Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart thumping and exhilarating historical fiction!
Anthony Riches' Empire series is without doubt one of the most exhilarating and heart thumping of all Roman series being published at the moment and one of its many attractions is that there is no sign of it taking a rest. This month, the sixth Empire novel is published, The Eagle's Vengeance, and in it we see Marcus Valerius Aquila and his cohort of Tungrians return to...
Published 12 months ago by Kate

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good book by anthony
A big change in how this was written from previous books I thought, it lacked the previous books flow and was not as exciting until the end!

A lack of information in the build up no hints as to what's to come to keep you interested until the last chapter when it's titled Rome!!!

It's good to see that Marcus is finally in Rome and I have no doubt the...
Published 11 months ago by norman anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another that doesn't dissapoint, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as enjoyable as the rest of the books in this series. The protagonist seems to have evolved well throughout these books and there's plenty of depth to this story. Can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than previous one, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a better story than the previous book and I was pleased that we were back in northern Britain. It moved along at an exciting pace and though it was, as ever, rather gruesome in places, it was lightened by the 'buddy banter'. I will be looking out for next in series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagles vengeance, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fantastic read from the Empire series.

Anthony Riches continues to write fantastic Roman novels.....which are really hard to put down once started!

Full of humour, excitement with a fantastic,historically believable storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read in a day book, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The series just improves with every book the development of the stories reflects the times in which it is based, looking forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagle's Vengeance, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic read, nail biting situations and a marvellous end.....until the next adventure for our hero! Let the vengeance commence! Thank you Mr Riches :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AndyB, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read and, again, very well researched. The absence of a summary at the start makes it a little difficult to pick up the story from previous books, especially where the author makes considerable but hazy references to the past.

The ending seems a little rushed but does serve to maintain the fast pace of the book.

Very good as usual and cannot wait for the next instalment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eagle's Vengeance (Empire) (Hardcover)
I like all the books in this series, the writer has a style of writing I like. No more to be said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read well paced book good story line the caricatures were very good and where believable which I found good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just love these novels!, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The art of character development is something that Anthony Riches has managed to capture so well. The plots are intriguing, unusual and certainly gripping! I thoroughly enjoy each and every one of these novels and this is no exception!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good sixth book, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of the books in the Empire series and enjoyed them all. This one was very good as it took Marcus from a fight at the 'Fang' (I suspect the hill Stirling Castle sits on today) onto Rome and the start of his revenge for the massacre of his family years before. Keep the books coming Anthony!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eagle's Vengeance (Empire)
The Eagle's Vengeance (Empire) by Anthony Riches (Hardcover - 22 Aug 2013)
9.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews