Empire series thus far I enjoyed this too. Knew the characters, usual loss of 1 per book, but it moves on nicely. Looking forward to the release in Feb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another really enjoyable read, 2 Jan 2014
I really enjoyed the most recent installment of the empire series. All the characters are back, which was great considering their development over previous books. Good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marcus in trouble again!, 1 Jan 2014
Marcus is in trouble again! Not only his usual adversaries the tribes to the North of Hadrian's wall the usual back stabbing from Rome itself oh a nasty piece of work trying to have his wicked way with his lovely doctor wife (hasn't that happened before?) Ah all ends well (ish) out of the frying pan of the North into the fire of Rome! Good read for all that....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Riches gets better with every book!, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Vengeance: Empire VI (Empire 6) (Hardcover)
Well the title just about says it really, but Anthony Riches was one hell of a writer when he wrote the first book in the series, but this one is even better. Every book in the series is addictive, they are all really good yarns, and they've been the cause of many sleepless nights! Thanks Anthony, keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GOOD READ, 22 Nov 2013
By 
David Boxall "DB" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CAN NOT GET ENOUGH OF THE WRITER

A book that you can not put down like his others this thumps a long from the start ,wish we did not have to wait so long for the next book but worth the wait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another Great Novel from Anthony Riches, have enjoy everyone of them, some good twists in this one, look forward to the next, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
one, The characters and the way that the unit has been put together over the series with all different races and skills, makes it the special read that is. More of the same please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7e7f48c)

This product

The Eagle's Vengeance: Empire VI (Empire 6)
The Eagle's Vengeance: Empire VI (Empire 6) by Anthony Riches (Hardcover - 22 Aug 2013)
9.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews